Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

Share your own howto's etc. Not for support questions!

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

Postby canci » 2010-10-30 20:36

Is it this bug?
http://bugreports.qt.nokia.com/browse/QTBUG-4932

That has been recently solved in QT 4.7. I can confirm it works on Arch with the latest Flash Square.
I ken hez kinvulf beck? I ken hez riesnible modereyshn? Kthnxbai!

No need to discuss this topic? Offended by this signature? Remove it:

Mez wrote:You can easily just disable viewing signatures

Click here - and set "Display Signatures" to No
User avatar
canci
 
Posts: 1705
Joined: 2006-09-24 11:28
Location: Bosnia & Herzegovina

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

Postby dbbolton » 2011-01-08 22:21

Did Adobe remove the 64 bit version again or am I missing something? http://labs.adobe.com/downloads/flashplayer10.html

All I see is
Download plug-in for 32-bit Linux (TAR.GZ, 4.7 MB)
Download plug-in debug for 32-bit Linux (TAR.GZ, 5.1 MB)

Also, some of the packages mentioned in the OP don't seem to exist anymore:
Code: Select all
No candidate version found for ia32-libs-libnss3
No candidate version found for ia32-libs-libcurl3
No candidate version found for ia32-libs-libnss3
No candidate version found for ia32-libs-libcurl3


I'm pretty sure my sources are right, and I've updated
Code: Select all
deb ftp://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ squeeze main non-free contrib
deb-src ftp://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ squeeze main non-free contrib

deb ftp://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ sid main non-free contrib
#deb-src ftp://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ sid main non-free contrib

deb ftp://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ experimental main non-free contrib
#deb-src ftp://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ experimental main non-free contrib

# unofficial stuff

deb http://www.debian-multimedia.org squeeze main non-free
deb http://www.debian-multimedia.org sid main non-free

deb http://liquorix.net/debian sid main
GitHub | zsh docs in Letter PDF

Telemachus wrote:Put down the CGI.
User avatar
dbbolton
 
Posts: 2133
Joined: 2007-06-20 08:17
Location: Iapetus

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

Postby eric1959 » 2011-01-09 05:18

Last edited by eric1959 on 2011-02-14 11:25, edited 2 times in total.
Debian Bits And Snips
Squeeze, Gnome, amd64, Intel Core i3-530, Geforce GT330
eric1959
 
Posts: 1299
Joined: 2008-12-15 13:17
Location: Amsterdam

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

Postby dbbolton » 2011-01-09 06:40

GitHub | zsh docs in Letter PDF

Telemachus wrote:Put down the CGI.
User avatar
dbbolton
 
Posts: 2133
Joined: 2007-06-20 08:17
Location: Iapetus

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

Postby danny0085 » 2011-06-04 12:42

I use this stand-alone flash player for linux . It worked for me. It has advanced features such as full screen mode and playlists
danny0085
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2008-04-04 05:30

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

Postby geazzy » 2011-07-06 11:56

danny0085 wrote:I use this stand-alone flash player for linux . It worked for me. It has advanced features such as full screen mode and playlists

congratulations bro :)
geazzy
 
Posts: 27
Joined: 2011-07-02 05:39

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

Postby se7en11 » 2011-07-14 09:12

Today, Adobe Releases Flash Player 11 Beta (64bit Too)

Is there a way to get the new version in debian? all I found was a howto for *buntu.
se7en11
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 2011-04-04 07:03

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

Postby sej7278 » 2011-07-14 10:00

se7en11 wrote:Today, Adobe Releases Flash Player 11 Beta (64bit Too)

Is there a way to get the new version in debian? all I found was a howto for *buntu.


download it, copy libflashplayer.so to /usr/lib/flashplugin-nonfree/
sej7278
 
Posts: 221
Joined: 2011-06-11 17:03

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

Postby eric1959 » 2011-07-14 10:15

When using flashplugin-nonfree just do the following as root :

Code: Select all
/usr/sbin/update-flashplugin-nonfree --install


http://debian-bits-and-snips.blogspot.c ... -beta.html
Debian Bits And Snips
Squeeze, Gnome, amd64, Intel Core i3-530, Geforce GT330
eric1959
 
