Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

 

 

 

[SOLVED] start job running for LSB: Raise network interface

Ask for help with issues regarding the Installations of the Debian O/S.
Message
Author
hughparker1
Posts: 177
Joined: 2014-10-09 21:53
Location: Paisley, United Kingdom

Re: [***]A start job is running for LSB: Raise network inter

#16 Post by hughparker1 »

I have now commented out both these lines in /etc/network/interfaces ....

Code: Select all

# iface wlan0 inet6 auto
# auto wlan0
/etc/network/interfaces now looks like....

Code: Select all

# This file describes the network interfaces available on your system
# and how to activate them. For more information, see interfaces(5).

source /etc/network/interfaces.d/*

# The loopback network interface
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

# The primary network interface
# auto wlan0
iface wlan0 inet dhcp
# This is an autoconfigured IPv6 interface
# iface wlan0 inet6 auto
        wpa-ssid TALKTALKA661B5
        wpa-psk  ********
Now when i boot laptop I am not getting the last line [ ***]A start job is running for LSB:, just these lines below still appear for 15 seconds...

Code: Select all

Loading, please wait...
fsck from util-linux 2.25.2
fsck error 2 (No such file or directory) while executing fsck.ext4 for /dev/sda1
fsck exited with status code 8
[  13.941532] systemd-fsck[145]: DEBIAN8: clean,140919/640848 files, 978992/2560942 blocks
the last line [ ***]A start job is running for LSB: Raise network interfaces. (1min 20s / no limit) is no longer there which is good because that delayed things for about 1m 20s.

So does the second line 'fsck error 2 (No such file or directory)...' indicate there is still a problem with my boot process?

also each time I start the laptop, I find I am not connected to the wireless router, even though I have saved the wireless key and made sure the option
Automatically connect to this network = enabled

spacex
Posts: 637
Joined: 2015-01-17 01:27

Re: [***]A start job is running for LSB: Raise network inter

#17 Post by spacex »

@hughparker1
fsck from util-linux 2.25.2
fsck error 2 (No such file or directory) while executing fsck.ext4 for /dev/sda1
fsck exited with status code 8
This is a issue unrelated to the other issue. Post the output of blkid, and post your fstab file , you find it in /etc...

You would get this error if you for example are trying to mount a etx3 partition as ext 4, but there could also be other reasons...

User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
Posts: 14114
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: London, England
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 132 times

Re: [***]A start job is running for LSB: Raise network inter

#18 Post by Head_on_a_Stick »

Just to note: I was a little tired last night so I missed the rather obvious point that if you are using WICD or NetworkManager then you can delete all the wlan0 lines in /etc/networ/interfaces and let your GUI handle the connection instead.

I have had that fsck error on a Debian system before and never got to the bottom of it :?

Please open a new thread for this problem.
deadbang

spacex
Posts: 637
Joined: 2015-01-17 01:27

Re: [***]A start job is running for LSB: Raise network inter

#19 Post by spacex »

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:Just to note: I was a little tired last night so I missed the rather obvious point that if you are using WICD or NetworkManager then you can delete all the wlan0 lines in /etc/networ/interfaces and let your GUI handle the connection instead.

I have had that fsck error on a Debian system before and never got to the bottom of it :?

Please open a new thread for this problem.
Or , if he has "/etc/network/interfaces", he could delete the custom one in "etc/network/interfaces.d".

Anyways, you are correct, it should look like this:

Code: Select all

# This file describes the network interfaces available on your system
# and how to activate them. For more information, see interfaces(5).

source /etc/network/interfaces.d/*

# The loopback network interface
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

hughparker1
Posts: 177
Joined: 2014-10-09 21:53
Location: Paisley, United Kingdom

Re: [***]A start job is running for LSB: Raise network inter

#20 Post by hughparker1 »

spacex wrote:
Or , if he has "/etc/network/interfaces", he could delete the custom one in "etc/network/interfaces.d".

Anyways, you are correct, it should look like this:

Code: Select all

# This file describes the network interfaces available on your system
# and how to activate them. For more information, see interfaces(5).

source /etc/network/interfaces.d/*

# The loopback network interface
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback
I checked my "etc/network/interfaces.d". but there wasn't anything in that directory...

