[solved] AMD Radeon R9 280x error

Help with issues regarding installation of Debian

[solved] AMD Radeon R9 280x error

Postby oldboy » 2017-03-08 18:23

So, I installed stretch, and got this error message after booting.
Code: Select all
[drm:si_dpm_set_power_state [radeon]] *ERROR* si_restrict_performance_levels_before_switch failed


It does not affect the use of the system, but it cannot wake from screensaver. Here are more details from dmesg:

Code: Select all
4.329920] [drm] Radeon Display Connectors
[    4.329920] [drm] Connector 0:
[    4.329921] [drm]   DP-1
[    4.329921] [drm]   HPD5
[    4.329922] [drm]   DDC: 0x6530 0x6530 0x6534 0x6534 0x6538 0x6538 0x653c 0x653c
[    4.329922] [drm]   Encoders:
[    4.329923] [drm]     DFP1: INTERNAL_UNIPHY2
[    4.329923] [drm] Connector 1:
[    4.329924] [drm]   DP-2
[    4.329924] [drm]   HPD4
[    4.329925] [drm]   DDC: 0x6540 0x6540 0x6544 0x6544 0x6548 0x6548 0x654c 0x654c
[    4.329925] [drm]   Encoders:
[    4.329926] [drm]     DFP2: INTERNAL_UNIPHY2
[    4.329926] [drm] Connector 2:
[    4.329926] [drm]   HDMI-A-1
[    4.329927] [drm]   HPD1
[    4.329927] [drm]   DDC: 0x6550 0x6550 0x6554 0x6554 0x6558 0x6558 0x655c 0x655c
[    4.329928] [drm]   Encoders:
[    4.329928] [drm]     DFP3: INTERNAL_UNIPHY1
[    4.329928] [drm] Connector 3:
[    4.329929] [drm]   DVI-I-1
[    4.329929] [drm]   HPD3
[    4.329930] [drm]   DDC: 0x6580 0x6580 0x6584 0x6584 0x6588 0x6588 0x658c 0x658c
[    4.329930] [drm]   Encoders:
[    4.329931] [drm]     DFP4: INTERNAL_UNIPHY
[    4.329931] [drm]     CRT1: INTERNAL_KLDSCP_DAC1
[    4.432629] [drm] fb mappable at 0xC05D8000
[    4.432629] [drm] vram apper at 0xC0000000
[    4.432630] [drm] size 33177600
[    4.432630] [drm] fb depth is 24
[    4.432630] [drm]    pitch is 15360
[    4.432713] fbcon: radeondrmfb (fb0) is primary device
[    4.604820] [drm:si_dpm_set_power_state [radeon]] *ERROR* si_restrict_performance_levels_before_switch failed
[    4.674022] Console: switching to colour frame buffer device 480x135
[    4.688964] radeon 0000:01:00.0: fb0: radeondrmfb frame buffer device
[    4.701430] [drm] Initialized radeon 2.48.0 20080528 for 0000:01:00.0 on minor 0
[    4.710984] PM: Starting manual resume from disk
[    4.710986] PM: Hibernation image partition 8:23 present
[    4.710987] PM: Looking for hibernation image.
[    4.711150] PM: Image not found (code -22)
[    4.711151] PM: Hibernation image not present or could not be loaded.
[    4.790904] EXT4-fs (sda2): mounted filesystem with ordered data mode. Opts: (null)


Also this I/O address error:
Code: Select all
sp5100_tco: SP5100/SB800 TCO WatchDog Timer Driver v0.05
[    5.079398] sp5100_tco: PCI Vendor ID: 0x1002, Device ID: 0x4385, Revision ID: 0x42
[    5.079401] sp5100_tco: I/O address 0x0cd6 already in use


These packages are installed
firmware-amd-graphics, firware-linux-free and nonfree

I read the debian wiki, and it did not recommend installing AMD proprietary driver. Any advice welcome. TIA.
Last edited by oldboy on 2019-01-01 18:35, edited 1 time in total.
This oldboy has a lot of time in his hands
Linux slows down my Alzheimer and dementia
oldboy
 
Posts: 706
Joined: 2007-08-09 12:45

Re: AMD Radeon R9 280x error

Postby bw123 » 2017-03-10 00:11

There are several threads about R9 but they may be hard to find. Also plenty of threads about fail to resume from standby or suspend, could be related to screensaver?

Maybe you should post some more info, people might recognize a common issue? There are some systemd settings for standby/resume also, but that's beyond me at the moment.

