[SOLVED] Grub not installed properly,cant boot from anywhere

Help with issues regarding installation of Debian

[SOLVED] Grub not installed properly,cant boot from anywhere

Postby robzan8 » 2015-03-01 22:58

Hi.
I have an hp pavilion 15-b106ed with UEFI. I disabled secure boot and installed debian jessie form the CD1 iso (RC1 installer) burned to an USB key. Installation went smoothly, but after rebooting I get grub's terminal-like screen saying:
"GNU GRUB version 2.02 beta2-9ubuntu1. Minimal BASH-like line editing is supported... etc"
The problem is that as soon as I turn on the computer that grub screen shows up and I can't boot from USB anymore nor access the BIOS settings, no matter how fast I press F9, F10 and such. I guess I have to tell him to boot from the USB using the grub terminal, but I have no idea how, does anyone know how to do that?
Thanks :)
Last edited by robzan8 on 2015-03-02 18:17, edited 1 time in total.
robzan8
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 2015-03-01 22:41

Re: Grub not installed properly, can't boot from anywhere

Postby robzan8 » 2015-03-01 23:20

ls echoes (hd0) (hd0,gpt1) and things like that. For every device listed, I tried:
set root=(hd0,gpt1) // or whatever
linux /boot/vmlinuz
initrd /boot/initrd.img
but in the second step I get either "unknown filesystem" (for selecting the wrong device, I guess) or "file '/boot/vmlinuz' not found" :(
robzan8
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 2015-03-01 22:41

Re: Grub not installed properly, can't boot from anywhere

Postby kiyop » 2015-03-01 23:34

robzan8 wrote:I disabled secure boot and installed debian jessie form the CD1 iso (RC1 installer) burned to an USB key. Installation went smoothly, but after rebooting I get grub's terminal-like screen saying:
"GNU GRUB version 2.02 beta2-9ubuntu1. Minimal BASH-like line editing is supported... etc"

I don't know well about version of grub2 (grub-efi) package https://packages.debian.org/jessie/grub-efi , but I wonder if you installed mint debian version judging from "ubuntu" in the above.
How did you install jessie? Write concretely what you did.

robzan8 wrote:ls echoes (hd0) (hd0,gpt1) and things like that. For every device listed, I tried:
set root=(hd0,gpt1) // or whatever
linux /boot/vmlinuz
initrd /boot/initrd.img
but in the second step I get either "unknown filesystem" (for selecting the wrong device, I guess) or "file '/boot/vmlinuz' not found" :(

If the correct module for the selected filesystem is not loaded by grub(2), "unknown filesystem" is displayed. For such a case, you should first load proper module by
Code: Select all
insmod MODULE_NAME

If "prefix" parameter is not set correctly, you cannot load modules properly. In such a case, you should first give correct prefix parameter by
Code: Select all
set prefix="(hdX,gptY)/boot/grub"

or so. X and Y should be number of the media and the partition. Be careful about the number of the media. It starts with 0, instead of 1.
I think there is not /boot/vmlinuz. It must be followed by version number and so on, like "/boot/vmlinuz-3.16.0-4-amd64".
It is useful to press TAB key.
You should also add version number and so on to initrd.img.
In usual cases, there are symbolic links for kernel and initramfs files like "/vmlinuz" and "/initrd.img" on root partition.
Furthermore, you should add "root=PROPER_WORDS_FOR_ROOT_PARTITION ro" or so to "linux" line.
The proper words for root partition may be like /dev/sda1, or UUID=BLAHBLAH, or LABEL=BLAHBLAH.
At end, you should execute
Code: Select all
boot

to try booting.

Good luck :)
Openbox, JWM: Jessie, Sid, Arch / Win XP (on VirtualBox), 10
http://kiyoandkei.bbs.fc2.com/
User avatar
kiyop
 
Posts: 3984
Joined: 2011-05-05 15:16
Location: Where persons without desire to improve themselves fear to tread, in Japan

Re: Grub not installed properly, can't boot from anywhere

Postby robzan8 » 2015-03-02 00:03

Thanks man, you're a hero, I had no idea what I was doing XD
(hd0,gpt2) was the only one with a boot folder, so I used:
set root=(hd0,gpt2)
linux /boot/vmlinuz-3.16.0-4-amd64 root=/dev/sda2 ro
initrd /boot/initrd.img-3.16.0-4-amd64
boot
... and welcome to debian jessie :D
I just installed jessie, but I had mint 17 installed before, is it possible that I messed up the installation and grub wasn't replaced correctly? I'm gonna search how to fix grub now. It shouldn't be too hard, but if I have problems I'll post again.
Thanks again :)
robzan8
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 2015-03-01 22:41

