Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

Feedback - Hope it helps

Ask for help with issues regarding the Installations of the Debian O/S.
rmdca

Feedback - Hope it helps

#1 Post by rmdca »

I am new to Linux but I am no stranger to computers and in my experience, if I can't do something, the vast majority of users won't either or will go through the same pains.

Fed up with windows for years, installed Mint, set up a perfect dual boot with Win 10 in a laptop Bios HP 2170 (x86), 4 primary partitions, 2 for windows (didn't touch the 500 Mb boot), 2 for linux (1 swap).
Tried it for a few days, didn't like the feel. Why would you need edits, when you can have the real deal?
So I went for Debian stable 8.6.0, I don't care much for new things, I prefer stability and security.
I KNEW i would have to troubleshoot firmware, but I accepted it.

Now I understand why mint and ubunto even exist.

After trying many things over 2 days work (a win 10 install is 15 min) it arrived to a point where a Live Debian was running and connected to wireless, but the install via network couldn't detect the WLAN, even with all the necessary firmware (extracted from a .deb) sitting in a USB for it to read.
In another instance, I could provide the firmware for the WLAN and it would recognize it, but only by removing the install usb and inserting a new usb with the files (somehow it only recognized one USB port, I have 4 on the laptop).
But then the install software wouldn't recognize the re-inserted USB pen.
Tried to go for an offline full install. The debian page provides several CD and DVD ISOs but no single ISO.
There's a ton of info on installation to avoid the obvious: people are not using CDs anymore.