Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

Share your own howto's etc. Not for support questions!

Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

Postby craigevil » 2010-06-19 22:00

As most people are aware Adobe has stopped support for Flash on 64bit, no one knows for how long. Do not use the 64bit flash beta, it has major security problems.
Adobe Labs - Downloads: Flash Player 10 for 64-bit Linux
We have temporarily closed the Labs program of Flash Player 10 for 64-bit Linux, as we are making significant architectural changes to the 64-bit Linux Flash Player and additional security enhancements. We are fully committed to bringing native 64-bit Flash Player for the desktop by providing native support for Windows, Macintosh, and Linux 64-bit platforms in an upcoming major release of Flash Player. We intend to provide more regular update information on our progress as we continue our work on 64-bit versions of Flash Player. Thank you for your continued help and support.


http://wiki.debian.org/FlashPlayer#A64bitor32bitonamd64
64 bit or 32 bit on amd64
Lenny (stable), Squeeze (testing), Sid (unstable): The 32 bit version of Adobe Flash Player 10 is installed on i386. The 64 bit version of Adobe Flash Player 10 (still in Adobe labs) is installed on amd64. Users of amd64 who prefer to use the 32 bit version of Adobe Flash Player 10 can install a browser and the 32 bit plugin in an i386 chroot as well described in the AMD64 HOWTO

Security considerations
Users of Adobe Flash Player should follow security bulletins and advisories published at http://www.adobe.com/support/security/ .

Recent news: http://www.adobe.com/support/security/b ... 10-14.html

Are OK now:
* 32 bit player of flash player 10 on i386 systems : 10.1.53.64
* 32 bit player of flash player 10 on amd64 systems via chroot : 10.1.53.64
* 32 bit player of flash player 9 on i386 systems : 9.0.277.0
* 32 bit player of flash player 9 on amd64 systems via nspluginwrapper : 9.0.277.0

Are not yet OK:
* 64 bit player on amd64 systems : 10.0.45.2

Users of the 64 bit player on amd64 systems are advised to switch to the 32 bit player, at least until Adobe has released a fixed 64 bit player.


At this point flashpugin-nonfree is useless on amd64. Adobe no longer supports the 64 bit player. See this bug report http://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugreport.cgi?bug=586273

So for now we are back to either using nspluginwrapper or using 32bit flash in chroot. For the 32bit chroot follow the steps in the AMD64 HOWTO from the wiki above.

Howto get flash working in 64bit using nspluginwrapper:
First add the debian-multimedia.org repo to your sources.list, as root do
Code: Select all
echo "deb http://www.debian-multimedia.org squeeze main non-free" >> /etc/apt/sources.list

Note: Use the proper repo for the debian release you are running.
deb http://www.debian-multimedia.org lenny main non-free
deb http://www.debian-multimedia.org squeeze main non-free
deb http://www.debian-multimedia.org sid main non-free
You can also use one of the mirrors: http://debian-multimedia.org/debian-m.php
Note: Make sure you have 'contrib' in your Debian line it should be something like:
deb http://http.us.debian.org/debian/ lenny main contrib non-free
This is needed in order to be able to install nspluginwrapper.

Download the gpg key for apt
Code: Select all
wget http://www.debian-multimedia.org/pool/main/d/debian-multimedia-keyring/debian-multimedia-keyring_2008.10.16_all.deb

Install the keyring
Code: Select all
dpkg -i debian-multimedia-keyring_2008.10.16_all.deb

Update aptitude or apt-get if you prefer
Code: Select all
aptitude update

Install the 32bit libs
Code: Select all
aptitude install ia32-libs ia32-libs-libnss3 ia32-libs-libcurl3 libcurl3 nspluginwrapper

Install flashplayer-mozilla
Code: Select all
aptitude install flashplayer-mozilla



Restart any browsers you had open and you are good to go.
Debian Sid KDE Kernel 3.17 Thinkpad R40 Intel M 1.3 CPU 2GB RAM Radeon Mobility 7500
Debian - "If you can't apt-get something, it isn't useful or doesn't exist"
Giant Debian sources.list | Debian upgrade script smxi | sysinfo script inxi
User avatar
craigevil
 
Posts: 5155
Joined: 2006-09-17 03:17
Location: Oz

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

Postby praka123 » 2010-06-19 23:26

This was how I was using Flash during early 64-bit days.and Now We are back there! :roll:
After nspluginwrapper,32-bit flash ,and tested with youtube.

Later , I tried to play some Music with Exaile/Rhythmbox ,the slider showed song is playing ,but sound was actually muted;When I opened browser with Youtube Video ,Sound Returned!
I have Pulseaudio also in the System(but not set as default for gstreamer-it's set as autodetect).I will have to see if Sound gets again Muted.

