[SOLVED] Xfce testing login not possible

Help with issues regarding installation of Debian

[SOLVED] Xfce testing login not possible

Postby kalle123 » 2018-08-22 14:01

Think of having a look at testing with xfce, did the following steps on a free hdd here.

- netinstall iso installation with only print server and standard system utilities selected
- sources.list: stretch changed to testing
- apt update, upgrade and dist-upgrade
- reboot
- apt install xfce4
- reboot
- trying to login as user, loop back to login :(
- apt install lxde
- reboot
- login lxde as user, works!
- reboot
- trying to login as user, loop back to login :(

Tried with picking an iso "fresh testing weekly" with xfce. Same effect.

What's wrong with xfce on testing??

br
Last edited by kalle123 on 2018-08-23 16:58, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
kalle123
 
Posts: 203
Joined: 2015-03-21 11:17
Location: Rhineland - Germany

Re: Xfce testing login not possible

Postby Dai_trying » 2018-08-22 14:16

I use the Buster installation image for my "testing" installs and do not have the issue you are seeing, the current version is debian-buster-DI-alpha3-amd64-xfce-CD-1.iso and can be found here. There is also a netinst version if that is your preference but I have only used the Xfce disc myself.
Dai_trying
 
Posts: 557
Joined: 2016-01-07 12:25

Re: Xfce testing login not possible

Postby kalle123 » 2018-08-22 14:34

Loading "debian-buster-DI-alpha3-amd64-xfce-CD-1.iso" and shall give it a try ... :wink:

What puzzles me is, that it works with lxde (and tried gnome also), only xfce hangs ....
User avatar
kalle123
 
Posts: 203
Joined: 2015-03-21 11:17
Location: Rhineland - Germany

Re: Xfce testing login not possible

Postby kalle123 » 2018-08-22 16:16

Same behaviour with "debian-buster-DI-alpha3-amd64-xfce-CD-1.iso"

Login screen goes in a loop. Bet, that when I do a "apt install lxde or gnome", those desktops can be activated.

PS. Took the harddisk to an quite old machine here. Plugged it in and ..... LOGIN OK, xfce working.

So should be a hardware thing, but where to look for?

That is the hardware, which causes that trouble

Code: Select all
~ $ inxi -zF
System:    Host: nostromo Kernel: 4.4.0-133-generic x86_64 (64 bit) Desktop: Xfce 4.12.3
           Distro: Linux Mint 18.3 Sylvia
Machine:   Mobo: ASUSTeK model: P5QL v: Rev X.0x Bios: American Megatrends v: 0610 date: 04/08/2009
CPU:       Dual core Intel Core2 Duo E6750 (-MCP-) cache: 4096 KB
           clock speeds: max: 2670 MHz 1: 2336 MHz 2: 2336 MHz
Graphics:  Card: NVIDIA GF108 [GeForce GT 730]
           Display Server: X.Org 1.18.4 driver: nvidia Resolution: 1680x1050@59.88hz
           GLX Renderer: GeForce GT 730/PCIe/SSE2 GLX Version: 4.5.0 NVIDIA 384.130
Audio:     Card-1 NVIDIA GF108 High Definition Audio Controller driver: snd_hda_intel
           Card-2 Intel 82801JI (ICH10 Family) HD Audio Controller driver: snd_hda_intel
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.4.0-133-generic
Network:   Card: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller driver: r8169
           IF: enp2s0 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 2310.5GB (9.8% used) ID-1: /dev/sda model: Corsair_Force_LS size: 60.0GB
           ID-2: /dev/sdb model: WDC_WD20EZRZ size: 2000.4GB ID-3: /dev/sdc model: ST3250820AS size: 250.1GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 46G used: 8.8G (21%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda1
           ID-2: /tmp size: 9.1G used: 21M (1%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sdb5
           ID-3: /home size: 871G used: 194G (24%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sdb1
           ID-4: swap-1 size: 10.00GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sdb6
RAID:      No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 34.0C mobo: 38.0C gpu: 44C
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: 1171 psu: 0 sys-1: 0
Info:      Processes: 183 Uptime: 53 min Memory: 737.9/7982.8MB Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.2.35
User avatar
kalle123
 
Posts: 203
Joined: 2015-03-21 11:17
Location: Rhineland - Germany

Re: Xfce testing login not possible

Postby Dai_trying » 2018-08-22 18:07

I cant say what might be causing the issue but I noticed you have the proprietary Nvidia driver loaded in your Mint install and was wondering if you had that installed in your Debian install?
Dai_trying
 
Posts: 557
Joined: 2016-01-07 12:25

Re: Xfce testing login not possible

Postby kalle123 » 2018-08-23 07:11

There is something not ok with testing + xfce.

Found that post this morning

https://forum.xfce.org/viewtopic.php?id=12397
User avatar
kalle123
 
Posts: 203
Joined: 2015-03-21 11:17
Location: Rhineland - Germany

Re: Xfce testing login not possible

Postby Dai_trying » 2018-08-23 14:16

I still wonder if it could be due to not having the Nvidia Driver installed, I did have an issue when using nouveau driver with Buster but I was just running a few tests of another problem so did not look further into it. If I get time I will install Buster again and see if I have the same issue you are seeing.

It would be nice to know if you had installed the Nvidia driver though...
Dai_trying
 
Posts: 557
Joined: 2016-01-07 12:25

Re: Xfce testing login not possible

Postby kalle123 » 2018-08-23 16:57

Yes. Installation of nvidia-legacy-340xx did it.

There was still that pause between greeter and desktop, but that could be solved by installing "haveged".

br
User avatar
kalle123
 
Posts: 203
Joined: 2015-03-21 11:17
Location: Rhineland - Germany


Return to Installation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

fashionable