[SOLVED] Grub not installed properly,cant boot from anywhere

Help with issues regarding installation of Debian

[SOLVED] Grub not installed properly,cant boot from anywhere

Postby robzan8 » 2015-03-01 22:58

Hi.
I have an hp pavilion 15-b106ed with UEFI. I disabled secure boot and installed debian jessie form the CD1 iso (RC1 installer) burned to an USB key. Installation went smoothly, but after rebooting I get grub's terminal-like screen saying:
"GNU GRUB version 2.02 beta2-9ubuntu1. Minimal BASH-like line editing is supported... etc"
The problem is that as soon as I turn on the computer that grub screen shows up and I can't boot from USB anymore nor access the BIOS settings, no matter how fast I press F9, F10 and such. I guess I have to tell him to boot from the USB using the grub terminal, but I have no idea how, does anyone know how to do that?
Thanks :)
Last edited by robzan8 on 2015-03-02 18:17, edited 1 time in total.
robzan8
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 2015-03-01 22:41

Re: Grub not installed properly, can't boot from anywhere

Postby robzan8 » 2015-03-01 23:20

ls echoes (hd0) (hd0,gpt1) and things like that. For every device listed, I tried:
set root=(hd0,gpt1) // or whatever
linux /boot/vmlinuz
initrd /boot/initrd.img
but in the second step I get either "unknown filesystem" (for selecting the wrong device, I guess) or "file '/boot/vmlinuz' not found" :(
robzan8
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 2015-03-01 22:41

Re: Grub not installed properly, can't boot from anywhere

Postby kiyop » 2015-03-01 23:34

robzan8 wrote:I disabled secure boot and installed debian jessie form the CD1 iso (RC1 installer) burned to an USB key. Installation went smoothly, but after rebooting I get grub's terminal-like screen saying:
"GNU GRUB version 2.02 beta2-9ubuntu1. Minimal BASH-like line editing is supported... etc"

I don't know well about version of grub2 (grub-efi) package https://packages.debian.org/jessie/grub-efi , but I wonder if you installed mint debian version judging from "ubuntu" in the above.
How did you install jessie? Write concretely what you did.

robzan8 wrote:ls echoes (hd0) (hd0,gpt1) and things like that. For every device listed, I tried:
set root=(hd0,gpt1) // or whatever
linux /boot/vmlinuz
initrd /boot/initrd.img
but in the second step I get either "unknown filesystem" (for selecting the wrong device, I guess) or "file '/boot/vmlinuz' not found" :(

If the correct module for the selected filesystem is not loaded by grub(2), "unknown filesystem" is displayed. For such a case, you should first load proper module by
Code: Select all
insmod MODULE_NAME

If "prefix" parameter is not set correctly, you cannot load modules properly. In such a case, you should first give correct prefix parameter by
Code: Select all
set prefix="(hdX,gptY)/boot/grub"

or so. X and Y should be number of the media and the partition. Be careful about the number of the media. It starts with 0, instead of 1.
I think there is not /boot/vmlinuz. It must be followed by version number and so on, like "/boot/vmlinuz-3.16.0-4-amd64".
It is useful to press TAB key.
You should also add version number and so on to initrd.img.
In usual cases, there are symbolic links for kernel and initramfs files like "/vmlinuz" and "/initrd.img" on root partition.
Furthermore, you should add "root=PROPER_WORDS_FOR_ROOT_PARTITION ro" or so to "linux" line.
The proper words for root partition may be like /dev/sda1, or UUID=BLAHBLAH, or LABEL=BLAHBLAH.
At end, you should execute
Code: Select all
boot

to try booting.

Good luck :)
Openbox, JWM: Jessie, Sid, Arch / Win XP (on VirtualBox), 10
http://kiyoandkei.bbs.fc2.com/
User avatar
kiyop
 
Posts: 3984
Joined: 2011-05-05 15:16
Location: Where persons without desire to improve themselves fear to tread, in Japan

Re: Grub not installed properly, can't boot from anywhere

Postby robzan8 » 2015-03-02 00:03

Thanks man, you're a hero, I had no idea what I was doing XD
(hd0,gpt2) was the only one with a boot folder, so I used:
set root=(hd0,gpt2)
linux /boot/vmlinuz-3.16.0-4-amd64 root=/dev/sda2 ro
initrd /boot/initrd.img-3.16.0-4-amd64
boot
... and welcome to debian jessie :D
I just installed jessie, but I had mint 17 installed before, is it possible that I messed up the installation and grub wasn't replaced correctly? I'm gonna search how to fix grub now. It shouldn't be too hard, but if I have problems I'll post again.
Thanks again :)
robzan8
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 2015-03-01 22:41