OT:This Means, there will be no more flash support for 64-bit Linux ?

Thanks.
Debian (Testing/Unstable)
User avatar
praka123
 
Posts: 173
Joined: 2007-06-23 08:11
Location: Cochin,India

Pulseaudio

Postby praka123 » 2010-06-20 10:47

Had issues with Sound in browsers for Flash Video(Youtube for example) with Pulseaudio ,after installing 32-bit flash on My 64-bit Debian System.
Explained Here:

64-bit Debian with Pulseaudio and 32-bit flashplugin :
Debian (Testing/Unstable)
User avatar
praka123
 
Posts: 173
Joined: 2007-06-23 08:11
Location: Cochin,India

How to Pulseaudio and 32-bit libflashplugin in Debian Squeez

Postby praka123 » 2010-06-21 01:35

How to Pulseaudio and 32-bit libflashplugin in Debian Squeeze 64-bit System:
Important:There is a bug Reported Here:
https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+sour ... bug/592492
^I have explained it at the end of this Post.
--
Caveat:Below is what I did to have Sound Working For Flash in My System.YMMV :
To Have Pulseaudio(sound) Working With Your Browser For Flash Videos and Other Interactive Sites.

Install Flash 32 on 64-bit Systems as @craigevil's First Post.

I am having Gnome Desktop Environment.Here's How I configured flash for Pulseaudio:
[*]Install pulseaudio
Code: Select all
apt-get install pulseaudio pulseaudio-esound-compat pulseaudio-module-gconf  pulseaudio-module-x11  pulseaudio-utils lib32asound2 lib32asound2-plugins  ia32-libs-gtk


add a new entry "Pulseaudio" to your Gnome Desktop Startup using System>Preferences>Start Up Applications(gnome-session-properties)
with below lines as the Command :
Code: Select all
start-pulseaudio-x11 -D

Screenshot-Edit Startup Program.png
pulseaudio startup -found in System>Preferences>Startup Applications on Gnome Menu.
Screenshot-Edit Startup Program.png (15.06 KiB) Viewed 30653 times

Have a basic /etc/asound.conf for Pulseaudio.Here's Mine:
Code: Select all
pcm.pulse {
    type pulse
}
ctl.pulse {
    type pulse
}
pcm.!default {
    type pulse
}
ctl.!default {
    type pulse
}

Use "gksu gedit /etc/asound.conf" and add above lines , If You are Not Sure .

Add "pulse","pulse-access" to your Secondary groups.
as root/Admin:
Code: Select all
gpasswd -a username pulse

Code: Select all
gpasswd -a username pulse-access

^Note:'username' is the local login id you use.
--
I experienced No Sound With Flash under Pulseaudio.Two Depdencies were missing.
You can download,extract and add them to below libraries.
Explained Here as well:
viewtopic.php?f=16&t=12497&start=30#p305805
--
The Needed Dependencies are:
libwrap0 and libgdbm3 both i386:
For Debian Squeeze the Versions to Download(as of Now):
http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/pool/ma ... 9_i386.deb
http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/pool/ma ... 9_i386.deb
Copy these Files to a new Directory ~/Desktop/files :
Code: Select all
mkdir -p ~/Desktop/files/wrap0

Code: Select all
mkdir -p ~/Desktop/files/gdbm3

copy the download *.debs to the Respective directories.
Extract each .deb :
Code: Select all
dpkg-deb -x ~/Desktop/files/libwrap0_7.6.q-19_i386.deb    wrap0/

Code: Select all
dpkg-deb -x ~/Desktop/files/libgdbm3_1.8.3-9_i386.deb   gdbm3/

Now ,in a root terminal copy to respective library directories:
Code: Select all
cp ~/Desktop/files/wrap0/lib/*.*    /lib32/

and:
Code: Select all
cp ~/Desktop/files/gdbm3/usr/lib/*.* /usr/lib32/


*Note:If you find above confusing ,Open Nautilus File Manager as root using
Code: Select all
gksu nautilus

^...and copy the files extracted to respective directories as shown earlier.
--
*Note:It May be a Nice Idea If You Keep a Log of above packages extracted and copied to the /lib32 and /usr/lib32 .
The Files in lib32 for libwrap0 are:
libwrap.so.0 libwrap.so.0.7.6
The Files in /usr/lib32 for libgdbm3 are:
libgdbm_compat.so.3 libgdbm_compat.so.3.0.0 libgdbm.so.3 libgdbm.so.3.0.0
--
Now ,May be Restart the System and Make Sure Pulse Audio is Working:
Code: Select all
aplay -Dpulse /usr/share/sounds/alsa/Front_Right.wav


