Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

Share your own howto's etc. Not for support questions!

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

Postby bmc5311 » 2010-07-18 20:47

craigevil wrote:Use a 32bit browser in chroot with the 32bit flash.


if i do it that (the chroot thing) - does it eliminate the need for nspluginwrapper? the problem i have is not being able to watch the mlb live streams (life long red sox fan, shoot me :) ...), when using the nsplugingwrapper i suspect that it (mlb) is looking for the file libflashplayer.so and it's finding npwrapper.libflashplayer.so and the mlb media player isn't smart enough to figure it out.
macbook air /stable amd64/openbox

http://www.debianuserforums.org/ - By the community. For the community.
User avatar
bmc5311
 
Posts: 539
Joined: 2008-11-16 15:21
Location: lost in the vast machine

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

Postby craigevil » 2010-07-18 21:09

yes using chroot you are using a 32bit browser and the 32bit flash plugin.

Take a look at "Using an IA32 chroot to run 32bit applications"
http://alioth.debian.org/docman/view.ph ... l#id292205
Debian Sid KDE Kernel 3.17 Thinkpad R40 Intel M 1.3 CPU 2GB RAM Radeon Mobility 7500
Debian - "If you can't apt-get something, it isn't useful or doesn't exist"
Debian upgrade script smxi | sysinfo script inxi
User avatar
craigevil
 
Posts: 5192
Joined: 2006-09-17 03:17
Location: Oz

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

Postby bmc5311 » 2010-07-18 22:41

thanks for the info and the advice - i'll look into it.
macbook air /stable amd64/openbox

http://www.debianuserforums.org/ - By the community. For the community.
User avatar
bmc5311
 
Posts: 539
Joined: 2008-11-16 15:21
Location: lost in the vast machine

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

Postby milomak » 2010-07-23 21:57

good to know there's a reason for loss of flash
iMac - MacOS and Windows 10 (Bootcamp)/ Debian Sid (External SSD)
Laptop (64-bit) - Debian Sid, Win10,
Kodi Box - Debian Sid
milomak
 
Posts: 1759
Joined: 2009-06-09 22:20

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

Postby cinch » 2010-07-31 09:35

for setting up a 32bit chroot on amd64 or i386:
i just wrote this guide: http://sicnarf.com/articles/secure-flas ... debian.txt

the guide is still in a early version, but it should be enough for daily browsing. enjoy :)
i'm going to update it and try to streamline it for general usage.
cinch
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2009-10-15 12:36

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

Postby craigevil » 2010-07-31 09:44

cinch wrote:for setting up a 32bit chroot on amd64 or i386:
i just wrote this guide: http://sicnarf.com/articles/secure-flas ... debian.txt

the guide is still in a early version, but it should be enough for daily browsing. enjoy :)
i'm going to update it and try to streamline it for general usage.


First get rid of all of the sudo references, it is not setup by default on Debian.

I take it you find the Debian doc too complicated?
http://alioth.debian.org/docman/view.ph ... l#id292205
Debian Sid KDE Kernel 3.17 Thinkpad R40 Intel M 1.3 CPU 2GB RAM Radeon Mobility 7500
Debian - "If you can't apt-get something, it isn't useful or doesn't exist"
Debian upgrade script smxi | sysinfo script inxi
User avatar
craigevil
 
Posts: 5192
Joined: 2006-09-17 03:17
Location: Oz

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

Postby cinch » 2010-08-01 13:09

craigevil wrote:I take it you find the Debian doc too complicated?
http://alioth.debian.org/docman/view.ph ... l#id292205


that's a good guide, however i wouldn't necessarily recommend it for running flash.
the main issue i see, is mounting your home directory inside the chroot, running the browser as the same user.
thereby allowing access to your files, if there is a severe exploit in flash.

further, the commands use debian sid/unstable, whereas packages in testing are more likely to get patches quicker.

craigevil wrote:get rid of all of the sudo references, it is not setup by default on Debian.

just did a major rewrite. sudo is only used to launch or update the chroot browser, without asking for a password.
cinch
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2009-10-15 12:36

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

Postby nulltime » 2010-08-03 08:03

Good day!
I have some problem...
I had install Adobe Flash Player from Adobe site, unpack and make symlinks
I maid this because flashplugin-nonfree dont work on my system
All in all, flashplayer work fine in Opera, but don't work in Iceweasel, don't seen in it's about:plugins
Iceweasel send to console this errs

Code: Select all
LoadPlugin: failed to initialize shared library /emul/ia32-linux/usr/lib/adobe-flashplugin/libflashplayer.so [/emul/ia32-linux/usr/lib/adobe-flashplugin/libflashplayer.so: wrong class ELF: ELFCLASS32]


Thanks!

