Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

Rox and USB devices

Share your HowTo, Documentation, Tips and Tricks. Not for support questions!.
Hector

Rox and USB devices

#1 Post by Hector »

Hi folks!

I'm a newbie to Linux but have managed to survive quite well with some help from outside. FYI I use Ubuntu Feisty Fawn 7.04 on a Pentium IV, 2.8 MHz and 1GB of RAM.

One of the first things I tested was Fluxbox. In my previous life with WXP <gasp> I had already switched my shell to BBClean (on of the many *boxes out there). So the choice was easy and painless.

Then I found Rox-Filer. Great!!! It has become my favorite tool since. I'm still mastering it's many superb qualities and have a couple of questions. Maybe somebody out there is kind enough to give a hand.

Please be aware I have carefully read all manuals, web pages and the five pages on this forum. I'm not that lazy!

1.- I was unable to have Rox to recognize my USB flash memory (pen-drive) or my digital camera. I was able to drag the icons from /media to the panel for a CDrom and a Floppy and they work like a charm! Why isn't there something similar for USB ports? I did try to follow the instructions on "HAL and Rox" in Sourceforge but got hopelessly lost.

2.- This is a minor issue, but upon startup Numlock is always off. Per Lou's suggestion I included "numlockx &" (without the quotes) in .xsession, but it doesn't work. I inserted this right after "$wm" & and before xmessage -file - << END. I wonder if this is the correct place?

Any help with these two issues will be much appreciated. If I get these solved I can bid farewell to Gnome, KDE and others.

Thanks to you all for reading this!

Cheers!

Hector

mzilikazi
Forum Account
Forum Account