Make Sure ,If Youtube Video's Have Sound available.
--
Issues:
Although I extracted and copied libcanberra-gtk-module_0.24-1_i386.deb,gtk2-engines-aurora_1.5.1-1_i386.deb to respective lib32 directories ,It does not seem to work!See below:
I face some errors with iceweasel if ran from terminal like..
Code: Select all
Gtk-Message: Failed to load module "canberra-gtk-module": /usr/lib/gtk-2.0/modules/libcanberra-gtk-module.so: wrong ELF class: ELFCLASS64
*** NSPlugin Viewer  *** WARNING: unhandled variable 18 (<unknown variable>) in NPN_GetValue()
*** NSPlugin Viewer  *** WARNING: unhandled variable 18 (<unknown variable>) in NPN_GetValue()

and In Some Links like for eg:
http://www.india.ford.com/servlet/Conte ... &site=FIPL
^If I Right Click Mouse ,The Browser Freezes and *sometimes need to force quit. :oops: related to My Gtk Themes it seems:
Code: Select all
(npviewer.bin:19069): Gtk-WARNING **: /usr/lib/gtk-2.0/2.10.0/engines/libaurora.so: wrong ELF class: ELFCLASS64
*** NSPlugin Wrapper *** ERROR: NPP_HandleEvent() wait for reply: Message timeout
*** NSPlugin Wrapper *** WARNING:(/tmp/n/nspluginwrapper-1.3.0/src/npw-wrapper.c:1977):invoke_NPP_GetValue: assertion failed: (rpc_method_invoke_possible(plugin->connection))
*** NSPlugin Wrapper *** ERROR: NPObject 0x7f904a8d6050 is no longer valid!
*** NSPlugin Wrapper *** ERROR: NPObject 0x7f904a8d6050 is no longer valid!
*** NSPlugin Wrapper *** ERROR: NPObject 0x7f904a8d6050 is no longer valid!
*** NSPlugin Wrapper *** ERROR: NPObject 0x7f904a8d6050 is no longer valid!

^Yet to Figure Out ,What to do with nspluginwrapper or any ld errors.
You can overcome the Browser Freeze after a Right Click with Mouse as in above ,by opening a terminal and :
Code: Select all
killall  npviewer.bin

ldconfig throws out some warning as well:
Code: Select all
:~# ldconfig
ldconfig: /lib32/libwrap.so.0 is not a symbolic link

ldconfig: /usr/lib32/libtdb.so.1 is not a symbolic link

ldconfig: /usr/lib32/libgdbm.so.3 is not a symbolic link

ldconfig: /usr/lib32/libgdbm_compat.so.3 is not a symbolic link

Regards,
pk
Debian (Testing/Unstable)
User avatar
praka123
 
Posts: 173
Joined: 2007-06-23 08:11
Location: Cochin,India

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

Postby praka123 » 2010-06-22 07:06

UPDATE:
The Browser Crashes/Freezes with 32-bit flash plugin and nspluginwrapper is solved under latest Firefox-3.6.4build7.
I just Compiled above version of Firefox and the Freezing problem Disappeared when Right Clicked with Mouse on Some Flash Pages.
As Suggested in Launchpad nspluginwrapper page, You've to enable:
Code: Select all
dom.ipc.plugins.enabled true
in about:config

I know ,nspluginwrapper(and Iceweasel?) needs to be updated to contain latest flashplayer plugin 10.1 ,Which Hopefully will be fixed? :|

For Me ,With 3.6.4buld7 version of Firefox fixed this Issue.(I know, it is Plain BS to ask to Shift to Firefox,especially beta builds. :roll: )
EDIT:
Firefox 3.6.4 has released and using it with
Code: Select all
dom.ipc.plugins.enabled true
in about:config can solve the Issue.
http://www.mozilla.com/en-US/firefox/all.html
Hope Iceweasel team will be aware of this problem.