Code: Select all
$ lspci -vk | grep  -e radeon -e VGA
$ fgrep EE /var/log/X*
User avatar
bw123
 
Posts: 3787
Joined: 2011-05-09 06:02

Re: AMD Radeon R9 280x error

Postby oldboy » 2017-03-10 01:26

Thanks. Here are the details:
(I subsituted R9 280x with R9 7950. They are virtually the same card)
Code: Select all
/home/shum# lspci -vk | grep  -e radeon -e VGA
   Flags: bus master, VGA palette snoop, 66MHz, medium devsel, latency 64, NUMA node 0
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Tahiti PRO [Radeon HD 7950/8950 OEM / R9 280] (prog-if 00 [VGA controller])
   Kernel driver in use: radeon
   Kernel modules: radeon

Code: Select all
fgrep EE /var/log/X*
   (WW) warning, (EE) error, (NI) not implemented, (??) unknown.
[     3.911] (EE) open /dev/dri/card0: No such file or directory
[     3.911] (EE) open /dev/dri/card0: No such file or directory
[     3.912] (EE) open /dev/fb0: No such file or directory
[     3.912] (EE) open /dev/fb0: No such file or directory
[     3.912] (EE) Screen 0 deleted because of no matching config section.
[     3.912] (EE) Screen 0 deleted because of no matching config section.
[     3.912] (EE) Screen 0 deleted because of no matching config section.
[     4.167] (EE) AIGLX: reverting to software rendering
[  2696.544] (EE) Server terminated successfully (0). Closing log file.
This oldboy has a lot of time in his hands
Linux slows down my Alzheimer and dementia
oldboy
 
Posts: 706
Joined: 2007-08-09 12:45

Re: AMD Radeon R9 280x error

Postby oldboy » 2018-12-24 17:45

This problem is still with my debian for well over a year. The only side effect is that I have to wait for it to boot.
Any help is appreciated.
Startup error message:
[drm:si_dpm_set_power_state [radeon]] *ERROR* si_restrict_performance_levels_before_switch failed
This oldboy has a lot of time in his hands
Linux slows down my Alzheimer and dementia
oldboy
 
Posts: 706
Joined: 2007-08-09 12:45

Re: AMD Radeon R9 280x error

Postby stevepusser » 2018-12-26 17:58

If you enter that error message into the Google, there are a lot of hits.

Which fixes have you tried from those results?
The MX Linux repositories: Backports galore! If we don't have something, just ask and we'll try--we like challenges. New packages: Foliate 1.5.3, Minitube 3.1, wine-staging 4.14, Virtual Box 5.2.32 & 6.0.10, Pale Moon 28.6.1, Waterfox 56.2.13
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 11037
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53

Re: AMD Radeon R9 280x error

Postby oldboy » 2018-12-26 22:45

Hi Steve
Most of the google searches are bug report types, none of them offer any type of solutions. I did not see anyone saying problem solved :(
This oldboy has a lot of time in his hands
Linux slows down my Alzheimer and dementia
oldboy
 
Posts: 706
Joined: 2007-08-09 12:45

Re: AMD Radeon R9 280x error

Postby llivv » 2018-12-31 02:13

switch to the amdgpu driver
unless you have a specific reason to be using the old radeon driver

check the dates of the files
ls -la /var/log/X*

new location is typically ~/.local/share/xorg/X*

either uninstall the radeon driver or create new folder if one doesn't already exist
/etc/X11/xorg.conf.d

and place a file named something simialar to /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/15-amdgpu.conf
containing:
Code: Select all
Section  "Device"
       Identifier     "Rnine"
       Driver         "amdgpu"
EndSection


report any issues
thanks
In memory of Ian Ashley Murdock (1973 - 2015) founder of the Debian project.
User avatar
llivv
 
Posts: 5488
Joined: 2007-02-14 18:10
Location: cold storage

Re: AMD Radeon R9 280x error

Postby oldboy » 2018-12-31 15:02

Thanks llivv.
Did as you suggested, but same error after reboot.
Here are the things I have done:
Code: Select all
shum@debian:~$ ls -la /var/log/X*
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root  84355 Jul  5  2017 /var/log/Xorg.0.log
-rwxrwxrwx 1 root root 143921 Feb 20  2017 /var/log/Xorg.0.log.old
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root  84082 Jul  5  2017 /var/log/Xorg.1.log


I removed Radeon driver, and now it shows none installed:
Code: Select all
shum@debian:~$ sudo apt-get remove --purge xserver-xorg-video-ati xserver-xorg-video-radeon
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
Package 'xserver-xorg-video-ati' is not installed, so not removed
Package 'xserver-xorg-video-radeon' is not installed, so not removed
The following packages were automatically installed and are no longer required:
  libjs-prototype libjs-scriptaculous
Use 'sudo apt autoremove' to remove them.
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.


