Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

 

 

 

Debian dualboot (WIN10) - can't install GRUB boot loader

Ask for help with issues regarding the Installations of the Debian O/S.
Post Reply
Message
Author
Sk1X1
Posts: 11
Joined: 2018-02-10 10:06

Debian dualboot (WIN10) - can't install GRUB boot loader

#1 Post by Sk1X1 »

Hello guys,
I wanted to give a try to Linux again. So I decided to install Debian next to my Win 10. I prepared harddrives in Win 10:

Disc 1 (SSD 850 EVO 250GB):
1 partition - Win 10
Disc 2 (SSD 850 EVO 500GB):
2 partitions with some data
3. partition for debian install
4. partition for swap

After some trouble with my flashdisk I finally get to installation. Debian is now installed on 3. partitions, but during the installation, GRUB bootloader failed:

Code: Select all

Executing 'grub-install dummy' failed
So I skip this step and after finishing install I reboot my PC. After reboot, Win 10 loaded correctly. After next reboot I hit F11 for Boot device selection. Now I have here next to Win 10 also Debian:
https://imgur.com/dZ5rQ2u

But when I selected debian, I will boot into this:
https://imgur.com/W4Mgpnr

Now I guess I should have register debian partition into GRUB. But I don't know how, can you give me some advice?
Thanks a lot

Wheelerof4te
Posts: 1454
Joined: 2015-08-30 20:14

Re: Debian dualboot (WIN10) - can't install GRUB boot loader

#2 Post by Wheelerof4te »

You have 2 SSDs, one is 250 GB, the other 500 GB. You have attempted to install Grub on the one with Windows (250GB) instead of the one where is Debian (500 GB). When you have 2 separate disks, it is easy to dual boot. Just make sure you install Debian and Grub on the right disk (the 500 GB one). Windows will boot fine on it's own disk without Grub (since it's UEFI system).

To fix the Grub issue, boot some live media and execute

Code: Select all

grub-install /dev/sxx
where "sxx" is the correct first partition (disk) of your Debian system. Afterwards, reboot.

Sk1X1
Posts: 11
Joined: 2018-02-10 10:06

Re: Debian dualboot (WIN10) - can't install GRUB boot loader

#3 Post by Sk1X1 »

Thanks for reply.

I can boot into debian, when I use these commands:

Code: Select all

set root=(hd6,gpt3)
linux /boot/vmlinuz-4.0.9.5-amd64 root=/dev/sde3
initrd /boot/initrd-4.0.9.5-amd64
boot
So I booted inside installed debian a tried to use

Code: Select all

grub-install /dev/sde3
Command reported succesfull installation with no error. But after reboot nothing change. I still have debian on 250GB disc in device list to boot.
Did I use command wrong?

Wheelerof4te
Posts: 1454
Joined: 2015-08-30 20:14

Re: Debian dualboot (WIN10) - can't install GRUB boot loader

#4 Post by Wheelerof4te »

See this page:
https://wiki.debian.org/GrubEFIReinstall
If debian is installed in efi mode, maybe you need to use grub-efi.
If not, try the above solution with grub-install, but after that update grub with:

Code: Select all

update-grub
Also, give us your correct partition scheme:

Code: Select all

fdisk -l

p.H
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 3049
Joined: 2017-09-17 07:12
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 132 times

Re: Debian dualboot (WIN10) - can't install GRUB boot loader

#5 Post by p.H »

The second picture suggests that GRUB EFI started but could not find /boot/grub/grub.cfg needed to display the boot menu.
Maybe the error during the installation aborted the installation of GRUB before the creation of the file. update-grub should indeed create it.

Could you also report the output of

Code: Select all

efibootmgr

Sk1X1
Posts: 11
Joined: 2018-02-10 10:06

Re: Debian dualboot (WIN10) - can't install GRUB boot loader

#6 Post by Sk1X1 »

Thanks for help guys. I tried

Code: Select all

update-grub
, with it grub.conf was created and filled with right information. Now I can select debian and GRUB appear.
Thanks!

Post Reply