Regards,
pk
Last edited by praka123 on 2010-06-25 07:43, edited 1 time in total.
Debian (Testing/Unstable)
User avatar
praka123
 
Posts: 173
Joined: 2007-06-23 08:11
Location: Cochin,India

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

Postby Hadret » 2010-06-22 07:25

praka123 wrote:For Me ,With 3.6.4buld7 version of Firefox fixed this Issue.(I know, it is Plain BS to ask to Shift to Firefox,especially beta builds. :roll:


Actually in experimental branch there is Iceweasel 3.6.4 build2, so, I guess, there will be time when they provide build7 (:
#404378
User avatar
Hadret
 
Posts: 354
Joined: 2007-07-19 13:04
Location: Wroclaw, Poland

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

Postby sqlpython » 2010-06-25 18:52

As most people are aware Adobe has stopped support for Flash on 64bit,


THanks for the reminder. I don't fall into the most people category as I thought we were finally past the 32bit vs 64bit Flash availability. The 64bit Flash is Something we petitioned for along with a FreeBSD Flash. A backwards step.
Well I ran nspluginwrapper before and I will have have to do it again.. :x
Criticism accepted for solutions that work! ;^)
User avatar
sqlpython
 
Posts: 214
Joined: 2008-09-05 01:36
Location: USA

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

Postby craigevil » 2010-07-01 19:36

The Debian wiki has a couple of other ways.

FlashPlayer - Debian Wiki
Debian 5.0 'Lenny' amd64

Currently not supported by Adobe. See the announcement by Adobe and bug #586273.

However, there is a workaround:

1. apt-get install fakeroot binutils nspluginwrapper ia32-libs
2. Download and run this script: http://people.debian.org/~bartm/flashplugin-nonfree/ia32-libs-workaround-499043-lenny.sh
3. dpkg -i ia32-libs-workaround-499043_0.0.1+lenny1_amd64.deb
4. Install this package: http://people.debian.org/~bartm/flashplugin-nonfree/flashplugin-nonfree_10.1.53.64.1_amd64.deb


FlashPlayer - Debian Wiki
Debian Testing 'Squeeze' amd64

Currently not supported by Adobe. See the announcement by Adobe and bug #586273.

However, there is a workaround:

1. apt-get install fakeroot binutils nspluginwrapper ia32-libs
2. Download and run this script: http://people.debian.org/~bartm/flashplugin-nonfree/ia32-libs-workaround-499043-squeeze.sh
3. dpkg -i ia32-libs-workaround-499043_0.0.1+squeeze1_amd64.deb
4. Install this package: http://people.debian.org/~bartm/flashplugin-nonfree/flashplugin-nonfree_10.1.53.64.1_amd64.deb
Debian Sid KDE Kernel 3.17 Thinkpad R40 Intel M 1.3 CPU 2GB RAM Radeon Mobility 7500
Debian - "If you can't apt-get something, it isn't useful or doesn't exist"
Giant Debian sources.list | Debian upgrade script smxi | sysinfo script inxi
User avatar
craigevil
 
Posts: 5155
Joined: 2006-09-17 03:17
Location: Oz

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

Postby sqlpython » 2010-07-02 19:08

Thanks for that craig.......
Criticism accepted for solutions that work! ;^)
User avatar
sqlpython
 
Posts: 214
Joined: 2008-09-05 01:36
Location: USA

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

Postby craigevil » 2010-07-15 06:02

If you still have issues after following praka123's advice you can do:

Edit /usr/lib/nspluginwrapper/i386/linux/npviewer
and change:
export GDK_NATIVE_WINDOWS=1
to
export GDK_NATIVE_WINDOWS=true firefox
Debian Sid KDE Kernel 3.17 Thinkpad R40 Intel M 1.3 CPU 2GB RAM Radeon Mobility 7500
Debian - "If you can't apt-get something, it isn't useful or doesn't exist"
Giant Debian sources.list | Debian upgrade script smxi | sysinfo script inxi
User avatar
craigevil
 
Posts: 5155
Joined: 2006-09-17 03:17
Location: Oz

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

Postby Lns » 2010-07-15 20:28

craigevil wrote:The Debian wiki has a couple of other ways.

FlashPlayer - Debian Wiki
Debian 5.0 'Lenny' amd64

Currently not supported by Adobe. See the announcement by Adobe and bug #586273.

However, there is a workaround:

1. apt-get install fakeroot binutils nspluginwrapper ia32-libs
2. Download and run this script: http://people.debian.org/~bartm/flashplugin-nonfree/ia32-libs-workaround-499043-lenny.sh
3. dpkg -i ia32-libs-workaround-499043_0.0.1+lenny1_amd64.deb
4. Install this package: http://people.debian.org/~bartm/flashplugin-nonfree/flashplugin-nonfree_10.1.53.64.1_amd64.deb



I am running a Debian Lenny (backported) LTSP terminal, which uses PA.. I've gone through this a couple of times with no avail. Flash video works fine, other sound works fine but no Flash audio. Any clues for this corner case? Things worked fine until Adobe ripped out support. :(
Lns
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2010-07-15 20:25

