HowTo: Broadcom BCM43xx Wireless Card

Share your own howto's etc. Not for support questions!

Postby stoffepojken » 2007-08-15 04:32

Everytime I try to install bcm43xx-fwcutter I get this error :

E: bcm43xx-fwcutter: subprocess post-installation script returned error exit status 1

Any help appreciated on what the problem is??


I get the same error. It seems like the link where apt-get tries to download the firmware is dead.

Code: Select all
Läs:1 http://ftp.se.debian.org testing/contrib bcm43xx-fwcutter 1:006-1 [25,4kB]
Hämtade 25,4kB på 0s (131kB/s)         
Förkonfigurerar paket ...
Väljer tidigare ej valt paket bcm43xx-fwcutter.
(Läser databasen ... 97990 filer och kataloger installerade.)
Packar upp bcm43xx-fwcutter (från .../bcm43xx-fwcutter_1%3a006-1_i386.deb) ...
Ställer in bcm43xx-fwcutter (1:006-1) ...
--06:26:06--  http://boredklink.googlepages.com/wl_apsta.o
           => `wl_apsta.o'
Slår upp boredklink.googlepages.com... 72.14.203.118
Connecting to boredklink.googlepages.com|72.14.203.118|:80... ansluten.
HTTP-begäran skickad, väntar på svar... 404 Not Found
06:26:07 FEL 404: Not Found.

dpkg: fel vid hantering av bcm43xx-fwcutter (--configure):
 underprocess post-installation script gav felkod 1
Fel uppstod vid hantering:
 bcm43xx-fwcutter
E: Sub-process /usr/bin/dpkg returned an error code (1)
En paketinstallation misslyckades.  Försöker att återhämta:
Ställer in bcm43xx-fwcutter (1:006-1) ...
--06:26:09--  http://boredklink.googlepages.com/wl_apsta.o
           => `wl_apsta.o'
Slår upp boredklink.googlepages.com... 72.14.203.118
Connecting to boredklink.googlepages.com|72.14.203.118|:80... ansluten.
HTTP-begäran skickad, väntar på svar... 404 Not Found
06:26:09 FEL 404: Not Found.

dpkg: fel vid hantering av bcm43xx-fwcutter (--configure):
 underprocess post-installation script gav felkod 1
Fel uppstod vid hantering:
 bcm43xx-fwcutter
Läser paketlistor... Färdig                     
Bygger beroendeträd         
Reading state information... Färdig
Läser utökad tillståndsinformation       
Initierar pakettillstånd... Färdig 
Skriver utökad tillståndsinformation... Färdig
Läser funktionsbeskrivningar... Färdig         
Bygger taggdatabas... Färdig
User avatar
stoffepojken
 
Posts: 707
Joined: 2007-01-25 01:21
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Postby pxw » 2007-08-18 14:48

The problem was a used quota here:
http://boredklink.googlepages.com/wl_apsta.o
May be fixed now.

If not, 2 good alternatives, both install the firmware files in
/lib/firmware/

bcm43xx_compwiz18.1-all.deb
http://www.speedyshare.com/214793933.html

HOWTO: Broadcom 43xx based wireless cards
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=405990
This will download the installer from above
http://blakecmartin.googlepages.com/bcm ... 2.1.tar.gz
===PXW===
User avatar
pxw
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 2007-03-02 10:59

Postby Nino99 » 2007-08-27 11:33

Can you confirm me that the apple wifi device Airport Extrem is supported by Linux distributions.

Thanks :)
Simple, free, powerful = DEBIAN GNU\Linux Testing(squeeze)
Asus F9s
Nino99
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 2007-06-30 18:12

Postby rmcgowan » 2007-08-28 05:48

I'm working with an HP Pavilion Multimedia laptop. The output of lspci is:

Code: Select all
03:00.0 Network controller:  Broadcom Corporation Dell Wireless 1390 WLAN Mini-PCI card (rev 01)


As root, I can do a:

Code: Select all
modprobe bcm43xx


followed by:

Code: Select all
 lsmod|grep bcm


and I see:

Code: Select all
bcm43xx               429056  0
firmware_class         15616  1 bcm43xx
ieee80211softmac       33792  1 bcm43xx
ieee80211              36680  2 bcm43xx,ieee80211softmac


Running ifconfig at this point just shows the eth0 and lo interfaces.

I noticed another user had similar issues and resolved them after loading some additional software specific to his card. Is there something like that, for this card?

Additionally, if I run iwconfig, I see:

Code: Select all
lo           no wireless extensions

eth0       no wireless extensions

eth1       no wireless extensions

sit0       no wireless extensions


But they don't appear to be related to wireless interfaces ;(

Any suggestions as to what to do next?

Thanks,

Bob
rmcgowan
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 2007-08-26 02:28

Postby ka3 » 2007-08-29 19:03

I get the same error. It seems like the link where apt-get tries to download the firmware is dead.


