Laptop Install Command Line With Networking Only

Help with issues regarding installation of Debian

Laptop Install Command Line With Networking Only

Postby Pear » 2018-06-09 16:04

I'd like to end up with a laptop with command line and networking only.

Simply using the netinst iso gives me an ACPI error (works if I add a desktop, but that's not what I want).

Can anyone help? I need detailed instruction.
Pear
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 2018-06-09 15:47

Re: Laptop Install Command Line With Networking Only

Postby Wheelerof4te » 2018-06-09 16:14

The only way to get CLI in Debian is to use a netinstall, and pick only standard system utilities during software selection (tasksel) phase.
User avatar
Wheelerof4te
 
Posts: 999
Joined: 2015-08-30 20:14

Re: Laptop Install Command Line With Networking Only

Postby arochester » 2018-06-09 16:19

ACPI errors suggest your problem is, not with Linux, but with your BIOS.

1) What is the MAKE and MODEL of your laptop? Is there an updated BIOS available
2) What exactly are the errors?
3) WHEN do these errors occur? Can you just ignore them? Have you completed the netinstall?
arochester
 
Posts: 1252
Joined: 2010-12-07 19:55

Re: Laptop Install Command Line With Networking Only

Postby Pear » 2018-06-09 16:23

Thanks for responding..

..That's what I've tried - it gives an ACPI error, I never get to the command line.

If I add a desktop, it works.

I can add the desktop stuff I want in tasksel with a preseed - if I knew how - but I can't get the USB to work and there aren't any clear instructions on creating a modified (preseed.cfg) usb anywhere. Everything I'm trying is failing.

..So I'd like to just use netinst with standard utilities and end up at the command line (no desktop) - shouldn't that be possible without the ACPI error?
Pear
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 2018-06-09 15:47

Re: Laptop Install Command Line With Networking Only

Postby Pear » 2018-06-09 16:25

arochester wrote:ACPI errors suggest your problem is, not with Linux, but with your BIOS.

1) What is the MAKE and MODEL of your laptop? Is there an updated BIOS available
2) What exactly are the errors?
3) WHEN do these errors occur? Can you just ignore them? Have you completed the netinstall?



It's an HP split 13.

I don't have the exact errors without going back through the install I know will fail...

..but the errors are something like:
ACPI error
No ramdisk found (?) Cannot load initrd.gz.

I can't ignore the error because it drops me to initramfs with a limited shell - so I can't wget etc..


-----
Edit to add - I've tried all BIOS settings. Straight netinst dd'd over to usb works on UEFI, it also works in legacy. Note that "works" means it loads - doing the install does not get me to a CLI.

Also I've tried with boot param acpi=off
Pear
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 2018-06-09 15:47

Re: Laptop Install Command Line With Networking Only

Postby arochester » 2018-06-09 16:35

Also I've tried with boot param acpi=off


Have you also tried
Code: Select all
noapic
arochester
 
Posts: 1252
Joined: 2010-12-07 19:55

Re: Laptop Install Command Line With Networking Only

Postby Pear » 2018-06-09 16:40

arochester wrote:
Also I've tried with boot param acpi=off


Have you also tried
Code: Select all
noapic


Probably, sorry - I've been trying for days and days and days...

I'm going back through the install now to test - but now the dd isn't working on the USB...

awesome
Pear
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 2018-06-09 15:47

Re: Laptop Install Command Line With Networking Only

Postby Pear » 2018-06-09 17:33

Got it to load the command line, wouldn't work with dd, had to use unetbootin.

At the command line, I have no networking.

The installing has connectivity (have to add firmware for wireless).

After install, no networking.

I added the wifi and pass to /etc/network/interfaces, then tried service networking restart..

..nothing.