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

Postby bmc5311 » 2010-07-16 00:18

Did the work around - all is working except the live stream from MLB.com (mlbtv.com).
- is there a way to go back to the old plugin?
macbook air /sid amd64/gnome shell
broken hpdv6200 motherboard screwed to the wall in my garage /sid amd64/gnome shell
http://img823.imageshack.us/i/garagecomputer.jpg/

http://www.debianuserforums.org/ - By the community. For the community.
User avatar
bmc5311
 
Posts: 537
Joined: 2008-11-16 15:21
Location: lost in the vast machine

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

Postby craigevil » 2010-07-16 18:05

Just a note about praka123's Pulse Audio howto: dom.ipc.plugins.enabled true
What it is:
Plugin-container and out-of-process plugins http://kb.mozillazine.org/Plugin-contai ... ss_plugins
In Firefox 3.6.4 and above, a plugin hang detector determines when an out-of-process plugin or plugin script has stopped responding, so that Firefox can terminate the plugin. The time period that must pass before the plugin is assumed to be locked up is set in the preference dom.ipc.plugins.timeoutSecs (the default is 45 seconds in Firefox 3.6.6). [12] When Firefox terminates a plugin that is no longer responding, you will see the "plugin has crashed" error dialog shown above. To prevent Firefox from terminating plugins it considers non-responsive, set dom.ipc.plugins.timeoutSecs to -1 in about:config. This disables the plugin hang detector but does not disable OOPP or stop "plugin-container" from running; to do that, you must set the dom.ipc.plugins.enabled.* preferences to "false"

My suggestion run Firefox, or Iceweasel from experimental, even sid only has 3.5.10. Since the plugin-container is only in Iceweasel/Firefox from 3.6.4 and up.


apt-cache policy iceweasel
iceweasel:
Installed: 4.0~b1-0
Candidate: 4.0~b1-0
Version table:
*** 4.0~b1-0 0
500 http://mozilla.debian.net ./ Packages
100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
3.6.4-1 0
101 http://ftp.debian.org experimental/main Packages
3.5.10-1 0
500 http://mirrors.kernel.org sid/main Packages
Debian Sid KDE Kernel 3.17 Thinkpad R40 Intel M 1.3 CPU 2GB RAM Radeon Mobility 7500
Debian - "If you can't apt-get something, it isn't useful or doesn't exist"
Giant Debian sources.list | Debian upgrade script smxi | sysinfo script inxi
User avatar
craigevil
 
Posts: 5155
Joined: 2006-09-17 03:17
Location: Oz

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

Postby bmc5311 » 2010-07-18 16:40

anyone see any distinct disadvantages of running an older version of the 64bit plugin (other then adobe's security issues)? :?: :?:

i found a copy here: http://linux.softpedia.com/get/Internet/HTTP-WWW-/Adobe-Flash-Player-for-64-bit-Linux-42958.shtml and have installed it (the old fashioned way, i put the libflashplayer.so file in /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins) and all appears to be working as it was before.
macbook air /sid amd64/gnome shell
broken hpdv6200 motherboard screwed to the wall in my garage /sid amd64/gnome shell
http://img823.imageshack.us/i/garagecomputer.jpg/

http://www.debianuserforums.org/ - By the community. For the community.
User avatar
bmc5311
 
Posts: 537
Joined: 2008-11-16 15:21
Location: lost in the vast machine

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

Postby craigevil » 2010-07-18 20:24

bmc5311 wrote:anyone see any distinct disadvantages of running an older version of the 64bit plugin (other then adobe's security issues)? :?: :?:

i found a copy here: http://linux.softpedia.com/get/Internet/HTTP-WWW-/Adobe-Flash-Player-for-64-bit-Linux-42958.shtml and have installed it (the old fashioned way, i put the libflashplayer.so file in /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins) and all appears to be working as it was before.


You mean other than the big gaping security hole?

Adobe - Security Bulletins: APSB10-14 Security update available for Adobe Flash Player
Critical vulnerabilities have been identified in Adobe Flash Player version 10.0.45.2 and earlier. These vulnerabilities could cause the application to crash and could potentially allow an attacker to take control of the affected system.


Use a 32bit browser in chroot with the 32bit flash.
Debian Sid KDE Kernel 3.17 Thinkpad R40 Intel M 1.3 CPU 2GB RAM Radeon Mobility 7500
Debian - "If you can't apt-get something, it isn't useful or doesn't exist"
Giant Debian sources.list | Debian upgrade script smxi | sysinfo script inxi
User avatar
craigevil
 
Posts: 5155
Joined: 2006-09-17 03:17
Location: Oz

Next

Return to Docs, Howtos, Tips & Tricks

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

fashionable