Re: Grub not installed properly, can't boot from anywhere

Postby robzan8 » 2015-03-02 00:40

Reinstalled grub but nothing changed. How is it possible that the ubuntu grub is still showing up? Am I missing something?
robzan8
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 2015-03-01 22:41

Re: Grub not installed properly, can't boot from anywhere

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2015-03-02 08:12

Please post the output of:
Code: Select all
# gdisk -l /dev/sda
# lsblk -f
# efibootmgr -v
“Controlling complexity is the essence of computer programming."Brian Kernighan

Please read before posting How to report a problem
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 6491
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: Grub not installed properly, can't boot from anywhere

Postby robzan8 » 2015-03-02 13:23

Code: Select all
GPT fdisk (gdisk) version 0.8.10

Partition table scan:
  MBR: protective
  BSD: not present
  APM: not present
  GPT: present

Found valid GPT with protective MBR; using GPT.
Disk /dev/sda: 976773168 sectors, 465.8 GiB
Logical sector size: 512 bytes
Disk identifier (GUID): BD04FD20-D1D9-4071-9A5A-6FE29F06AB0E
Partition table holds up to 128 entries
First usable sector is 34, last usable sector is 976773134
Partitions will be aligned on 2048-sector boundaries
Total free space is 4077 sectors (2.0 MiB)

Number  Start (sector)    End (sector)  Size       Code  Name
   1            2048         1050623   512.0 MiB   EF00 
   2         1050624       968603647   461.4 GiB   8300 
   3       968603648       976771071   3.9 GiB     8200

Code: Select all
NAME   FSTYPE          LABEL UUID                                 MOUNTPOINT
sda                                                               
├─sda1 vfat                  C6C1-A3E7                            /boot/efi
├─sda2 ext4                  e20ee0f1-5dc4-498f-8148-77e6d452dccb /
└─sda3 swap                  ab4b8e03-cbde-4407-9308-ff26d0572131 [SWAP]
sdb    isw_raid_member

Code: Select all
BootCurrent: 0000
Timeout: 0 seconds
BootOrder: 3000,3001,2001,2002,2003
Boot0000* Ubuntu   HD(1,800,100000,c919ec8b-b5d9-4cd2-a78a-31d9f30e0ed6)File(\EFI\ubuntu\grubx64.efi)RC
Boot0001* debian   HD(1,800,100000,c919ec8b-b5d9-4cd2-a78a-31d9f30e0ed6)File(\EFI\debian\grubx64.efi)
Boot2001* USB Drive (UEFI)   RC
Boot3000* Internal Hard Disk or Solid State Disk   RC
Boot3001* Internal Hard Disk or Solid State Disk   RC

If I understand correctly sda2 is where debian is installed and sda3 is swap. Maybe mint's grub2 is still on sda1 and it has higher priority. How do i change that? Thanks for your time.
robzan8
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 2015-03-01 22:41

Re: Grub not installed properly, can't boot from anywhere

Postby robzan8 » 2015-03-02 13:32

There is also a 30GB sdb that i totally wasn't aware of (I'm such a noob). Looking at my computer's specs I shouldn't have an SSD cache, I think it's for system recovery, but I never touched it anyway.
Code: Select all
GPT fdisk (gdisk) version 0.8.10

The protective MBR's 0xEE partition is oversized! Auto-repairing.

Partition table scan:
  MBR: protective
  BSD: not present
  APM: not present
  GPT: present

Found valid GPT with protective MBR; using GPT.
Disk /dev/sdb: 62533296 sectors, 29.8 GiB
Logical sector size: 512 bytes
Disk identifier (GUID): BB7BF084-5527-4249-8EB6-AC17B4E0A329
Partition table holds up to 128 entries
First usable sector is 34, last usable sector is 8388574
Partitions will be aligned on 2048-sector boundaries
Total free space is 4029 sectors (2.0 MiB)

Number  Start (sector)    End (sector)  Size       Code  Name
   1            2048         8386559   4.0 GiB     8400  Basic data partition
robzan8
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 2015-03-01 22:41

Re: Grub not installed properly, can't boot from anywhere

Postby robzan8 » 2015-03-02 16:09

I think I had the same problem of this other guy here:
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=120656
I was able to boot from the USB with:
set root=[appropriate device and partition here]
set prefix=/boot/grub
insmod normal
normal
Doing so I was able to reinstall everything from scratch and it works now :)
Just one last thing: dev/sdb is buggung me, can you by chance understand what that is given the information above? Should it be safe to delete/wipe it?
robzan8
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 2015-03-01 22:41

Re: Grub not installed properly, can't boot from anywhere

Postby robzan8 » 2015-03-02 18:16

dev/sdb is for intel rapid storage tecnology. This goes beyond my installation problems. Thanks again :)
robzan8
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 2015-03-01 22:41


Return to Installation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests

fashionable