Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

Share your own howto's etc. Not for support questions!

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

Postby Hadret » 2010-09-15 21:29

#404378
User avatar
Hadret
 
Posts: 354
Joined: 2007-07-19 13:04
Location: Wroclaw, Poland

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

Postby Lns » 2010-09-15 22:36

Wow! I can verify it works, with sound, on my 64-bit Debian Lenny LTSP server simply by uninstalling nspluginwrapper, closing Iceweasel, and copying libflashplayer.so to /usr/lib/iceweasel/plugins.

Thanks Adobe - now how about open sourcing that $*#*(# $*@()#!! ;)
Lns
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2010-07-15 20:25

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

Postby bmc5311 » 2010-09-15 23:41



thanks for the link - adobe got it out faster then i thought they would.
macbook air /stable amd64/openbox

http://www.debianuserforums.org/ - By the community. For the community.
User avatar
bmc5311
 
Posts: 539
Joined: 2008-11-16 15:21
Location: lost in the vast machine

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

Postby eric1959 » 2010-09-16 06:52

*******************
Last edited by eric1959 on 2011-02-04 09:03, edited 1 time in total.
Debian Bits And Snips
Squeeze, Gnome, amd64, Intel Core i3-530, Geforce GT330
eric1959
 
Posts: 1299
Joined: 2008-12-15 13:17
Location: Amsterdam

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

Postby milomak » 2010-09-18 23:47

I am using FF44b6

Code: Select all
root# ls -la "/opt/Adobe AIR/Versions/1.0/Resources/libflashplayer.so"
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 11950976 Jul 22 10:11 /opt/Adobe AIR/Versions/1.0/Resources/libflashplayer.so
root# ls -la /usr/lib/firefox/plugins/libflashplayer.so
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 29 Sep 19 01:22 /usr/lib/firefox/plugins/libflashplayer.so -> /root/flash/libflashplayer.so
root# ls -la /usr/lib/flashplugin-nonfree/libflashplayer.so
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 29 Sep 19 01:26 /usr/lib/flashplugin-nonfree/libflashplayer.so -> /root/flash/libflashplayer.so
root~# ls -la /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/libflashplayer.so
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 10601968 Sep 19 01:34 /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/libflashplayer.so


One of these settings worked with both Minefield and Iceweasel. I am suspecting /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/. Where i had to manually copy the file rather than symlink if it is the winner.
iMac - MacOS and Windows 10 (Bootcamp)/ Debian Sid (External SSD)
Laptop (64-bit) - Debian Sid, Win10,
Kodi Box - Debian Sid
milomak
 
Posts: 1674
Joined: 2009-06-09 22:20

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

Postby craigevil » 2010-09-19 14:43

http://wiki.debian.org/FlashPlayer
Debian 5.0 'Lenny' amd64

In September 2010 Adobe announced Flash Player "Square". As of September 17 it is a fully working preview release.

Flash Player Square Installation

First remove the version you may have installed (it's probably a 32 bit version or too old):

$ apt-get remove flashplugin-nonfree nspluginwrapper (the same applies to the 32bit version from debian-multimedia)

Get the Flash Player "Square" binary from Adobe (look for the Download plug-in for 64-bit Linux (TAR.GZ, 4.1 MB) link.

Extract the tar ball:

$ tar xvzf flashplayer_square_p1_64bit_linux_091510.tar.gz

As root copy the extracted file to the mozilla plugins folder(this will work with Google Chrome as well):

$ cp libflashplayer.so /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/
Debian Sid KDE Kernel 3.17 Thinkpad R40 Intel M 1.3 CPU 2GB RAM Radeon Mobility 7500
Debian - "If you can't apt-get something, it isn't useful or doesn't exist"
Debian upgrade script smxi | sysinfo script inxi
User avatar
craigevil
 
Posts: 5192
Joined: 2006-09-17 03:17
Location: Oz

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

Postby es0x279e » 2010-09-20 00:06

Hi there, first post here :-)

I've followed the instructions from the flash player Debian wiki page and the sound does not work. I've also tried the "square" flash player version from Adobe directly (now there's a .deb in the wiki) and the results are the same (obviously, since the .deb only automates the process but does not change other things).