Code: Select all
shum@debian:~$ sudo apt-get install xserver-xorg-video-amdgpu
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
xserver-xorg-video-amdgpu is already the newest version (1.2.0-1+b1).
The following packages were automatically installed and are no longer required:
  libjs-prototype libjs-scriptaculous
Use 'sudo apt autoremove' to remove them.
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.


sudo nano /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/15-amdgpu.conf
Code: Select all
Section "Device"
        Identifier      "Rnine"
        Driver          "amdgpu"
EndSection


After these changes, I cannot log in with gnome. After a few tries, I use gnome wayland, and was able to log in

Edit: I also did these
sudo apt-get install --reinstall libgl1-mesa-glx libgl1-mesa-dri xserver-xorg-core
sudo dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg

Same error after reboot.
edit 2: I comment out all the lines in /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/15-amdgpu.conf
Now, I am able to login as usual
This oldboy has a lot of time in his hands
Linux slows down my Alzheimer and dementia
oldboy
 
Posts: 706
Joined: 2007-08-09 12:45

Re: AMD Radeon R9 280x error

Postby llivv » 2018-12-31 16:04

Full Edit of this post:
After checking the debian amd graphics wiki
I see that radeon is the correct driver for the R9 280
sorry about that .....
I also forgot to ask if you have an /etc/X11/xorg.conf file already and if you do post what is in it
The wiki has an xorg.conf file for the radeon driver with options fully commented for testing each option..

https://wiki.debian.org/AtiHowTo
Firmware
Proprietary, binary-only firmware (aka microcode) was removed from the Debian kernel's radeon DRM driver in linux-2.6 2.6.29-1, to resolve Debian bug 494009. The firmware can be provided by installing the firmware-amd-graphics or firmware-linux-nonfree package.

Without this package installed, poor 2D/3D performance in the radeon driver is commonly experienced. Some GPUs may require firmware to operate the X Window System, or do dual display.
Last edited by llivv on 2018-12-31 20:05, edited 1 time in total.
In memory of Ian Ashley Murdock (1973 - 2015) founder of the Debian project.
User avatar
llivv
 
Posts: 5488
Joined: 2007-02-14 18:10
Location: cold storage

Re: AMD Radeon R9 280x error

Postby oldboy » 2018-12-31 19:54

Thanks.
lsmod shows Radeon
rmmod Radeon gives error that “Module Radeon is in use”
Tried recovery mode, Radeon is still in use and cannot rmmod.

Yes, firmware-amd-graphics is installed
This oldboy has a lot of time in his hands
Linux slows down my Alzheimer and dementia
oldboy
 
Posts: 706
Joined: 2007-08-09 12:45

Re: AMD Radeon R9 280x error

Postby llivv » 2018-12-31 20:13

It turns out that radeon is the correct driver for your R9 so it is good that radeon is being loaded.

as mentioned in my EDITED post above:
from the Ati/Amd graphics wiki
you might want to try installing firmware-linux-nonfree
and removing firmware-amd-graphics
if you have both installed just remove one or the other.

Also Please remove the /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/15-amdgpu.conf file.
and if you have /etc/X11/xorg.conf file please post it's contents.
In memory of Ian Ashley Murdock (1973 - 2015) founder of the Debian project.
User avatar
llivv
 
Posts: 5488
Joined: 2007-02-14 18:10
Location: cold storage

[solved] Re: AMD Radeon R9 280x error

Postby oldboy » 2019-01-01 18:35

Thanks for your help lliv

Since the error relates to suspend/resume, and Radeon driver is at fault here. I have edit the /etc/default/grub as follows
Code: Select all
GRUB_DEFAULT=0
GRUB_HIDDEN_TIMEOUT=0
GRUB_HIDDEN_TIMEOUT_QUIET=true
GRUB_TIMEOUT=10
GRUB_DISTRIBUTOR=`lsb_release -i -s 2> /dev/null || echo Debian`
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="radeon.cik_support=0 amdgpu.cik_support=1 radeon.si_support=0 amdgpu.si_support=1"
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX=""

After update-grub and reboot is smooth, no error waiting for suspend/resume. I do not need suspend anyway, so no hardship.
However, I run glxgears, and it only gives me 60 FPS. I think it should be over 5k.
For the time being no boot up error now. I'll try the propriatory driver and see what happens.
This oldboy has a lot of time in his hands
Linux slows down my Alzheimer and dementia
oldboy
 
Posts: 706
Joined: 2007-08-09 12:45


Return to Installation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests

fashionable