GRUB Dummy Failed

Help with issues regarding installation of Debian

GRUB Dummy Failed

Postby robpom » 2018-04-05 18:22

Surface Pro 3

I am trying out how different distros work. I installed Fedora 27 - no issues. I installed Ubuntu 17.10 - no issues.

I then tried Debian and got the error stating that Grub is unable to install in dummy.

Now......any version of Linux (Fedora, Kali, Ubuntu, Debian) is giving me the same error.

Help! What happened? How can I fix it so I can start over - install Debian 9 and it will work.
robpom
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2018-04-05 18:06

Re: GRUB Dummy Failed

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2018-04-05 18:50

OK, wild guess: you tried to install a non-UEFI system to a disk with an GUID partition table.

GRUB needs a BIOS boot partition for that, you can post the output of `parted --list` (from any distribution or live environment) so we can see for sure

EDIT: I got confused :oops:
"Only the mediocre are always at their best." — Jean Giraudoux
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 7413
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: GRUB Dummy Failed

Postby robpom » 2018-04-05 18:53

Thanks. Will investigate more when I get home.

I am still curious why it worked a few times.....then stopped working.
robpom
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2018-04-05 18:06

Re: GRUB Dummy Failed

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2018-04-05 18:55

Did you boot in UEFI mode when you ran the installer?
"Only the mediocre are always at their best." — Jean Giraudoux
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 7413
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: GRUB Dummy Failed

Postby robpom » 2018-04-05 18:57

Didn't change anything in the BIOS between installs.
robpom
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2018-04-05 18:06

Re: GRUB Dummy Failed

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2018-04-05 19:00

Well can you confirm for sure whether or not "Legacy" mode (also known as "CSM") was enabled?

Firmware can be flaky, mine changes settings all the time without so much as a by-your-leave :roll:
"Only the mediocre are always at their best." — Jean Giraudoux
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 7413
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: GRUB Dummy Failed

Postby robpom » 2018-04-05 19:08

I will check.....but on the Surface Pro 3......I don't recall that as being a setting. There are not many settings you can change.
robpom
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2018-04-05 18:06

Re: GRUB Dummy Failed

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2018-04-05 19:14

"Only the mediocre are always at their best." — Jean Giraudoux
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 7413
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: GRUB Dummy Failed

Postby p.H » 2018-04-05 21:01

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:Did you boot in UEFI mode when you ran the installer?

Of course. "dummy" means that the installer tries to install GRUB in EFI mode.

It could be a efibootmgr or UEFI firmware bug : after a number of successful writes into the NVRAM which contains the EFI boot variables, subsequent writes fail. I have observed this on a couple of machines. Resetting the firmware may solve the issue.

If there is no other system (no multiboot), I would suggest to give up with EFI boot entries and install GRUB into the removable device path.

Code: Select all
grub-install --removable
p.H
 
Posts: 343
Joined: 2017-09-17 07:12


Return to Installation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests

fashionable