Code: Select all

hugh@hp530-Debian-8:~$ cd /etc/network/interfaces.d
hugh@hp530-Debian-8:/etc/network/interfaces.d$ ls
hugh@hp530-Debian-8:/etc/network/interfaces.d$
i did check my "/etc/network/interfaces" and it now looks like...

Code: Select all

hugh@hp530-Debian-8:~$ cat /etc/network/interfaces
# This file describes the network interfaces available on your system
# and how to activate them. For more information, see interfaces(5).

source /etc/network/interfaces.d/*

# The loopback network interface
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

# The primary network interface
# auto wlan0
iface wlan0 inet dhcp
# This is an autoconfigured IPv6 interface
# iface wlan0 inet6 auto
	wpa-ssid TALKTALKA661B5
	wpa-psk  ********
hugh@hp530-Debian-8:~$ 
... so I have this extra line which doesn't appear in your example above...

Code: Select all

iface wlan0 inet dhcp
... so should I just comment this line same as I did with the other two lines before?

p.s the other thing that puzzles me is sometimes when I start the laptop, I find I am not connected to the wireless router, even though I have saved the wireless key and made sure the option
Automatically connect to this network = enabled
It doesn't happen every time but at least 50% of the time. Do you think this is the extra line 'iface wlan0 inet dhcp' in my my "/etc/network/interfaces"

p.s. I will create a new post for the "fsck error 2 (No such file or directory) "
Last edited by hughparker1 on 2016-02-13 23:34, edited 3 times in total.

hughparker1
Posts: 177
Joined: 2014-10-09 21:53
Location: Paisley, United Kingdom

Re: [***]A start job is running for LSB: Raise network inter

#21 Post by hughparker1 »

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:Just to note: I was a little tired last night so I missed the rather obvious point that if you are using WICD or NetworkManager then you can delete all the wlan0 lines in /etc/networ/interfaces and let your GUI handle the connection instead.

I have had that fsck error on a Debian system before and never got to the bottom of it :?

Please open a new thread for this problem.
I have created a new post for the remaining problem....
http://forums.debian.net/viewtopic.php?f=17&t=127039
Thanks again for your help yesterday, it was much appreciated.

spacex
Posts: 637
Joined: 2015-01-17 01:27

Re: [***]A start job is running for LSB: Raise network inter

#22 Post by spacex »

@hughparker1

Comment out everything except this:

Code: Select all

source /etc/network/interfaces.d/*

# The loopback network interface
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback
Then reboot, and test it. We don't know if this caused it, until you try to comment out the rest.

hughparker1
Posts: 177
Joined: 2014-10-09 21:53
Location: Paisley, United Kingdom

Re: [***]A start job is running for LSB: Raise network inter

#23 Post by hughparker1 »

spacex wrote:@hughparker1

Comment out everything except this:

Code: Select all

source /etc/network/interfaces.d/*

# The loopback network interface
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback
Then reboot, and test it. We don't know if this caused it, until you try to comment out the rest.
Thanks for getting back to me.
I have commented the line suggested....

Code: Select all

hugh@hp530-Debian-8:~$ cat /etc/network/interfaces
# This file describes the network interfaces available on your system
# and how to activate them. For more information, see interfaces(5).

source /etc/network/interfaces.d/*

# The loopback network interface
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

# The primary network interface
# auto wlan0
# iface wlan0 inet dhcp
# This is an autoconfigured IPv6 interface
# iface wlan0 inet6 auto
	wpa-ssid TALKTALKA661B5
	wpa-psk  *******
hugh@hp530-Debian-8:~$ 
... now only two lines in file above.

But I'm still finding that I am not connected to the wireless router when I restart laptop, even though I have saved the wireless key and made sure the option
Automatically connect to this network = enabled
When I open Wicd Network Manager, the message in centre of window says "No wireless networks found". clicking Refresh button does nothing, I need to click "Switch off Wi-Fi" (it then changes to "Switch on Wi-Fi") and then I need to click Refresh button before message "Scanning..." is displayed and the wireless routers are detected and listed. I can see the "Automatically connect to this network = enabled" and the wireless key is still saved from before, I then need to click "Connect" button to access internet.

