Installer menu GUI messed up. GPU error?

Help with issues regarding installation of Debian

Re: Installer menu GUI messed up. GPU error?

Postby hellvetica » 2017-03-12 23:01

stevepusser wrote:Is firmware-amd-graphics installed? By design, Debian will not install any nonfree firmware by default--that's the policy, even if some hardware really needs it.

I didn't install anything additionaly i just used the default ISO form the Debian site. Shouldn't it run my integrated Intel HD 4600 graphics for this sort of stuff?
If not how and what do i do?
hellvetica
 
Posts: 26
Joined: 2017-03-12 16:35

Re: Installer menu GUI messed up. GPU error?

Postby GarryRicketson » 2017-03-12 23:09

Post by hellvetica » Tried stock Debian. Same issue.


Ok, thanks,...

I see some others posted while I was writing,...
now they will still need some additional details,
Starting with the specific version, / image you have installed.
example:
Was it ?
Code: Select all
 debian-8.7.1-amd64-CD-1.iso

or maybe:
Code: Select all
debian-live-8.7.1-amd64-mate-desktop.iso   


by stevepusser » So, if your notebook has only the AMD graphics and not a hybrid system, I'd check the Debian wiki for that setup. Parrot OS may not install the firmware for your hardware by default (firmware-amd-graphics). Without it, you may see a GUI with the open driver, but performance is crippled and glitchy.


I am not at all familiar with trying to install Debian, or any OS to a
bootable sd card , but hopefully some of the others have some experience
with this. Please try to give all /any details they ask for,..
, stevepusser » what desktop it uses, what drivers you're using for your hardware, or even what Debian version

The debian wiki, steve mentions does go into how to get this information
if you don't know how,...I have some chores I need to do , so need to cut this short,...maybe later if need be I can give some more details.
thanks
User avatar
GarryRicketson
 
Posts: 4219
Joined: 2015-01-20 22:16
Location: Durango, Mexico

Re: Installer menu GUI messed up. GPU error?

Postby hellvetica » 2017-03-12 23:18

GarryRicketson wrote:Was it ?
Code: Select all
 debian-8.7.1-amd64-CD-1.iso

or maybe:
Code: Select all
debian-live-8.7.1-amd64-mate-desktop.iso   


As i said, i downloaded the default net install version from the Debian site.

Code: Select all
debian-8.7.1-amd64-netinst

Shouldn't matter if it's a web install or not since i'm stuck at what i presume is the language selection menu.
hellvetica
 
Posts: 26
Joined: 2017-03-12 16:35

Re: Installer menu GUI messed up. GPU error?

Postby hellvetica » 2017-03-12 23:22

stevepusser wrote:So, if your notebook has only the AMD graphics and not a hybrid system, I'd check the Debian wiki for that setup.


I have the basic Intel HD 4600 Graphics and a discrete AMD Radeon HD 8750M card.
hellvetica
 
Posts: 26
Joined: 2017-03-12 16:35

Re: Installer menu GUI messed up. GPU error?

Postby hellvetica » 2017-03-12 23:27

bw123 wrote:which iso is 'stock debian'


The first one you get when you go to the Debian site's download page.
https://www.debian.org/distrib/
Code: Select all
debian-8.7.1-amd64-netinst
hellvetica
 
Posts: 26
Joined: 2017-03-12 16:35

Re: Installer menu GUI messed up. GPU error?

Postby hellvetica » 2017-03-15 18:43

I also tried the .iso with the non-free firmware packages including the ones for my radeon card. Same result
I tried turning off hybrid graphics in the BIOS. same result
hellvetica
 
Posts: 26
Joined: 2017-03-12 16:35

Previous

Return to Installation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: p.H and 5 guests

fashionable