Debian 9 grub boots to command line but works SOLVED

Help with issues regarding installation of Debian

Re: Debian 9 grub boots to command line but works

Postby maximus1978 » 2017-11-20 06:58

p.H wrote:
maximus1978 wrote:set root=hd0
chainloader +1
boot

This is EFI boot, not BIOS boot. You must chainload an EFI executable file, not a boot sector.
Code: Select all
chainloader /EFI/debian/grubx64.efi
boot


justinmk85 wrote:boot info script:

Is that all ? Many parts are missing. Did you run the command as root ?


just verifying :)
maximus1978
 
Posts: 68
Joined: 2015-03-19 12:49

Re: Debian 9 grub boots to command line but works

Postby p.H » 2017-11-20 08:11

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:I have no idea if that silly wall-of-output "boot info script" includes such a detail

Yes, bootinfoscript is supposed to include the output of efibootmgr -v.
maximus1978 wrote:grub is not finding the /boot/grub/grub.cfg

Indeed this is a possible cause for GRUB spawning the normal prompt (NOT the rescue prompt) instead of displaying the menu. However /boot/grub seems to be on the EFI partition itself (unlike in Debian), so I wonder why grub.cfg is not found. If the whole /boot/grub was not found then GRUB would spawn the rescue prompt.

maximus1978 wrote:root=hd0,gpt1? Is this the EFI partition?

Yes it is. See the value of $cmdpath in the output of "set".

maximus1978 wrote:try
Code: Select all
set root=hd0,gpt2

(assuming that this is the Debian partition)
Code: Select all
configfile /boot/grub/grub.cfg

Does this bring up your menu?

It will probably, but what's the use ? Just typing "exit" to quit the first GRUB from Ubuntu/Mint causes the UEFI firmware to load the next GRUB from Debian.

maximus1978 wrote:just verifying

Verify what ?
No need to verify that GRUB is in EFI mode. We already know from the value of $platform in the output of set.
If you wanted to verify if the MBR contained a GRUB BIOS boot loader, you cannot chainload it from GRUB EFI.
p.H
 
Posts: 177
Joined: 2017-09-17 07:12

Re: Debian 9 grub boots to command line but works

Postby justinmk85 » 2017-11-20 16:59

I did run bootinfoscript as root.

I will post the ls / of each later today.

I will try the set root and config file also.
justinmk85
 
Posts: 23
Joined: 2017-11-18 18:40

Re: Debian 9 grub boots to command line but works

Postby justinmk85 » 2017-11-20 17:05

I don't know what these partitions are (see boot info script output).

/dev/mmcblk1
/dev/mmcblk1p1 0101-07DC vfat NO_NAME

Edit... these are probably an sd card I have inserted never mind
justinmk85
 
Posts: 23
Joined: 2017-11-18 18:40

Re: Debian 9 grub boots to command line but works

Postby justinmk85 » 2017-11-21 00:46

maximus1978 wrote:
justinmk85 wrote:Thanks for replying. Below is what I got:

ls
(hd0) (hd0,gpt3) (hd0,gpt2) (hd0,gpt1)

set
image is at this link:
https://imgur.com/j6RsaQV

Image


please try this...

set root=hd0,gpt1
ls /
post result please

set root=hd0,gpt2
ls /
post result please

set root=hd0,gpt3
ls /
post result please



Result is here https://imgur.com/a/2cjnB
justinmk85
 
Posts: 23
Joined: 2017-11-18 18:40

Re: Debian 9 grub boots to command line but works

Postby justinmk85 » 2017-11-21 00:53

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:The output of
Code: Select all
# efibootmgr -v

would probably tell us most of what we need to know, I have no idea if that silly wall-of-output "boot info script" includes such a detail but I would prefer to not have to wade through that...



root@debian:/home/justin# efibootmgr -v
BootCurrent: 0000
Timeout: 2 seconds
BootOrder: 0000,0001,0002,2001
Boot0000* debian HD(1,GPT,75974d51-c29f-4c59-b617-129a3385fc10,0x800,0x100000)/File(\EFI\DEBIAN\GRUBX64.EFI)
Boot0001* \EFI\Ubuntu\grubx64.efi HD(1,GPT,75974d51-c29f-4c59-b617-129a3385fc10,0x800,0x100000)/File(\EFI\UBUNTU\GRUBX64.EFI)
Boot2001* EFI USB Device RC
root@debian:/home/justin#
justinmk85
 
Posts: 23
Joined: 2017-11-18 18:40

Re: Debian 9 grub boots to command line but works

Postby justinmk85 » 2017-11-21 01:01

maximus1978 wrote:root=hd0,gpt1

? Is this the EFI partition?

try

set root=hd0,gpt2

(assuming that this is the Debian partition)

configfile /boot/grub/grub.cfg

Does this bring up your menu?

It would help if you post the "ls /" commands.


set root=hd0,gpt2 and configfile /boot/grub/grub.cfg did bring up the main grub menu for debian.
justinmk85
 
Posts: 23
Joined: 2017-11-18 18:40

Re: Debian 9 grub boots to command line but works

Postby justinmk85 » 2017-11-21 01:16

p.H wrote:
maximus1978 wrote:This is EFI boot, not BIOS boot. You must chainload an EFI executable file, not a boot sector.
Code: Select all
chainloader /EFI/debian/grubx64.efi
boot



this chainloader did bring up the grub menu https://imgur.com/a/jTNTG
justinmk85
 
Posts: 23
Joined: 2017-11-18 18:40

Re: Debian 9 grub boots to command line but works

Postby maximus1978 » 2017-11-21 04:06

justinmk85 wrote:
maximus1978 wrote:root=hd0,gpt1

? Is this the EFI partition?

try

set root=hd0,gpt2

(assuming that this is the Debian partition)

configfile /boot/grub/grub.cfg

Does this bring up your menu?

