New User and Installation Radeon Graphics Resolution

Help with issues regarding installation of Debian

New User and Installation Radeon Graphics Resolution

Postby Budgie » 2018-04-12 15:34

I am running a brand new installation of Debian 9 on a machine with a built in graphics adapter.

Here is the result of running lspci:-

Code: Select all
alastair@x3400debian:~$ lspci -nn | grep VGA
15:00.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Caicos [Radeon HD 6450/7450/8450 / R5 230 OEM] [1002:6779]
alastair@x3400debian:~$


My problem is that I can only get one resolution which is 800 x 600 which seems to be the default.
AFAIK I have the right non-free packages installed but how may I change the resolution please?

xrandr seems to tell me that the hardware info is not being picked up:-

Code: Select all
alastair@x3400debian:~$ xrandr
xrandr: Failed to get size of gamma for output default
Screen 0: minimum 800 x 600, current 800 x 600, maximum 800 x 600
default connected primary 800x600+0+0 0mm x 0mm
   800x600       75.00*
alastair@x3400debian:~$

Possible as I am working remotely through a kvm switch but I do not have this problem with another machine with the same setup but different OS.
Budgie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 2007-06-17 14:50

Re: New User and Installation Radeon Graphics Resolution

Postby bw123 » 2018-04-12 16:38

I would probably start by looking up the specific model kvm with the word debian or xorg and see if there is a simple solution. If not, maybe you can supply the monitor info to the xsrver another way.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/KVM_switch#Monitor
User avatar
bw123
 
Posts: 3271
Joined: 2011-05-09 06:02
Location: TN_USA

Re: New User and Installation Radeon Graphics Resolution

Postby Segfault » 2018-04-12 17:37

It is also possible the AMD driver is not loaded for some reason and you are using fallback video driver.
Segfault
 
Posts: 699
Joined: 2005-09-24 12:24

Re: New User and Installation Radeon Graphics Resolution

Postby stevepusser » 2018-04-12 19:11

AMD graphics require the non-free firmware-amd-graphics package, which the normal Debian ISO does not install.

https://wiki.debian.org/AtiHowTo#Firmware

Note that many find it easier to just download and install the firmware deb file manually with dpkg than to add the non-free repository, update, and install the package through the Net.
The MX Linux repositories: Backports galore! If we don't have something, just ask and we'll try--we like challenges. New packages: GIMP 2.10.6, Pale Moon 28.1.0, wine-staging 3.16, qBittorrent 4.1.3, Linux kernel 4.18.8, virtualbox 5.2.18
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 9906
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53

Re: New User and Installation Radeon Graphics Resolution

Postby Budgie » 2018-04-12 21:48

bw123 wrote:I would probably start by looking up the specific model kvm with the word debian or xorg and see if there is a simple solution. If not, maybe you can supply the monitor info to the xsrver another way.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/KVM_switch#Monitor


Hi and thanks for the suggestion. Unfortunately it is not that simple because I have KVM and then switch for four machines. The other machines are working correctly so I am sure it is something in the way I have Debian set up. Since this is my first day with Debian I am still finding my way around.
Budgie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 2007-06-17 14:50

Re: New User and Installation Radeon Graphics Resolution

Postby Budgie » 2018-04-12 21:50

stevepusser wrote:AMD graphics require the non-free firmware-amd-graphics package, which the normal Debian ISO does not install.

https://wiki.debian.org/AtiHowTo#Firmware

Note that many find it easier to just download and install the firmware deb file manually with dpkg than to add the non-free repository, update, and install the package through the Net.


Hi Steve and thanks for the reply. As I put in my post, I have the non-free stuff installed already but must have configuration wrong.
Budgie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 2007-06-17 14:50

Re: New User and Installation Radeon Graphics Resolution

Postby Budgie » 2018-04-12 23:04

Thanks to journalctl -b I found the problem. Although I have the right source repos the radeon graphics adapter I have requires 'firmware-amd-graphics' to be installed. Once done all is OK so will close this thread.
Budgie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 2007-06-17 14:50


Return to Installation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests

fashionable