Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

Share your own howto's etc. Not for support questions!

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

Postby mauserrifle » 2011-10-05 19:13

phenest wrote:As of 3rd October, Adobe released version 11 of Flash Player, with improved 64bit support. I'm using it successfully in Chrome and have not seen it crash yet.

Again, this is available in my repo (follow the link in my signature). Any problems PM me.

Installed it and so far no issues. With 10 my whole system lost its sound after a while... Thanks for this package!
mauserrifle
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 2009-09-04 16:56

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

Postby phenest » 2011-10-06 17:36

stevepusser wrote:Currently 64-bit updates to " LNX 11,0,1,152" using the Debian flashplugin-nonfree package and the updater command:

Code: Select all
su -c  '/usr/sbin/update-flashplugin-nonfree --install --verbose'

Interestingly, version 11 has a preferences applet for Gnome (& KDE I think) with an update feature which simply opens a browser to their site. Not sure what happens if a new version is available. Probably just downloads another tarball I suppose.
ASRock H77 Pro4-M i7 3770K - 32GB RAM - Pioneer BDR-209D
User avatar
phenest
 
Posts: 1704
Joined: 2010-03-09 09:38
Location: The Matrix

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

Postby phenest » 2011-10-06 17:41

mauserrifle wrote:
phenest wrote:As of 3rd October, Adobe released version 11 of Flash Player, with improved 64bit support. I'm using it successfully in Chrome and have not seen it crash yet.

Again, this is available in my repo (follow the link in my signature). Any problems PM me.

Installed it and so far no issues. With 10 my whole system lost its sound after a while... Thanks for this package!

You're welcome.
ASRock H77 Pro4-M i7 3770K - 32GB RAM - Pioneer BDR-209D
User avatar
phenest
 
Posts: 1704
Joined: 2010-03-09 09:38
Location: The Matrix

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

Postby Nlock » 2011-10-16 14:15

I could only get flash working when I moved the libflashplayer.so to /usr/lib64/iceweasel/plugins

mv libflashplayer.so /usr/lib64/iceweasel/plugins
Nlock
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 2011-10-13 14:37

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

Postby milomak » 2011-11-05 19:20

the latest flashplugin-nonfree has a tendency to crash on youtube on my computer (sid)
Desktop: A320M-A PRO MAX, AMD Ryzen 5 3600, GALAX GeForce RTX™ 2060 Super EX (1-Click OC) - Sid, Win10, Arch Linux, Gentoo, Solus
Laptop: Lenovo ideapad Y700-15ISK - Sid, Win10, Solus
Kodi: AMD Athlon 5150 APU w/Radeon HD 8400 - Sid
milomak
 
Posts: 2085
Joined: 2009-06-09 22:20

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

Postby sej7278 » 2011-11-11 16:30

milomak wrote:the latest flashplugin-nonfree has a tendency to crash on youtube on my computer (sid)


me too (on wheezy), 11.1.102.55 crashes all the time, doesn't even have to be fullscreen.

moving it from /usr/lib/flashplugin-nonfree/ to /usr/lib/iceweazel/plugins/ makes no difference at all.

chrome17 is even worse than firefox8 - it crashes instantly, at least firefox seems to start playing.

Code: Select all
[ 9677.503061] plugin-containe[20502] general protection ip:7ff7822c4191 sp:7fffc332bde8 error:0 in libc-2.13.so[7ff782252000+17a000]
[ 9847.886568] chrome[20929] general protection ip:7f15ffcb6191 sp:7fff7112e188 error:0 in libc-2.13.so[7f15ffc44000+17a000]
sej7278
 
Posts: 225
Joined: 2011-06-11 17:03

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

Postby phenest » 2011-11-11 18:26

sej7278 wrote:
milomak wrote:the latest flashplugin-nonfree has a tendency to crash on youtube on my computer (sid)


me too (on wheezy), 11.1.102.55 crashes all the time, doesn't even have to be fullscreen.

Sid is unstable so it may crash. I'm using 11.1.102.55 on Wheezy and it's fine here.
ASRock H77 Pro4-M i7 3770K - 32GB RAM - Pioneer BDR-209D
User avatar
phenest
 
Posts: 1704
Joined: 2010-03-09 09:38
Location: The Matrix

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

Postby sej7278 » 2011-11-11 19:02

phenest wrote:
sej7278 wrote:
milomak wrote:the latest flashplugin-nonfree has a tendency to crash on youtube on my computer (sid)


me too (on wheezy), 11.1.102.55 crashes all the time, doesn't even have to be fullscreen.

Sid is unstable so it may crash. I'm using 11.1.102.55 on Wheezy and it's fine here.


i fixed flash11 in wheezy by removing all the debian nvidia packages (including experimental) and just used nvidia's 290.06 installer. its not packaged and probably leaves cruft everywhere, but it works, and i don't have to wait months until the useless 280/275 driver gets updated in wheezy.
sej7278
 
Posts: 225
Joined: 2011-06-11 17:03

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

Postby RJARRRPCGP » 2011-11-18 04:27

The broken repo driver sounds like when I was using SliTaz.

With SliTaz, I was required to use the drivers directly from Nvidia, because the ones SliTaz packaged results in X.Org refusing to use anything other than the dreaded "software rasterizer" mode!
RJARRRPCGP
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2010-07-19 14:50
Location: USA (Springfield, Vermont)

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

Postby ant » 2011-12-19 22:16

I might be out of the loop here in this very long forum thread, and just started using the latest Adobe's 64-bit Flash plugin with Iceweasel v3.6.24 (deb http://mozilla.debian.net/ squeeze-backports iceweasel-3.6" for apt-get) on my new 64-bit Debian stable installation. I am also using Debian's stable NVIDIA package for X.org.

I noticed every time I exit Iceweasel after using Flash, it crashes. Is this already known issue? Thank you in advance. :)
ant
 
Posts: 317
Joined: 2011-11-09 00:15

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

Postby phenest » 2012-04-13 17:25

ant wrote:...using the latest Adobe's 64-bit Flash plugin with Iceweasel v3.6.24...Is this already known issue?

What version of Flash? Impossible to answer otherwise. I'm using 11.2.202.228 with Chromium in Squeeze with no issues.

I just noticed they've released 11.2.202.233
ASRock H77 Pro4-M i7 3770K - 32GB RAM - Pioneer BDR-209D
User avatar
phenest
 
Posts: 1704
Joined: 2010-03-09 09:38
Location: The Matrix

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

Postby caduceus » 2013-11-29 09:15

Many people do not know that one needs to type into a search engine the words " adobe flash preferences " and look for the official adobe pages and then to see what adobe flash has for the unsuspecting individual.
User avatar
caduceus
 
Posts: 46
Joined: 2012-08-03 22:38

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2020-12-31 19:45

Flash is now officially EOL so Adobe strongly advise that the plugin be removed:

https://www.adobe.com/uk/products/flash ... -life.html

I'm removing the "sticky" status from this thread as it is no longer relevant.
Black Lives Matter

Debian buster-backports ISO image: for new hardware support
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 13450
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

Postby stevepusser » 2020-12-31 20:29

I gather the last release includes a kill switch that Adobe will soon enable, too, just to make sure.
MX Linux packager and developer
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 12344
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

Postby Bloom » 2020-12-31 20:42

I have a friend that only uses her computer to play FarmVille, a flash game on facebook. The maker shows no intent to release their game for HTML5 video and still uses flash for the whole game.
So what is she supposed to do?
User avatar
Bloom
 
Posts: 355
Joined: 2017-11-11 12:23

PreviousNext

Return to Docs, Howtos, Tips & Tricks

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests

fashionable
cron