It would help if you post the "ls /" commands.


set root=hd0,gpt2 and configfile /boot/grub/grub.cfg did bring up the main grub menu for debian.


I think the issue is with prefix and root.

Please try....

set prefix=(hd0,gpt2)/boot/grub
set root=hd0,gpt2

press escape key

What happens?
Does it bring up the menu?
maximus1978
 
Posts: 68
Joined: 2015-03-19 12:49

Re: Debian 9 grub boots to command line but works

Postby justinmk85 » 2017-11-21 14:12

maximus1978 wrote:
justinmk85 wrote:
maximus1978 wrote:root=hd0,gpt1

? Is this the EFI partition?

try

set root=hd0,gpt2

(assuming that this is the Debian partition)

configfile /boot/grub/grub.cfg

Does this bring up your menu?

It would help if you post the "ls /" commands.


set root=hd0,gpt2 and configfile /boot/grub/grub.cfg did bring up the main grub menu for debian.


I think the issue is with prefix and root.

Please try....

set prefix=(hd0,gpt2)/boot/grub
set root=hd0,gpt2

press escape key

What happens?
Does it bring up the menu?


It didn't bring up the menu after the esc key it stayed on the command line page
https://i.imgur.com/od1QQo9.jpg
justinmk85
 
Posts: 23
Joined: 2017-11-18 18:40

Re: Debian 9 grub boots to command line but works

Postby maximus1978 » 2017-11-21 14:48

The prefix variable is defaulting to...

(hd0,gpt1)/grub

hd0,gpt1 is the efi partition
There is no directory grub in that efi partition?
please try in this order

set root=hd0,gpt2
save_env root

set prefix=(hd0,gpt2)/boot/grub
save_env prefix

Please reboot and let me know the result.

If the command prompt comes back up, please type "set" and post the results.
Last edited by maximus1978 on 2017-11-21 15:01, edited 1 time in total.
maximus1978
 
Posts: 68
Joined: 2015-03-19 12:49

Re: Debian 9 grub boots to command line but works

Postby maximus1978 » 2017-11-21 15:00

justinmk85 wrote:
maximus1978 wrote:root=hd0,gpt1

? Is this the EFI partition?

try

set root=hd0,gpt2

(assuming that this is the Debian partition)

configfile /boot/grub/grub.cfg

Does this bring up your menu?

It would help if you post the "ls /" commands.


set root=hd0,gpt2 and configfile /boot/grub/grub.cfg did bring up the main grub menu for debian.


Do these exact steps again to bring up the menu.
Then type c to go back to the command prompt.
type "set"

Please post the results of the set command.
maximus1978
 
Posts: 68
Joined: 2015-03-19 12:49

Re: Debian 9 grub boots to command line but works

Postby justinmk85 » 2017-11-21 16:45

maximus1978 wrote:
justinmk85 wrote:
maximus1978 wrote:root=hd0,gpt1

? Is this the EFI partition?

try

set root=hd0,gpt2

(assuming that this is the Debian partition)

configfile /boot/grub/grub.cfg

Does this bring up your menu?

It would help if you post the "ls /" commands.


set root=hd0,gpt2 and configfile /boot/grub/grub.cfg did bring up the main grub menu for debian.


Do these exact steps again to bring up the menu.
Then type c to go back to the command prompt.
type "set"

Please post the results of the set command.


https://imgur.com/gallery/08eKg
justinmk85
 
Posts: 23
Joined: 2017-11-18 18:40

Re: Debian 9 grub boots to command line but works

Postby justinmk85 » 2017-11-21 16:56

maximus1978 wrote:The prefix variable is defaulting to...

(hd0,gpt1)/grub

hd0,gpt1 is the efi partition
There is no directory grub in that efi partition?
please try in this order

set root=hd0,gpt2
save_env root

set prefix=(hd0,gpt2)/boot/grub
save_env prefix

Please reboot and let me know the result.

If the command prompt comes back up, please type "set" and post the results.


Command line did come back up
https://imgur.com/gallery/XHHZH
https://imgur.com/gallery/Lva4Q
justinmk85
 
Posts: 23
Joined: 2017-11-18 18:40

Re: Debian 9 grub boots to command line but works

Postby maximus1978 » 2017-11-21 17:08

justinmk85 wrote:
maximus1978 wrote:The prefix variable is defaulting to...

(hd0,gpt1)/grub

hd0,gpt1 is the efi partition
There is no directory grub in that efi partition?
please try in this order

set root=hd0,gpt2
save_env root

set prefix=(hd0,gpt2)/boot/grub
save_env prefix

Please reboot and let me know the result.

If the command prompt comes back up, please type "set" and post the results.


Command line did come back up
https://imgur.com/gallery/XHHZH
https://imgur.com/gallery/Lva4Q


Please try in this order.

set root=hd0,gpt2
set prefix=(hd0,gpt2)/boot/grub

save_env root
save_env prefix

Please reboot

Let me know what happens.

if command prompt comes back, type set

post the results please
maximus1978
 
Posts: 68
Joined: 2015-03-19 12:49

PreviousNext

Return to Installation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

fashionable