Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

 

 

 

Realtime kernel build quickie + bootsplash (or not)

Share your HowTo, Documentation, Tips and Tricks. Not for support questions!.
Message
Author
User avatar
alidh
Posts: 334
Joined: 2007-07-14 21:54

#46 Post by alidh »

Thanks, but can't find libncurses5-dev in my lenny/sid mixed sourcelist/ system...

User avatar
mzilikazi
Forum Account
Forum Account
Posts: 3282
Joined: 2004-09-16 02:14
Location: Colorado Springs, CO

#47 Post by mzilikazi »

It's there.

Code: Select all

# apt-cache policy libncurses5-dev
libncurses5-dev:
  Installed: 5.6+20080203-1
  Candidate: 5.6+20080203-1
  Version table:
 *** 5.6+20080203-1 0
        500 http://ftp.us.debian.org testing/main Packages
        500 http://ftp.us.debian.org unstable/main Packages
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
     5.5-5 0
        500 http://ftp.us.debian.org etch/main Packages
Debian Sid Laptops:
AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual-Core Processor TK-55 / 1.5G
Intel(R) Pentium(R) Dual CPU T2390 @ 1.86GHz / 3G

User avatar
alidh
Posts: 334
Joined: 2007-07-14 21:54

#48 Post by alidh »

[/code]# Processor type and features> Preemption Mode (Complete Preemption (Real-Time))
bash: syntax error near unexpected token `('
[/code]

Code: Select all

# Processor type and features>Timer frequency (1000 HZ)
bash: syntax error near unexpected token `('
I'll keep having this message although I've install:

Code: Select all

# apt-cache policy libncurses5-dev
libncurses5-dev:
  Geïnstalleerd (installed): 5.6+20080203-1

User avatar
mzilikazi
Forum Account
Forum Account
Posts: 3282
Joined: 2004-09-16 02:14
Location: Colorado Springs, CO

#49 Post by mzilikazi »

Not sure why you get that error. Did you apply the proper patch to the proper kernel source? The last good rt kernel that I have used is 2.6.23.1-rt5. I already have the patched source available here should you care to try it.
Debian Sid Laptops:
AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual-Core Processor TK-55 / 1.5G
Intel(R) Pentium(R) Dual CPU T2390 @ 1.86GHz / 3G

User avatar
alidh
Posts: 334
Joined: 2007-07-14 21:54

#50 Post by alidh »

mzilikazi wrote:Not sure why you get that error. Did you apply the proper patch to the proper kernel source? The last good rt kernel that I have used is 2.6.23.1-rt5. I already have the patched source available here should you care to try it.
patched source? So I can skip these commands?

Code: Select all

wget http://kernel.org/pub/linux/kernel/v2.6/linux-2.6.24.tar.bz2
wget ftp://ftp.kernel.org/pub/linux/kernel/projects/rt/patch-2.6.24-rt1.bz2
wget http://fatcat.ftj.agh.edu.pl/~przyboro/other/bootsplash/bootsplash-3.1.6-2.6.24.diff
unp linux-2.6.24.tar.bz2
cd linux-2.6.24
patch -p1 <../bootsplash-3.1.6-2.6.24.diff
bzcat ../patch-2.6.24-rt1.bz2|patch -p1
cd ..
mv linux-2.6.24/ linux-2.6.24-rt1
When I skip this and start I'll get:

Code: Select all

:~/kernels/linux-2.6.23.1-rt5$ make menuconfig
make: *** Er is geen regel om doel 'menuconfig' te maken.  Gestopt.

Code: Select all

make: *** There's no line to make goal 'menuconfig'. Stopped

User avatar
mzilikazi
Forum Account
Forum Account
Posts: 3282
Joined: 2004-09-16 02:14
Location: Colorado Springs, CO

#51 Post by mzilikazi »

Use wget to fetch the source.

Code: Select all

wget http://www.hotlinkfiles.com/files/646109_jx15j/linux-2.6.23.1-rt5.bz2
unp linux-2.6.23.1-rt5.bz2
cd linux-2.6.23.1-rt5
make oldconfig
make menuconfig
Then continue on as usual.
Debian Sid Laptops:
AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual-Core Processor TK-55 / 1.5G
Intel(R) Pentium(R) Dual CPU T2390 @ 1.86GHz / 3G

User avatar
alidh
Posts: 334
Joined: 2007-07-14 21:54

#52 Post by alidh »

It's not a quickie build for me :(

When I want to unpack the file I'll get:

Code: Select all

bzcat: Compressed file ends unexpectedly;
        perhaps it is corrupted?  *Possible* reason follows.
bzcat: Success
        Input file = linux-2.6.23.1-rt5.bz2, output file = (stdout)

It is possible that the compressed file(s) have become corrupted.
You can use the -tvv option to test integrity of such files.