So all the settings are there from before, it's just unable to detect the wireless router without manual refresh. It's not a major problem but would be better if I didn't need to do this each time I switch on laptop.

User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
Posts: 14114
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: London, England
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 132 times

Re: [***]A start job is running for LSB: Raise network inter

#24 Post by Head_on_a_Stick »

I've never used WICD but NetworkManager has an option somewhere to allow /etc/network/interfaces to manage an interface (I don't know where exactly 'cos I don't use that either) -- see if there is a similar option for WICD and disable it.

If that fails, just put the connection stuff back in /etc/network/interfaces and let that handle it instead.

Having two tools attempting to manage the same interface will probably cause conflicts and problems.

If you still can't get it working, I can show you how to let systemd manage the connection instead, it's *much* faster than /etc/network/interfaces and *much* lighter than NetworkManager or WICD.
deadbang

hughparker1
Posts: 177
Joined: 2014-10-09 21:53
Location: Paisley, United Kingdom

Re: [***]A start job is running for LSB: Raise network inter

#25 Post by hughparker1 »

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:I've never used WICD but NetworkManager has an option somewhere to allow /etc/network/interfaces to manage an interface (I don't know where exactly 'cos I don't use that either) -- see if there is a similar option for WICD and disable it.

If that fails, just put the connection stuff back in /etc/network/interfaces and let that handle it instead.

Having two tools attempting to manage the same interface will probably cause conflicts and problems.

If you still can't get it working, I can show you how to let systemd manage the connection instead, it's *much* faster than /etc/network/interfaces and *much* lighter than NetworkManager or WICD.
Thanks for reply, you mentioned earlier I could WICD or NetworkManager to delete all the wlan0 lines in /etc/networ/interfaces and let your GUI handle the connection instead. I couldn't see where to do this in WICD, but if I click on Start > Preferences > Network, I can open a "Network Settings" window and found the following information....

Code: Select all

"Network Settings" window

(T) Hosts

IP Address	Aliases
----------      -----------------------------------
127.0.0.1	 localhost
127.0.1.1	 hp530-Debian-8
::1		    localhost ip6-localhost ip6-loopback
ff02::1		ip6-allnodes
ff02::2		ip6-allrouters
which lines should I remove from here, I see 3 lines which contain ip6, can I remove these?

User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
Posts: 14114
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: London, England
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 132 times

Re: [***]A start job is running for LSB: Raise network inter

#26 Post by Head_on_a_Stick »

hughparker1 wrote:which lines should I remove from here
I have no idea, I've never used WICD, sorry.

I don't like GUIs managing my connections.
deadbang

hughparker1
Posts: 177
Joined: 2014-10-09 21:53
Location: Paisley, United Kingdom

Re: [***]A start job is running for LSB: Raise network inter

#27 Post by hughparker1 »

Hi thanks for reply, "Network Settings" isn't part of Wicd but is a separate window I can open when I click on Start > Preferences > Network, this opens a "Network Settings" window.

But going back to something you mentioned earlier...
Head_on_a_Stick wrote: If you still can't get it working, I can show you how to let systemd manage the connection instead, it's *much* faster than /etc/network/interfaces and *much* lighter than NetworkManager or WICD.
I like the part "it's *much* faster than /etc/network/interfaces and *much* lighter than NetworkManager or WICD " I would be interested in how to do this, although I don't have the skills that you will have. Is there any step by step instructions I can follow to achieve this?

hughparker1
Posts: 177
Joined: 2014-10-09 21:53
Location: Paisley, United Kingdom

Re: [***]A start job is running for LSB: Raise network inter

#28 Post by hughparker1 »

I did a search for "how to switch from NetworkManager to systemd-networkd" and found this link....

http://xmodulo.com/switch-from-networkm ... workd.html

I'm not sure if this is ok for Debian system. It looks quite complicated so I would like some guidance on whether is can be done safely on Debian 8. Thanks again for all your help so far.