My system: Debian squeeze 2.6.32-5 amd64
User avatar
nulltime
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2010-08-03 07:45
Location: Russia, Krasnodar

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

Postby henriavelabarbe » 2010-08-11 13:23

HI,
I followed the installation notes from Wiki on a fresh Squeeze 64bit install, but I get this message :

Download done.
ERROR: checksum mismatch install_flash_player_10_linux.tar.gz
The Flash plugin is NOT installed.
More information might be available at:
http://wiki.debian.org/FlashPlayer

Did anyone got the same issue and maybe a solution ?

Regards,
Henri
henriavelabarbe
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2010-08-11 13:12

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

Postby craigevil » 2010-08-11 18:03

apt-get install flashplayer-mozilla from debian-multimedia.org will install all of the files needed to run flash in 64bit.

That was the whole point of the howto. Downloading from Adobe or any other way just complicates things.

BTW unstable gets updates before testing then usually 7-10 days later the update moves into testing, that is when testing isn't frozen like it is now.
Debian Sid KDE Kernel 3.17 Thinkpad R40 Intel M 1.3 CPU 2GB RAM Radeon Mobility 7500
Debian - "If you can't apt-get something, it isn't useful or doesn't exist"
Debian upgrade script smxi | sysinfo script inxi
User avatar
craigevil
 
Posts: 5192
Joined: 2006-09-17 03:17
Location: Oz

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

Postby henriavelabarbe » 2010-08-12 06:59

Hi,
I did try the plugin from multimedia, it works for most sites but not for metalink.oracle.com.
A non flash version of the site exists, but anyyway, it works in Fedora13.

The iceweasel from experimental and the ipc value change did not solve the issue.
henriavelabarbe
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2010-08-11 13:12

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

Postby craigevil » 2010-08-12 07:17

henriavelabarbe wrote:Hi,
I did try the plugin from multimedia, it works for most sites but not for metalink.oracle.com.
A non flash version of the site exists, but anyyway, it works in Fedora13.

The iceweasel from experimental and the ipc value change did not solve the issue.


Works just fine here.

Mozilla/5.0 (X11; U; Linux i686; en-US; rv:1.9.2.8) Gecko/20100722 Firefox/3.6.8
Shockwave Flash
Filename /usr/lib/flashplayer-mozilla/libflashplayer.so
Plugin Version:
Plugin Description: Shockwave Flash 10.1 r82
Debian Sid KDE Kernel 3.17 Thinkpad R40 Intel M 1.3 CPU 2GB RAM Radeon Mobility 7500
Debian - "If you can't apt-get something, it isn't useful or doesn't exist"
Debian upgrade script smxi | sysinfo script inxi
User avatar
craigevil
 
Posts: 5192
Joined: 2006-09-17 03:17
Location: Oz

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

Postby henriavelabarbe » 2010-08-12 09:19

craigevil wrote:Works just fine here.

Mozilla/5.0 (X11; U; Linux i686; en-US; rv:1.9.2.8) Gecko/20100722 Firefox/3.6.8
Shockwave Flash
Filename /usr/lib/flashplayer-mozilla/libflashplayer.so
Plugin Version:
Plugin Description: Shockwave Flash 10.1 r82


Do you use a 32bit browser? I'm talking about 64bit iceweasel.

Edit: Using chroot 32bit env worked for me, so I'll keep that as "temporary" solution
henriavelabarbe
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2010-08-11 13:12

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

Postby jheaton5 » 2010-08-12 12:20

I seem to recall that Adobe does not support 64 bit flash anymore.
debian sid
User avatar
jheaton5
 
Posts: 1489
Joined: 2008-08-20 01:40
Location: Newnan, GA, USA

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

Postby craigevil » 2010-08-12 12:25

jheaton5 wrote:I seem to recall that Adobe does not support 64 bit flash anymore.

Correct that is the point of the Howto. You either have to use nspluginwrapper or a 32bit chroot environment.

Installing flashplayer-mozilla from dmm installs all of the necessary packages for flash using nspluginwrapper.

The chroot method is a bit more detailed.
Debian Sid KDE Kernel 3.17 Thinkpad R40 Intel M 1.3 CPU 2GB RAM Radeon Mobility 7500
Debian - "If you can't apt-get something, it isn't useful or doesn't exist"
Debian upgrade script smxi | sysinfo script inxi
User avatar
craigevil
 
Posts: 5192
Joined: 2006-09-17 03:17
Location: Oz

PreviousNext

Return to Docs, Howtos, Tips & Tricks

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

fashionable