You can use the `bzip2recover' program to attempt to recover
data from undamaged sections of corrupted files.

linux-2.6.23.1-rt5/fs/nfs/nfs4state.c
linux-2.6.23.1-rt5/fs/nfs/nfs4proc.c
tar: Onverwacht einde-van-bestand in archief
tar: Onverwacht einde-van-bestand in archief
tar: Fout is niet herstelbaar -- tar sluit nu af.
studio32:/home/dirk/kernels#                     

User avatar
mzilikazi
Forum Account
Forum Account
Posts: 3282
Joined: 2004-09-16 02:14
Location: Colorado Springs, CO

#53 Post by mzilikazi »

I just downloaded and extracted the tarball and it was fine. Did you use wget to download the file or a web browser? wget is the preferred method. Also you can check the md5sum:

Code: Select all

md5sum linux-2.6.23.1-rt5.bz2
Result should be:

Code: Select all

0d4b48f1a0890d2bccd58ad4eb862980  linux-2.6.23.1-rt5.bz2
Then just extract it

Code: Select all

tar xjvf linux-2.6.23.1-rt5.bz2
Debian Sid Laptops:
AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual-Core Processor TK-55 / 1.5G
Intel(R) Pentium(R) Dual CPU T2390 @ 1.86GHz / 3G

jongi
Posts: 472
Joined: 2007-04-15 02:41

#54 Post by jongi »

Can I add that I like running the process in an X environment when I compile a kernel. Thus I use sux - and make xconfig and then load the relevant config-xx.x.x.x.x from /boot.

jongi
Posts: 472
Joined: 2007-04-15 02:41

#55 Post by jongi »

typically how long does it take for a rt patch? I see 2.6.24.5 has no rt patches.
Desktop: Debian (Sid) 64-bit, Gentoo 64-bit and Ubuntu Jaunty 64-bit
Laptop: Gentoo 32-bit
MythTV: Debian (Testing) 32-bit

User avatar
mzilikazi
Forum Account
Forum Account
Posts: 3282
Joined: 2004-09-16 02:14
Location: Colorado Springs, CO

#56 Post by mzilikazi »

jongi wrote:typically how long does it take for a rt patch? I see 2.6.24.5 has no rt patches.
Looks like it was skipped but I see that 2.6.24.7 & 2.6.25.4 just showed up
http://www.kernel.org/pub/linux/kernel/projects/rt/
Debian Sid Laptops:
AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual-Core Processor TK-55 / 1.5G
Intel(R) Pentium(R) Dual CPU T2390 @ 1.86GHz / 3G

jongi
Posts: 472
Joined: 2007-04-15 02:41

#57 Post by jongi »

yeah i compiled against 2.6.25.4 a couple of days ago.
Desktop: Debian (Sid) 64-bit, Gentoo 64-bit and Ubuntu Jaunty 64-bit
Laptop: Gentoo 32-bit
MythTV: Debian (Testing) 32-bit

User avatar
Hadret
Posts: 354
Joined: 2007-07-19 13:04
Location: Berlin

#58 Post by Hadret »

So, I tried compiling once more, without result. Here's what I do:

1) Get kernel source
2) Patch it with RT
3) Compile kernel
4) Install kernel
5) Restart computer and chose new kernel on boot time
6) I do install NVIDIA drivers (without any problem) [m-a a-i nvidia]
7) I restart computer once more
8) X.org doesn't start - I get only black screen

What is wrong? Is realtime prempt patch x86 only? Or there's something else?

User avatar
mzilikazi
Forum Account
Forum Account
Posts: 3282
Joined: 2004-09-16 02:14
Location: Colorado Springs, CO

#59 Post by mzilikazi »

Hadret wrote: What is wrong? Is realtime prempt patch x86 only? Or there's something else?

