Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

Newbie issues

Ask for help with issues regarding the Installations of the Debian O/S.
Vector

Newbie issues

#1 Post by Vector »

Greetings,

I'm new to Linux/Debian, and need some help. I tested my system prior to install with Kanotix and Ubuntu live CD's. Everything worked fine, no problems.

I did a netinstall with Debian, the system is stable, but I have a few issues.
After installing zip, I'm unable to use it. I get a error that says "zip not installed on this path."

Kooka won't recognize my scanner, it did fine on the live CD's. My USB ports seem not to be working, perhaps a permissions issue?

Same with my printer, it's USB, worked fine before, but no luck now.

Finally, I've tried to install Java runtime, but can't seem to get it to work.

Can anyone help?

Thanks in advance,

Ed

Harold

#2 Post by Harold »

To get Java up & running, add the following line to etc/apt/sources.list:
deb http://www.tux.org/pub/java/debian/ sarge non-free
Then apt-get update && apt-get install j2re1.4

Vector> I get a error that says "zip not installed on this path."

Please post the appropriate line from /etc/fstab and tell us what command you are using to try to access the zip drive. How is your zip drive connected to your computer?

jobezone

Re: Newbie issues

#3 Post by jobezone »

Vector wrote: Kooka won't recognize my scanner, it did fine on the live CD's. My USB ports seem not to be working, perhaps a permissions issue?