Download it from here: http://svit.epfl.ch/stuff/wl_apsta.o, run the bcm43xx-fwcutter program, and manually copy the resulting files to /lib/firmware; which is what I did. Here's my card:

Code: Select all
Broadcom Corporation BCM4318 [AirForce One 54g] 802.11g Wireless LAN Controller (rev 02)


. . . except the GNOME network-manager applet doesn't recognize the card, and so I have to use the network-admin program (which requires the root password) and manually select the WN from the ESSID list.
- KA3

"Patience. Never had much time for it."

I claim no responsibility for misguiding information, speling errors or grammer error.

Intel 1.67GHz T5450 Dual-Core, 3GB DDR2 RAM, 320GB HDD.
User avatar
ka3
 
Posts: 556
Joined: 2007-07-22 21:34
Location: /dev/tty1

FATAL: module ndiswrapper not found

Postby mongooseman1128 » 2007-09-04 04:33

this is a little embarrassing seeing as I've compiled several kernels before, but I've never done it from the header files. I need to know how to recompile my kernel from the headers.
do I just download the kernel sources like I usually would and just use my current config file?
HP DV6308NR
AMD Turion 64 X2 1.6 GHz
2 GB RAM
Broadcom 4311 wireless card
partition 1= Vista
partition 2= Swap
partition 3= Debian testing
partition 4= changes a lot
mongooseman1128
 
Posts: 107
Joined: 2007-06-03 05:18

bcm43xx installed but still a problem accessing the wifi net

Postby sisifo » 2007-09-20 13:35

Hello,

I have a HP dz8000 pavillion notebook.
I have successed in installing the bcm43xx with kernel 2.6.21-2 (Debian 64bit), the wifi spy switch on and thru the network-manager I can detect my wifi network.
I have tried to set the WPA passphrase but I cannot get the eth1 running.

Here is my ifconfig

# ifconfig
eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:14:A5:4E:04:6F
inet6 addr: fe80::214:a5ff:fe4e:46f/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:864 errors:0 dropped:279 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:6446 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:97632 (95.3 KiB) TX bytes:302152 (295.0 KiB)
Interrupt:10 Base address:0xc000

It seems to has an ipv6 address?? what is that inet6 addr stands for?

Here is my iwconfig:

# iwconfig
lo no wireless extensions.

eth0 no wireless extensions.

eth1 IEEE 802.11b/g ESSID:"myWifi" Nickname:"Broadcom 4318"
Mode:Managed Frequency=2.472 GHz Access Point: 00:40:05:31:E9:90
Bit Rate=11 Mb/s Tx-Power=19 dBm
RTS thr:off Fragment thr:off
Encryption key:5075-6C63-6953-7465-6679-0000-00 Security mode:open
Link Quality=40/100 Signal level=-77 dBm Noise level=-71 dBm
Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:150 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0

and my route is still empty, so there is no way to get a connection.

~# route
Kernel IP routing table
Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface



Any help? Have I to handle with wpaapplicant??

thanks a lot
bye
sisifo
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2007-09-20 13:16

Postby infinitycircuit » 2007-09-20 22:57

Yes, you have to use wpasupplicant to get WPA encryption working. The easiest way is with nm-applet from the gnome-network-manager package. If you want to do it from the commandline, here is the list of commands:

1) create /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf file with the following contents, at the very least (more can be added and probably should be added)
Code: Select all
network={
    ssid="your ssid"
    psk="your passkey"
}


wpa_supplicant uses WPA-PSK with TKIP by default, so if you have something different then you will need to edit that.

2) Do the following commands as root (this should always work, if you want to be efficient you can cut a few out)

Code: Select all
# modprobe bcm43xx
# ifconfig eth1 up
# iwconfig eth1 essid your-ssid-here
# wpa_supplicant -Bdd -D wext -i eth1 -c /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf
# dhclient eth1
infinitycircuit
 
Posts: 1137
Joined: 2007-07-24 03:31
Location: California

Postby sisifo » 2007-09-25 19:15

Hi, thank you for your post.
I cannot get the wpa_supplicant working, but I cannot understand if the problem is the wpa or the bcm43xx.
Let's see my configuration:

this is my wpa-supplicant.conf and should be according with my access point:

network={
ssid="myWifi"
key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
psk="mypassword"
}

I run these commands:

# wpa_supplicant -Bdd -D wext -i eth1 -c /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf
# dhclient eth1

it gets the IP, the routing table is correct but I cannot ping the gateway and external IPs.