Code: Select all

modprobe nvidia
/etc/init.d/gdm start
or

Code: Select all

/etc/init.d/kdm start
I always thought it easier to build the nvidia module against your new kernel before booting into it. To do this, you must be in the same dir as your kernel source. See the bottom of the howto for that.
Debian Sid Laptops:
AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual-Core Processor TK-55 / 1.5G
Intel(R) Pentium(R) Dual CPU T2390 @ 1.86GHz / 3G

User avatar
Hadret
Posts: 354
Joined: 2007-07-19 13:04
Location: Berlin

#60 Post by Hadret »

mzilikazi wrote:

Code: Select all

modprobe nvidia
/etc/init.d/gdm start
or

Code: Select all

/etc/init.d/kdm start
I don't use any of these (rungetty r0xx). In kernel 2.6.25 from repositories, NVIDIA drivers are working just fine, only when I compile my own kernel they doesn't work :(
mzilikazi wrote:]I always thought it easier to build the nvidia module against your new kernel before booting into it. To do this, you must be in the same dir as your kernel source. See the bottom of the howto for that.
I'll give it a try, thank you! (:

User avatar
Hadret
Posts: 354
Joined: 2007-07-19 13:04
Location: Berlin

#61 Post by Hadret »

So, I made few tests and definitely X.org doesn't start with Realtime-Prempt patch - without it, all works just fine ;)

User avatar
Red-guy
Posts: 250
Joined: 2005-10-16 06:00
Location: Vancouver Island,BC,Canada
Contact:

#62 Post by Red-guy »

For those interested in the bootsplash ....
http://www.patroclo7.org/zenwalk/bootsp ... .6.25.diff

Good luck...I am using it. :-)
Today I think...Tomorrow I solve
"Better to be thought a fool in silence, than to speak and remove all doubt"

Scoop
Posts: 21
Joined: 2004-09-14 20:18
Location: Australia

#63 Post by Scoop »

Hi and thanks for updating this guide..

I am trying to build 2.6.25.4 realtime kernel with rt6 patch.
I am building 32-bit kernel on dual-core 64bit system (already got a 64bit partition with working rt kernel).
I have tried several times but cannot get any modules built. When I boot into the new kernel it boots ok but lsmod shows no modules.

Code: Select all

norv@sid32:~$ uname -a
Linux sid32 2.6.25.4-rt6 #1 SMP PREEMPT RT Fri Jun 13 16:45:28 EST 2008 i686 GNU/Linux
norv@sid32:~$ lsmod
Module                  Size  Used by
norv@sid32:~$ ls /lib/modules
2.6.24-1-686  2.6.25-2-686  2.6.25.4-rt6
norv@sid32:~$ ls /lib/modules/2.6.25-2-686/kernel
arch  crypto  drivers  fs  lib  net  sound
norv@sid32:~$ ls /lib/modules/2.6.25.4-rt6/kernel
drivers
norv@sid32:~$ 
I am running export CONCURRENCY_LEVEL=2 before any make commands and following the howto word by word.
Any ideas?

User avatar
mzilikazi
Forum Account
Forum Account
Posts: 3282
Joined: 2004-09-16 02:14
Location: Colorado Springs, CO

#64 Post by mzilikazi »

Scoop wrote: When I boot into the new kernel it boots ok but lsmod shows no modules.
One way this could happen would be if you had built all of your required drivers directly into the kernel and not as modules.

Are certain pieces of hardware failing?
Debian Sid Laptops:
AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual-Core Processor TK-55 / 1.5G
Intel(R) Pentium(R) Dual CPU T2390 @ 1.86GHz / 3G

Scoop
Posts: 21
Joined: 2004-09-14 20:18
Location: Australia

#65 Post by Scoop »

Sound is not working with compiled rt6 kernel but is working with 2.6.25-2 kernel from sid.
But both kernels see my iPod automatically when I plug it in via USB.
lspci sees the soundcard.

What I did:
installed recent lenny businesscard iso and installed base system over net.
Changed lenny to sid in /etc/apt/sources.list
Ran aptitude update, dist-upgrade.
Installed Desktop Environment with tasksel.
Then followed your excellent howto, but used rt6 patch as that is most recent.

Possibilities:
*tasksel did not get all necessary packages, eg. basic pkgs like eog and gedit were not automatically installed by tasksel. But I am running tasksel 2.74.2
*The mirror I'm using doesn't have all packages. (I tried another mirror, no change.)
*The 'make modules' part of make-kpkg is failing.

I added stable and testing entries to sources.list and updated and upgraded but no extra (missing) packages were found.

Post Reply