Re: Grub not installed properly, can't boot from anywhere

Postby robzan8 » 2015-03-02 00:40

Reinstalled grub but nothing changed. How is it possible that the ubuntu grub is still showing up? Am I missing something?
robzan8
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 2015-03-01 22:41

Re: Grub not installed properly, can't boot from anywhere

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2015-03-02 08:12

Please post the output of:
Code: Select all
# gdisk -l /dev/sda
# lsblk -f
# efibootmgr -v
"Are you quite sure that all those bells and whistles, all those wonderful facilities of your so called powerful programming languages, belong to the solution set rather than the problem set?" — Edsger W. Dijkstra
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 6577
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: Grub not installed properly, can't boot from anywhere

Postby robzan8 » 2015-03-02 13:23

Code: Select all
GPT fdisk (gdisk) version 0.8.10

Partition table scan:
  MBR: protective
  BSD: not present
  APM: not present
  GPT: present

Found valid GPT with protective MBR; using GPT.
Disk /dev/sda: 976773168 sectors, 465.8 GiB
Logical sector size: 512 bytes
Disk identifier (GUID): BD04FD20-D1D9-4071-9A5A-6FE29F06AB0E
Partition table holds up to 128 entries
First usable sector is 34, last usable sector is 976773134
Partitions will be aligned on 2048-sector boundaries
Total free space is 4077 sectors (2.0 MiB)

Number  Start (sector)    End (sector)  Size       Code  Name
   1            2048         1050623   512.0 MiB   EF00 
   2         1050624       968603647   461.4 GiB   8300 
   3       968603648       976771071   3.9 GiB     8200

Code: Select all
NAME   FSTYPE          LABEL UUID                                 MOUNTPOINT
sda                                                               
├─sda1 vfat                  C6C1-A3E7                            /boot/efi
├─sda2 ext4                  e20ee0f1-5dc4-498f-8148-77e6d452dccb /
└─sda3 swap                  ab4b8e03-cbde-4407-9308-ff26d0572131 [SWAP]
sdb    isw_raid_member

Code: Select all
BootCurrent: 0000
Timeout: 0 seconds
BootOrder: 3000,3001,2001,2002,2003
Boot0000* Ubuntu   HD(1,800,100000,c919ec8b-b5d9-4cd2-a78a-31d9f30e0ed6)File(\EFI\ubuntu\grubx64.efi)RC
Boot0001* debian   HD(1,800,100000,c919ec8b-b5d9-4cd2-a78a-31d9f30e0ed6)File(\EFI\debian\grubx64.efi)
Boot2001* USB Drive (UEFI)   RC
Boot3000* Internal Hard Disk or Solid State Disk   RC
Boot3001* Internal Hard Disk or Solid State Disk   RC

If I understand correctly sda2 is where debian is installed and sda3 is swap. Maybe mint's grub2 is still on sda1 and it has higher priority. How do i change that? Thanks for your time.
robzan8
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 2015-03-01 22:41

Re: Grub not installed properly, can't boot from anywhere

Postby robzan8 » 2015-03-02 13:32

There is also a 30GB sdb that i totally wasn't aware of (I'm such a noob). Looking at my computer's specs I shouldn't have an SSD cache, I think it's for system recovery, but I never touched it anyway.
Code: Select all
GPT fdisk (gdisk) version 0.8.10

The protective MBR's 0xEE partition is oversized! Auto-repairing.

Partition table scan:
  MBR: protective
  BSD: not present
  APM: not present
  GPT: present

Found valid GPT with protective MBR; using GPT.
Disk /dev/sdb: 62533296 sectors, 29.8 GiB
Logical sector size: 512 bytes
Disk identifier (GUID): BB7BF084-5527-4249-8EB6-AC17B4E0A329
Partition table holds up to 128 entries
First usable sector is 34, last usable sector is 8388574
Partitions will be aligned on 2048-sector boundaries
Total free space is 4029 sectors (2.0 MiB)

Number  Start (sector)    End (sector)  Size       Code  Name
   1            2048         8386559   4.0 GiB     8400  Basic data partition
robzan8
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 2015-03-01 22:41

Re: Grub not installed properly, can't boot from anywhere

Postby robzan8 » 2015-03-02 16:09

I think I had the same problem of this other guy here:
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=120656
I was able to boot from the USB with:
set root=[appropriate device and partition here]
set prefix=/boot/grub
insmod normal
normal
Doing so I was able to reinstall everything from scratch and it works now :)
Just one last thing: dev/sdb is buggung me, can you by chance understand what that is given the information above? Should it be safe to delete/wipe it?
robzan8
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 2015-03-01 22:41

Re: Grub not installed properly, can't boot from anywhere

Postby robzan8 » 2015-03-02 18:16

dev/sdb is for intel rapid storage tecnology. This goes beyond my installation problems. Thanks again :)
robzan8
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 2015-03-01 22:41


Return to Installation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

fashionable