I'm using "squeeze" and the KDE 4.5 repositories. Anyone has a clue of what can be happening? Or has the same symptoms?

Thanks in advance!
Álex
es0x279e
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2010-09-19 23:22
Location: Somewhere in the between

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

Postby es0x279e » 2010-09-20 00:15

Whoops!

I just read this thread via google and didn't know it's under the Howto/Docs subforum. Sorry for the previous support question, I'll move it to other (more appropiate) subforum. Now I understand why there's a forum etiquette you must read before the first post :-(
Álex
es0x279e
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2010-09-19 23:22
Location: Somewhere in the between

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

Postby NamelessOne » 2010-09-29 17:22

This resolved the issue for me too! :mrgreen:
NamelessOne
 
Posts: 22
Joined: 2010-05-27 20:27

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

Postby gnath » 2010-09-29 17:47

Hi,
flashplugin-nonfree for amd64/sid & amd64/squeeze are back and
working properly. (e.g video clip from youtube.com)
may have a try,
:lol:
gnath
 
Posts: 34
Joined: 2009-01-18 07:27
Location: kolkata,india

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

Postby stevepusser » 2010-10-01 00:14

And flashplugin-nonfree's update script is also working to get it

su -c 'update-flashplugin-nonfree --install'
The MX Linux repositories: Backports galore! If we don't have something, just ask and we'll try--we like challenges. New packages: AzPainter 2.1.0, Pale Moon 27.4.2, Liquorix kernel 4.12-8, mpv 0.27.0, Kodi 17.3, 0ad 0.0.22, Mesa 13.0.6
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 8719
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

Postby stevepusser » 2010-10-02 01:30

Hmmm...can anyone confirm that the new 10.2 version causes QTWebkit based browsers, such as Arora and ReKonq, to segfault as soon as they hit some Flash content? The Sid version has a patch to fix the issue for Flash 10.1, but 10.2 causes the same crash.
The MX Linux repositories: Backports galore! If we don't have something, just ask and we'll try--we like challenges. New packages: AzPainter 2.1.0, Pale Moon 27.4.2, Liquorix kernel 4.12-8, mpv 0.27.0, Kodi 17.3, 0ad 0.0.22, Mesa 13.0.6
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 8719
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

Postby Pakos » 2010-10-02 09:34

too bad that i cannot try it, still having dependencies errors so i cannot upgrade or uninstall them ;/
User avatar
Pakos
 
Posts: 75
Joined: 2008-03-08 17:36

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

Postby bmc5311 » 2010-10-02 13:06

stevepusser wrote:Hmmm...can anyone confirm that the new 10.2 version causes QTWebkit based browsers, such as Arora and ReKonq, to segfault as soon as they hit some Flash content? The Sid version has a patch to fix the issue for Flash 10.1, but 10.2 causes the same crash.


surf - has the same issue.
macbook air /stable amd64/openbox

http://www.debianuserforums.org/ - By the community. For the community.
User avatar
bmc5311
 
Posts: 539
Joined: 2008-11-16 15:21
Location: lost in the vast machine

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

Postby stevepusser » 2010-10-02 19:15

Pakos wrote:too bad that i cannot try it, still having dependencies errors so i cannot upgrade or uninstall them ;/


Well, yeah...just backported the QT 4.6.3 from Sid for a Lenny-based distro, saw a new release of Arora 0.11.0 that would use the new QT Webkit, reused the /debian folder from the Debian 0.10.0 version to build 0.11.0, only to get immediate crashes on the 64-bit--but it seems to be due to this issue. Since Rekonq may be the default browser for Kubuntu Maverick, this may be causing some trouble.

Nerdy backporters note:

* (had an "lrelease" error building Arora---turns out I had both QT 3 and QT4 build tools installed. Solved by running

su -c 'update-alternatives --config lrelease'

and making the QT 4 version the default)
The MX Linux repositories: Backports galore! If we don't have something, just ask and we'll try--we like challenges. New packages: AzPainter 2.1.0, Pale Moon 27.4.2, Liquorix kernel 4.12-8, mpv 0.27.0, Kodi 17.3, 0ad 0.0.22, Mesa 13.0.6
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 8719
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53

PreviousNext

Return to Docs, Howtos, Tips & Tricks

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

fashionable