New instsll cant get wlan up

Help with issues regarding installation of Debian

New instsll cant get wlan up

Postby Ialin2003 » 2017-11-07 12:04

Hello.
I have just installed https://cdimage.debian.org/debian-cd/cu ... etinst.iso
I installed it from hard disk ...

Now my problem is that i cant get wifi to start, during the install it wouldnt connect, failed at optaining the if ... Dhcp protocol.
I have no gui, no ifconfig , wpa-supplicant , Network-manager etc...
Ive setup /etc/network/interfaces with ssid and psk and no succes.
Ifup wlan0 fails to load firmware rt2860.bin ... I think this is the problem.
I have no access to wired internet to get additional files, what can i do ?

Thank you!
Ialin2003
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2017-11-07 11:50

Re: New instsll cant get wlan up

Postby arochester » 2017-11-07 20:14

You have tried to do a Netinstall when
i cant get wifi to start
and
I have no access to wired internet


...You can't install from the 'net when you can't connect to the 'net. ...

https://www.debian.org/releases/stable/ ... 04.html.en
"Something to be aware of: Debian is a core or source distribution. This means there are many Debian-based distributions. THEY ARE NOT DEBIAN."
arochester
 
Posts: 1109
Joined: 2010-12-07 19:55

Re: New instsll cant get wlan up

Postby sunrat » 2017-11-07 22:54

Ialin2003 wrote:...
Ifup wlan0 fails to load firmware rt2860.bin ... I think this is the problem.

I think this is the problem too. The Ralink wireless interface won't work without it. It is available in the Debian package firmware-ralink, or it may be easier to use the unofficial Debian installer which includes non-free firmware - https://cdimage.debian.org/cdimage/unof ... -firmware/
“ computer users can be divided into 2 categories:
Those who have lost data
...and those who have not lost data YET ”
Remember to BACKUP!
User avatar
sunrat
 
Posts: 2052
Joined: 2006-08-29 09:12
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: New instsll cant get wlan up

Postby stevepusser » 2017-11-08 02:33

Can't get it up? It happens to everyone sometimes.

Why do you think it's called firmware?
The MX Linux repositories: Backports galore! If we don't have something, just ask and we'll try--we like challenges. New packages: Krita 3.3.2.1, Pale Moon 27.6.0, Audacity 2.2.0, mpv 0.27.0, Corebird 1.7.1, Firefox 57.0, SMPlayer 17.11.2
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 8935
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53

Re: New instsll cant get wlan up

Postby debiman » 2017-11-08 04:57

stevepusser wrote:Can't get it up? It happens to everyone sometimes.

that was my first thought, too...
and
Why do you think it's called firmware?

gave me the giggles with my morning coffee.

lalin2003:
sorry, we're just joking.
follow sunrat's advice.

PS:
is your disk hard or floppy?
such a nice joke made obsolete!
User avatar
debiman
 
Posts: 1619
Joined: 2013-03-12 07:18

Re: New instsll cant get wlan up

Postby sunrat » 2017-11-08 05:41

debiman wrote:PS:
is your disk hard or floppy?
such a nice joke made obsolete!

Mine is solid state. Not obsolete. :wink:
“ computer users can be divided into 2 categories:
Those who have lost data
...and those who have not lost data YET ”
Remember to BACKUP!
User avatar
sunrat
 
Posts: 2052
Joined: 2006-08-29 09:12
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: New instsll cant get wlan up

Postby Ialin2003 » 2017-11-08 09:32

Netinstall kit failed to install firmware for NET instalation distro, that sounds wierd to me. " Hei, here is the netinst distro, but you wont get wireless firmware, enjoy ! "
Meeeeh!
Ialin2003
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2017-11-07 11:50

Re: New instsll cant get wlan up

Postby stevepusser » 2017-11-08 21:17

Debian does not provide non-free firmware on its standard ISO images because of its commitment to free software. It's a feature, not a bug.
The MX Linux repositories: Backports galore! If we don't have something, just ask and we'll try--we like challenges. New packages: Krita 3.3.2.1, Pale Moon 27.6.0, Audacity 2.2.0, mpv 0.27.0, Corebird 1.7.1, Firefox 57.0, SMPlayer 17.11.2
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 8935
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53

Re: New instsll cant get wlan up

Postby GarryRicketson » 2017-11-08 22:00

I down loaded the firmware packages and keep them on a USB stick, in a directory named "firmware", when the installer gets to that point, it finds the
device, and installs the appropriate firmware.
It does seem to be important to format the USB device, as MSdos, fat 32 first
before makeing the directory, and putting the firmware packages on it. If it is not properly formatted, the installer might not be able to read it.
I think the wiki explains this, but to be honest it has been so long, I don't remember any more.
But it also says about it here:
https://www.debian.org/releases/stable/amd64/ch06s04.html.en
If a device driver requests firmware that is not available, debian-installer will display a dialog offering to load the missing firmware. If this option is selected, debian-installer will scan available devices for either loose firmware files or packages containing firmware. If found, the firmware will be copied to the correct location (/lib/firmware) and the driver module will be reloaded.
[Note] Note

Which devices are scanned and which file systems are supported depends on the architecture, the installation method and the stage of the installation. Especially during the early stages of the installation, loading the firmware is most likely to succeed from a FAT-formatted floppy disk or USB stick. On i386 and amd64 firmware can also be loaded from an MMC or SD card.
User avatar
GarryRicketson
 
Posts: 4439
Joined: 2015-01-20 22:16
Location: Durango, Mexico


Return to Installation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: None1975 and 5 guests

fashionable