cant get network working with installer

Help with issues regarding installation of Debian

cant get network working with installer

Postby ek4 » 2018-08-15 21:50

I am installing from a mini.iso and loading ipw2200-bss.fw and the installer keeps on asking me to select a network and give it the password. The network I am trying to use uses wpa/wpa2.
ek4
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2018-08-15 21:30

Re: cant get network working with installer

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2018-08-16 05:14

There are unofficial non-free images available, perhaps use those instead?

Otherwise please post exactly how you are "loading ipw2200-bss.fw" because you may have done it wrong.
I suffer from depression and may lash out occasionally, try not to take it personally.
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 8175
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: cant get network working with installer

Postby ek4 » 2018-08-16 12:37

Its not the firmware the firmwares fine. Its something to do with authentication but I dint know what.
ek4
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2018-08-15 21:30

Re: cant get network working with installer

Postby GarryRicketson » 2018-08-16 12:57

give it the password

Are you sure you are using the right password ?
The network I am trying to use uses wpa/wpa2.

wpa/wpa2 require password to use .
==== edit ====
I have found that for installation purposes, it is easier to change my router settings, and instead of using wpa2, select the "open (none) " option, this makes it where no password is needed, later after the installation is done, I set the router back to a more secure setting, "wpa2-PSK",
Of course if this is not your network, I mean, if you are not the network admin, then that is not a option.
User avatar
GarryRicketson
 
Posts: 5166
Joined: 2015-01-20 22:16
Location: Durango, Mexico

Re: cant get network working with installer

Postby arochester » 2018-08-16 13:12

loading ipw2200-bss.fw
???

Code: Select all
apt install firmware-ipw2x00
???
arochester
 
Posts: 1335
Joined: 2010-12-07 19:55

Re: cant get network working with installer

Postby arzgi » 2018-08-16 13:32

ek4 wrote:Its not the firmware the firmwares fine. Its something to do with authentication but I dint know what.


My receipt for wifi:

1. Install wpasupplicant
2. edit /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf:
Code: Select all
network={
ssid="networks SSID"
psk=password
}

3. change above wpa_supplicant,conf rights, that it is only readable for root:
Code: Select all
(as root): chmod 400 /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf

And it must look like this:
Code: Select all
-r-------- 1 root root 95 maali 11 12:31 /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf

4. test:
Code: Select all
(as root) wpa_supplicant -iwlan0 -c/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf

Here -i is the interface, wlan0 in this example, and -c is the configuration file. If that works, I put to /etc/network/interfaces this chunk:
Code: Select all
iface wlan0 inet dhcp
    up /sbin/wpa_supplicant -B -iwlan0 -c/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf
    up dhclient wlan0

Installer added that last line, I'm not sure if it is needed, but it works, so I did not bother testing without.
My wifi uses WPA2.

This approach works only with traditional ifupdown. I do not use network-manager or any gui-apps to make things worse. Has worked.

EDIT: After posting read the subject again, and this I just wrote is not relevant to installation. But might give some advice to later phase, if wifi is not working.
arzgi
 
Posts: 389
Joined: 2008-02-21 17:03
Location: Finland

Re: cant get network working with installer

Postby debiman » 2018-08-18 08:26

2 previous posters:
as per op, this is during installation.

my thougths:
- if the router is nearby, use a wired connection during installation
- or disable encryption for the duration of installation
- or use an installation image that already includes the required firmware
User avatar
debiman
 
Posts: 3027
Joined: 2013-03-12 07:18


Return to Installation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Treehugger and 6 guests

fashionable