Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

Instal from hard disk

Ask for help with issues regarding the Installations of the Debian O/S.
Sande

Instal from hard disk

#1 Post by Sande »

Hi Im new to Linux and would like to try Debian sarge.
I have Win xp pro sp 2 and would like to instal debian sarge from hard disk.
I have downloaded the cd iso images onto my hard drive, But i dont have a functional cd burner or a floppy drive, so could anyone tell me how to instal from a hard disk.
Please be comprehensive as i dont know anything abt Linux.

lacek

#2 Post by lacek »

Although I'm not really familiar with the new installer (I installed my system years ago, and used dist-upgrades since), but I doubt you can install from hard disk, since you have to boot your kernel in a way... There are floppy images on the install CD you can use to boot your system and install Debian.

sensovision

#3 Post by sensovision »

as lacek has said there is a way to install from floppies, and if you'd like you could try t boot from USB stick, here is site dedicated to this issue http://d-i.pascal.at/
maybe you can use tips there to install from HardDrive as well.

BTW I also didn't reinstall my system for almost year(it's time I moved to Linux from W2K) so don't familliar with installers a lot.
Denis

Sande

#4 Post by Sande »

well i meant if there would be a way to instal from hard drive as i saw one such for red hat distro but could nt get it to work with debian.
Also i dont have a usb memory stick or floppy drives so no go with the site mentioned.
Any other info would be welcome.

trave11er

#5 Post by trave11er »

Sarge installation manual contains a section on booting the installer from hard disk, so it should be possible.