User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
Posts: 14114
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: London, England
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 132 times

Re: [***]A start job is running for LSB: Raise network inter

#29 Post by Head_on_a_Stick »

hughparker1 wrote:Is there any step by step instructions I can follow to achieve this?
First, generate a wpa_supplicant configuration file for your access point:

Code: Select all

# wpa_passphrase $SSID $PASSWORD >> /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant-wlan0.conf
Replace $SSID with the name of your access point (use `iwlist scan wlan0|grep SSID` to find this) and replace $PASSWORD with your, er, password (if either of these have spaces or special character, enclose the entire SSID or password in double quotation marks: "").

If your wireless interface is not called "wlan0" then you will have to replace that with the correct interface name.

You can repeat this step for any other access points that you need to connect to.

The command must be run as root (ie, use `su` or `sudo -i` before running it), just using `sudo` will not work.

Then create a file at /etc/systemd/system/network-wireless@.service (as root!) with the following content:

Code: Select all

[Unit]
Description=Wireless network connectivity (%i)
Wants=network.target
Before=network.target
BindsTo=sys-subsystem-net-devices-%i.device
After=sys-subsystem-net-devices-%i.device

[Service]
Type=oneshot
RemainAfterExit=yes

ExecStart=/sbin/ip l set %i up
ExecStart=/sbin/wpa_supplicant -B -i %i -c /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant-%i.conf
ExecStart=/sbin/dhclient %i

ExecStop=/sbin/ip l set %i down

[Install]
WantedBy=multi-user.target
Then make sure that NetworkManager & WICD and all other networking .services are disabled.

Check all enabled .services with:

Code: Select all

systemctl list-unit-files|grep enabled
Disable any conflicting networking .services with:

Code: Select all

# systemctl disable foo.service
Replace foo with the name of the .service

Finally enable the custom unit file and reboot:

Code: Select all

# systemctl enable network-wireless@wlan0.service
If your interface is not called "wlan0" then you will have to change that to the correct name.

List all interface names with `ip l`
deadbang

User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
Posts: 14114
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: London, England
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 132 times

Re: [***]A start job is running for LSB: Raise network inter

#30 Post by Head_on_a_Stick »

Unfortunately, the Debian implementation of systemd-networkd does *not* support wireless connections without further hacks.

If you wish to use systemd-networkd rather than the custom unit file I have posted above, see this guide:
https://forums.bunsenlabs.org/viewtopic.php?id=546
deadbang

hughparker1
Posts: 177
Joined: 2014-10-09 21:53
Location: Paisley, United Kingdom

Re: [***]A start job is running for LSB: Raise network inter

#31 Post by hughparker1 »

Head_on_a_Stick wrote: Unfortunately, the Debian implementation of systemd-networkd does *not* support wireless connections without further hacks.

If you wish to use systemd-networkd rather than the custom unit file I have posted above, see this guide:
https://forums.bunsenlabs.org/viewtopic.php?id=546
Thanks for your clear step by step instructions. I wasn't looking to use systemd-networkd specifically (just anything related to systemd), systemd-networkd was just one to the hits on google.

I will follow your instructions and let you know how I get on. Thanks once again for your feedback.

hughparker1
Posts: 177
Joined: 2014-10-09 21:53
Location: Paisley, United Kingdom

Re: [***]A start job is running for LSB: Raise network inter

#32 Post by hughparker1 »

before I make the changes I have a couple of questions...
Head_on_a_Stick wrote:First, generate a wpa_supplicant configuration file for your access point:
# wpa_passphrase $SSID $PASSWORD >> /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant-wlan0.conf
Replace $SSID with the name of your access point (use `iwlist scan wlan0|grep SSID` to find this)
I get this message when try to find my access point...

Code: Select all

hugh@hp530-Debian-8:~$ iwlist scan wlan0|grep SSID
bash: iwlist: command not found
hugh@hp530-Debian-8:~$ 
but I think I already know my ssid from /etc/network/interfaces , it's shown as wpa-ssid = TALKTALKA661B5

Q1. So I should use TALKTALKA661B5 ?
Head_on_a_Stick wrote:If your wireless interface is not called "wlan0"...
Q2. how do I confirm what my wireless interface is not called?