Posts: 1299
Joined: 2008-12-15 13:17
Location: Amsterdam

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

Postby se7en11 » 2011-07-14 11:01

update-flashplugin-nonfree --install worked fine.
Thanks
se7en11
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 2011-04-04 07:03

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

Postby phenest » 2011-09-20 21:04

sej7278 wrote:
se7en11 wrote:Today, Adobe Releases Flash Player 11 Beta (64bit Too)

Is there a way to get the new version in debian? all I found was a howto for *buntu.


download it, copy libflashplayer.so to /usr/lib/flashplugin-nonfree/

Follow my signature, and add my repository. Flashplayer 11 RC1 is in there. That is, if you want it all packaged up.
NEC Spirit 550 P4 3.8GHz HT - 2GB RAM - nVidia 7600GT - Pioneer BDR-209DBK
ASUS Sabertooth P67 i7 3770K - 32GB RAM - 2x nVidia 660GTX SLI'd
User avatar
phenest
 
Posts: 1571
Joined: 2010-03-09 09:38
Location: The Matrix

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

Postby stevepusser » 2011-09-23 20:50

Caisyy wrote:Hi,

This links reports a method to get Flash to work in 64 bit browsers.

How to Get Adobe Flash for 64 bit Browsers
http://www.ehow.com/how_4670030_adobe-f ... wsers.html

-------------------------------------------
Flash Player support on 64-bit operating systems 10-21-2009 none present
http://kb2.adobe.com/cps/000/6b3af6c9.html

Generally you need to run 32 bit IE to use Flash Player.

Hope this helps and Happy Holidays!


Run IE-32 bit on my 64-bit Linux? Ain't gonna happen, "Caisyy"--plus what's up with the Happy Holidays crap? You sure behave like a spambot!
The MX Linux repositories: Backports galore! If we don't have something, just ask and we'll try--we like challenges. New packages: AzPainter 2.0.6, Pale Moon 27.4.1, Liquorix kernel 4.11-9, mpv 0.26.0, Kodi 17.3, 0ad 0.0.22, Mesa 13.0.6
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 8533
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

Postby phenest » 2011-10-04 19:46

As of 3rd October, Adobe released version 11 of Flash Player, with improved 64bit support. I'm using it successfully in Chrome and have not seen it crash yet.

Again, this is available in my repo (follow the link in my signature). Any problems PM me.
NEC Spirit 550 P4 3.8GHz HT - 2GB RAM - nVidia 7600GT - Pioneer BDR-209DBK
ASUS Sabertooth P67 i7 3770K - 32GB RAM - 2x nVidia 660GTX SLI'd
User avatar
phenest
 
Posts: 1571
Joined: 2010-03-09 09:38
Location: The Matrix

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

Postby Tadeas » 2011-10-04 20:59

phenest wrote:As of 3rd October, Adobe released version 11 of Flash Player, with improved 64bit support. I'm using it successfully in Chrome and have not seen it crash yet.

Wow, a whole day without a crash!! Pretty good by Adobe standards.

Anyway, I've tried it and haven't noticed any problems.. ( Pretty good by Adobe standards. :) )
Because let’s face it, the unfortunate aspect of software development is that it involves humans. Mewling, disorganized, miserably analog humans. Sometimes they smell bad.
User avatar
Tadeas
 
Posts: 1017
Joined: 2008-09-22 09:11
Location: Prague

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

Postby stevepusser » 2011-10-05 02:11

Currently 64-bit updates to " LNX 11,0,1,152" using the Debian flashplugin-nonfree package and the updater command:

Code: Select all
su -c  '/usr/sbin/update-flashplugin-nonfree --install --verbose'
The MX Linux repositories: Backports galore! If we don't have something, just ask and we'll try--we like challenges. New packages: AzPainter 2.0.6, Pale Moon 27.4.1, Liquorix kernel 4.11-9, mpv 0.26.0, Kodi 17.3, 0ad 0.0.22, Mesa 13.0.6
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 8533
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53

PreviousNext

Return to Docs, Howtos, Tips & Tricks

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

fashionable