Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

Has anyone "upgraded" from PointLinux (jessie) to stretch

Ask for help with issues regarding the Installations of the Debian O/S.
gulbrain

Has anyone "upgraded" from PointLinux (jessie) to stretch

#1 Post by gulbrain »

Hi forum,

I'm new to this, but have been using PointLinux with MATE for a while, keeping it up to date manually with Synaptic Package Manager.

I want to address Spectre and Meltdown on my home PC and it looks like I need to move to a proper Debian, rather than sticking with pointlinux - built on jessie.

There are other niggles that I'm hoping will be fixed by using the latest OS.

I just wondered if anyone had tried a similar upgrade and run into any gotchas. I couldn't see anything pertinent in the documentation, but I may not have been looking for the right words.

I am trying it out on an old laptop first to get the process described and run through in a fashion I can understand. I've already run into a couple of things that I believe I've worked around OK - mostly around configuring sources.list.

If anyone could suggest a summary of the process they would recommend or a good resource for researching this sort of thing, that would be great.

Thank you all,
Tim

arochester
Emeritus
Emeritus

Re: Has anyone "upgraded" from PointLinux (jessie) to stretc

#2 Post by arochester »

Not Debian then.

Have you tried the Point Linux Forums? >>> http://forums.pointlinux.org/

gulbrain

#3 Post by gulbrain »