Anyone know how to get networking up?
Pear
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 2018-06-09 15:47

Re: Laptop Install Command Line With Networking Only

Postby Wheelerof4te » 2018-06-09 17:44

Install the required firmware.
Code: Select all
lspci -nn

Find the correct firmware package in the non-free repo for your card/chip, and install it with apt.
User avatar
Wheelerof4te
 
Posts: 999
Joined: 2015-08-30 20:14

Re: Laptop Install Command Line With Networking Only

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2018-06-09 17:46

Pear wrote:wouldn't work with dd, had to use unetbootin

You should re-install immediately, unetbootin does *not* work with the current Debian ISO images, search bugs.debian.org if you doubt me.

A netinstall should connect wirelessly just fine without a GUI, that is how I usually install Debian.

I suspect your USB stick is bad — did you try copying the image back and doing a sha512sum comparison with the original file to eliminate this?

Have you added the non-free firmware to your installed system?

I don't think it's added by the installer if you decline to select a mirror but I may be imagining that.

Can we please see the output of
Code: Select all
ip link
"Il semble que la perfection soit atteinte non quand il n'y a plus rien à ajouter, mais quand il n'y a plus rien à retrancher."
— Antoine de Saint Exupéry, Terre des Hommes (1939).
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 7565
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: Laptop Install Command Line With Networking Only

Postby Pear » 2018-06-09 19:39

I had to add the wifi firmware for the installation to even start.

It connects during the install - after the install it does not connect.

The USB as hardware does not have an issue.


If you know how to make the USB without unetbootin, would you mind telling me? The tutorials I'm finding don't work for me... ..keep in mind I have to modify the image to add the firmware.
Pear
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 2018-06-09 15:47

Re: Laptop Install Command Line With Networking Only

Postby Pear » 2018-06-09 19:44

Output of "ip link"

1: lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP>mtu 65536 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN mode DEFAULT group default qlen 1 link/loopback 00:00:00:00:00:00:00
2: wlp7s0: <BRODCAST,MULTICAST> MTU 1500 qdisc noop state DOWN mode DEFAULT group default qlen 1000 link/ether 0c:8b:fd:56:7d:3d brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff


"/etc/network/interface"

source /etc/network/interfaces.d/*
# The loopback network interface

auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

auto wlan0
iface wlan0 inet dhcp
dns-nameservers 8.8.4.4
wpa-ssid XXXXXXXXXX
wpa-psk xxxxxxxxxxxx
Pear
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 2018-06-09 15:47


Re: Laptop Install Command Line With Networking Only

Postby Pear » 2018-06-09 21:09

arochester wrote:Is this now relevant? https://www.blackmoreops.com/2014/09/18 ... -in-linux/


Probably?

The only way I get to command line is with a unetbootin made USB. Which I was told to immediately reinstall - but they didn't say how to make the USB with wifi firmware added - so I'm back to unetbootin.

So... I can try your advice to work with the wifi - but it's a unetbootin install - so I'm hosed from the get-go.


For today's session - I've been at this since 5:30 am. It's now 4:53 pm - another 12 hours wasted - in a string of days... ..it shouldn't be this hard - there's something I'm missing and I figured someone here would know what that is..


Can any one tell me how to install a laptop with command line and networking only?

Surely I'm not the only one that's attempted it.
Pear
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 2018-06-09 15:47

Re: Laptop Install Command Line With Networking Only

Postby arochester » 2018-06-09 21:31

Can any one tell me how to install a laptop with command line and networking only?


You could download the unofficial netinstall that already has the non-free firmware installed . Choose iso.cd. >>> https://cdimage.debian.org/cdimage/unof ... ree/amd64/

You can put it on a USB stick through a variety of means, depending where you are installing from. Remeber NOT to use unetbootin. I like Etcher, which is cross platform >>> https://etcher.io/

The dd command also works fine >>> https://www.cio.com/article/3096786/lin ... stros.html
arochester
 
Posts: 1252
Joined: 2010-12-07 19:55

Next

Return to Installation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bolo and 3 guests

fashionable