Q3. Do I need to use my network cable while performing these setup steps?
Head_on_a_Stick wrote:Then create a file at /etc/systemd/system/network-wireless@.service (as root!) with the following content
Q4. Is this best way to create this file ? ...

Code: Select all

$ su
$ cd /etc/systemd/system/
$ > network-wireless@.service
$ nano network-wireless@.service  # and enter text and save 
Head_on_a_Stick wrote:Then make sure that NetworkManager & WICD and all other networking .services are disabled.
Check all enabled .services with:
Code: Select all

Code: Select all

systemctl list-unit-files|grep enabled
here is the output for systemctl list-unit-files|grep enabled ....

Code: Select all

hugh@hp530-Debian-8:~$ systemctl list-unit-files|grep enabled
run-vmblock\x2dfuse.mount                  enabled 
acpid.path                                 enabled 
cups.path                                  enabled 
anacron-resume.service                     enabled 
anacron.service                            enabled 
atd.service                                enabled 
avahi-daemon.service                       enabled 
bluetooth.service                          enabled 
cron.service                               enabled 
cups-browsed.service                       enabled 
cups.service                               enabled 
dbus-org.bluez.service                     enabled 
dbus-org.freedesktop.Avahi.service         enabled 
dbus-org.freedesktop.ModemManager1.service enabled 
display-manager.service                    enabled 
getty@.service                             enabled 
hwclock-save.service                       enabled 
lightdm.service                            enabled 
live-config.service                        enabled 
ModemManager.service                       enabled 
open-vm-tools.service                      enabled 
rsyslog.service                            enabled 
ssh.service                                enabled 
sshd.service                               enabled 
syslog.service                             enabled 
acpid.socket                               enabled 
avahi-daemon.socket                        enabled 
cups.socket                                enabled 
uuidd.socket                               enabled 
remote-fs.target                           enabled 
hugh@hp530-Debian-8:~$ 
Q5. can you advise which service I should disable? I am not confident in picking the correct services.
Head_on_a_Stick wrote: List all interface names with `ip l`
Q6. I'm not sure what I should do here.

Sorry for all the questions but I just want to check I'm doing things correctly.

Thanks for your patience, you have been a great help to me so far.

User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
Posts: 14114
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: London, England
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 132 times

Re: [***]A start job is running for LSB: Raise network inter

#33 Post by Head_on_a_Stick »

hughparker1 wrote:I get this message when try to find my access point...

Code: Select all

hugh@hp530-Debian-8:~$ iwlist scan wlan0|grep SSID
bash: iwlist: command not found
hugh@hp530-Debian-8:~$ 
You need the wireless-tools package for that command ;)
but I think I already know my ssid from /etc/network/interfaces , it's shown as wpa-ssid = TALKTALKA661B5

Q1. So I should use TALKTALKA661B5 ?
Yes.
Q2. how do I confirm what my wireless interface is not called?
See "Q6"
Q3. Do I need to use my network cable while performing these setup steps?
No.
Q4. Is this best way to create this file ? ...

Code: Select all

$ su
$ cd /etc/systemd/system/
$ > network-wireless@.service
$ nano network-wireless@.service  # and enter text and save 
Yes, that would be fine.

I prefer vim though :D
here is the output for systemctl list-unit-files|grep enabled ....