this is my /var/log/messages

bcm43xx: Radio turned off
bcm43xx: DMA-32 0x0200 (RX) max used slots: 1/64
bcm43xx: DMA-32 0x02A0 (TX) max used slots: 0/512
bcm43xx: DMA-32 0x0280 (TX) max used slots: 0/512
bcm43xx: DMA-32 0x0260 (TX) max used slots: 0/512
bcm43xx: DMA-32 0x0240 (TX) max used slots: 0/512
bcm43xx: DMA-32 0x0220 (TX) max used slots: 7/512
bcm43xx: DMA-32 0x0200 (TX) max used slots: 0/512
bcm43xx: Microcode rev 0x127, pl 0xe (2005-04-18 02:36:27)
bcm43xx: Radio turned on
bcm43xx: Radio enabled by hardware
bcm43xx: ASSERTION FAILED (radio_attenuation < 10) at: drivers/net/wireless/bcm43xx/bcm43xx_phy.c:1484:bcm43xx_find_lopair()
bcm43xx: ASSERTION FAILED (radio_attenuation < 10) at: drivers/net/wireless/bcm43xx/bcm43xx_phy.c:1484:bcm43xx_find_lopair()
bcm43xx: Chip initialized
bcm43xx: 32-bit DMA initialized
bcm43xx: Keys cleared
bcm43xx: Selected 802.11 core (phytype 2)
bcm43xx: ASSERTION FAILED (radio_attenuation < 10) at: drivers/net/wireless/bcm43xx/bcm43xx_phy.c:1484:bcm43xx_find_lopair()
ADDRCONF(NETDEV_CHANGE): eth1: link becomes ready
bcm43xx: set security called, .level = 0, .enabled = 0, .encrypt = 0
bcm43xx: set security called, .level = 0, .enabled = 0, .encrypt = 0
bcm43xx: set security called, .level = 0, .enabled = 0, .encrypt = 0
bcm43xx: set security called, .level = 0, .enabled = 0, .encrypt = 0
SoftMAC: Open Authentication completed with 00:40:05:31:e9:90
bcm43xx: set security called, .active_key = 0, .level = 2, .enabled = 1, .encrypt = 1
TKIP: replay detected: STA=00:40:05:31:e9:90 previous TSC 000000000000 received TSC 000000000000
bcm43xx: set security called, .level = 0, .enabled = 0, .encrypt = 0
bcm43xx: set security called, .level = 0, .enabled = 0, .encrypt = 0
bcm43xx: set security called, .level = 0, .enabled = 0, .encrypt = 0
bcm43xx: set security called, .level = 0, .enabled = 0, .encrypt = 0
bcm43xx: set security called, .level = 0, .enabled = 0, .encrypt = 0
dancingstar:/etc/wpa_supplicant# tail /var/log/messages
Sep 25 20:51:30 dancingstar kernel: bcm43xx: 32-bit DMA initialized
Sep 25 20:51:30 dancingstar kernel: bcm43xx: Keys cleared
Sep 25 20:51:30 dancingstar kernel: bcm43xx: Selected 802.11 core (phytype 2)
Sep 25 20:51:31 dancingstar kernel: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_CHANGE): eth1: link becomes ready
Sep 25 20:51:31 dancingstar kernel: bcm43xx: set security called, .level = 0, .enabled = 0, .encrypt = 0
Sep 25 20:51:31 dancingstar last message repeated 3 times
Sep 25 20:51:44 dancingstar kernel: SoftMAC: Open Authentication completed with 00:40:05:31:e9:90
Sep 25 20:51:47 dancingstar kernel: bcm43xx: set security called, .active_key = 0, .level = 2, .enabled = 1, .encrypt = 1
Sep 25 20:51:57 dancingstar kernel: bcm43xx: set security called, .level = 0, .enabled = 0, .encrypt = 0
Sep 25 20:51:57 dancingstar last message repeated 4 times

the eth1 interface seems good and well configured.

I have checked my Access Point configuration:
I have the DWL-900AP+, setted on channel 13 with WPA-PSK.

Any help ?

thank you all!!
sisifo
sisifo
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2007-09-20 13:16

Postby yuizy » 2007-10-17 21:01

Hmm, it just doesn't work. :x

I've done all that, but when i try "ifup wlan0", it doesn't work.

Code: Select all
# ifup wlan0
Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client V3.0.4
Copyright 2004-2006 Internet Systems Consortium.
All rights reserved.
For info, please visit http://www.isc.org/sw/dhcp/

SIOCSIFADDR: No such device
wlan0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
wlan0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
Bind socket to interface: No such device
Failed to bring up wlan0.


"ndiswrapper -l" didn't work either as it was supposed to.

Code: Select all
ndiswrapper -l
installed drivers:
bcmwl5          driver installed (alternate driver: bcm43xx)


It didn't say hardware present or driver present.

Any help?
yuizy
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2007-10-17 20:53

Postby howdysir » 2008-03-20 00:29

1) create /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf file with the following contents, at the very least (more can be added and probably should be added)
Code: Select all
network={
    ssid="your ssid"
    psk="your passkey"
}



before you do this, generate the passphrase with
Code: Select all
$ wpa_passphrase


(copy to wpa_supplicant.conf)

big difference in results!
howdysir
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2008-03-20 00:27

Previous

Return to Docs, Howtos, Tips & Tricks

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

fashionable