Code: Select all

hugh@hp530-Debian-8:~$ systemctl list-unit-files|grep enabled
run-vmblock\x2dfuse.mount                  enabled 
acpid.path                                 enabled 
cups.path                                  enabled 
anacron-resume.service                     enabled 
anacron.service                            enabled 
atd.service                                enabled 
avahi-daemon.service                       enabled 
bluetooth.service                          enabled 
cron.service                               enabled 
cups-browsed.service                       enabled 
cups.service                               enabled 
dbus-org.bluez.service                     enabled 
dbus-org.freedesktop.Avahi.service         enabled 
dbus-org.freedesktop.ModemManager1.service enabled 
display-manager.service                    enabled 
getty@.service                             enabled 
hwclock-save.service                       enabled 
lightdm.service                            enabled 
live-config.service                        enabled 
ModemManager.service                       enabled 
open-vm-tools.service                      enabled 
rsyslog.service                            enabled 
ssh.service                                enabled 
sshd.service                               enabled 
syslog.service                             enabled 
acpid.socket                               enabled 
avahi-daemon.socket                        enabled 
cups.socket                                enabled 
uuidd.socket                               enabled 
remote-fs.target                           enabled 
hugh@hp530-Debian-8:~$ 
Q5. can you advise which service I should disable? I am not confident in picking the correct services.
Just the ModemManager.service:

Code: Select all

# systemctl disable ModemManager.service # NOTE: case-sensitive name!
As an aside, you do not appear to have NetworkManager.service enabled and this may be why your graphical desktop was not "remembering" your connection ;)
Head_on_a_Stick wrote: List all interface names with `ip l`
Q6. I'm not sure what I should do here.
Run this command in a terminal:

Code: Select all

ip l
It will then show all your networking interfaces, like this:

Code: Select all

empty@TheLab ~ % ip l
1: lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 65536 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN mode DEFAULT group default 
    link/loopback 00:00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00
2: eth0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST> mtu 1500 qdisc noop state DOWN mode DEFAULT group default qlen 1000
    link/ether f0:de:f1:46:a1:ac brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
3: wlan0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc mq state UP mode DORMANT group default qlen 1000
    link/ether 00:24:d7:93:d2:08 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
In this example, the wireless interface is called "wlan0" so the configuration file should be left un-altered.
I just want to check I'm doing things correctly.
Very wise :)
deadbang

hughparker1
Posts: 177
Joined: 2014-10-09 21:53
Location: Paisley, United Kingdom

Re: [***]A start job is running for LSB: Raise network inter

#34 Post by hughparker1 »

Thanks once again for your quick reply, I think I'm all set to make the changes...
Can I ask a couple more quick questions? .... you said in your reply
Head_on_a_Stick wrote: As an aside, you do not appear to have NetworkManager.service enabled and this may be why your graphical desktop was not "remembering" your connection
Q7.did you identify this because it was not listed in the output for 'systemctl list-unit-files|grep' ?

Q8. If so then how would I be able to enable this to see if it fixes having to manually connect to my wireless adapter each time I start the laptop?

NOTE: Even if this does fix this issue, I still think I would prefer to let systemd manage the connection instead, as you said it's *much* faster than /etc/network/interfaces and *much* lighter than NetworkManager or WICD. I like faster. So I will probably go ahead with the changes listed in your step-by-step as it's very clear now.

EDIT: this is the output of 'ip l'

Code: Select all

hugh@hp530-Debian-8:~$ ip l
1: lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 65536 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN mode DEFAULT group default 
    link/loopback 00:00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00
2: eth0: <NO-CARRIER,BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP> mtu 1500 qdisc pfifo_fast state DOWN mode DEFAULT group default qlen 1000
    link/ether 00:1b:38:31:59:95 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
3: wlan0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc mq state UP mode DORMANT group default qlen 1000
    link/ether 00:1b:77:42:4a:87 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
hugh@hp530-Debian-8:~$

User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
Posts: 14114
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: London, England
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 132 times

Re: [***]A start job is running for LSB: Raise network inter

#35 Post by Head_on_a_Stick »

hughparker1 wrote:
Head_on_a_Stick wrote: As an aside, you do not appear to have NetworkManager.service enabled and this may be why your graphical desktop was not "remembering" your connection
Q7.did you identify this because it was not listed in the output for 'systemctl list-unit-files|grep' ?
Yes, exactly so.
Q8. If so then how would I be able to enable this to see if it fixes having to manually connect to my wireless adapter each time I start the laptop?

Code: Select all

# systemctl enable NetworkManager
Please take some time to read systemctl(1) and try to understand the commands you are using.

To disable the custom unit file I posted above, use:

Code: Select all

# systemctl disable network-wireless@wlan0
deadbang

Post Reply