Debian won't boot because of ACPI errors

Help with issues regarding installation of Debian

Debian won't boot because of ACPI errors

Postby Dfahwuehhwhe » 2020-04-16 18:30

Hi, I'm new to debian and linux itself so I'm quite confused by everything. I had some issues with instalation process but at the end I finally got lucky and booted to GNU/GRUB v2.02. Everything was ok till this moment because my keyboard stoped responding but after a few reboots it finally started to respond, so I hit enter on the first selection and 4 Acpi errors popped out, I found out that it was common and I just need to add "noacpi" or "acpi=off" to /boot/grub/grub.conf but I cannot boot to neither tty nor gui because I'm stuck in grub without any way to boot in any kind of environment (after errors appear nothing is going on) so I have no Idea what to do! I'm doing it on my tablet with x64 intel atom (I don't remember exactly witch one) and I'm using live-cd version of debian.
Those errors I'm stuck on:

[2.990208] ACPI Error: No handler for Region [MIFG] (0000000057fcadbb) [GeneralSerialBus] (20180810/evregion-132)
[2.990323] ACPI Error: Region GenericSerialBus (ID=9) has no handler (20180810/exfldio-265)
[2.990407] ACPI Error: Method prase/execution failed \_SB.PCIO.I2C7.BATC.INTF, AE_NOT_EXIST (20180810/psparase-516)
[2.990509] ACPI Error: Method prase/execution failed \_SB.GPO3._E34, AE_NOT_EXIST (20180810/psparase-516)

Installer won't recognize my internet card so I don't have any internet in my machine...

Thanks for any help/advice
--Andrew

Sorry for my terrible English, I'm only learning it!
Dfahwuehhwhe
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2020-04-16 17:29

Re: Debian won't boot because of ACPI errors

Postby pylkko » 2020-04-23 07:04

If the installer does not recognize your wifi card, it is likely because your card requires non-free firmware, so you need to install that.
User avatar
pylkko
 
Posts: 1793
Joined: 2014-11-06 19:02

Re: Debian won't boot because of ACPI errors

Postby Bloom » 2020-04-23 07:19

Use this version of Debian for your install: http://cdimage.debian.org/mirror/cdimag ... so-hybrid/
Furthermore, do yourself a favor and never install any operating system via wifi. Always use a cable.
User avatar
Bloom
 
Posts: 304
Joined: 2017-11-11 12:23

Re: Debian won't boot because of ACPI errors

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2020-04-23 09:02

Does adding 4 as a kernel command line parameter get you to a console screen? Have you tried the nomodeset kernel parameter? You may also need i915.modeset=0 for Intel cards.
Black Lives Matter

Debian buster-backports ISO image: for new hardware support
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 12821
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: Debian won't boot because of ACPI errors

Postby Dfahwuehhwhe » 2020-04-23 09:27

Well, I don't know how to do it and also I'm using broadcom wifi adapter.
Dfahwuehhwhe
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2020-04-16 17:29

Re: Debian won't boot because of ACPI errors

Postby arochester » 2020-04-23 10:20

Русскоязычное сообщество Debian GNU/Linux - https://debianforum.ru/
arochester
 
Posts: 1785
Joined: 2010-12-07 19:55

Re: Debian won't boot because of ACPI errors

Postby Dfahwuehhwhe » 2020-04-23 12:02

Bloom wrote:Use this version of Debian for your install: http://cdimage.debian.org/mirror/cdimag ... so-hybrid/
Furthermore, do yourself a favor and never install any operating system via wifi. Always use a cable.


No luck with that one either. But it seems like there's something with my cable or hardware because Installing gives an Error while trying to read from usb.
Dfahwuehhwhe
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2020-04-16 17:29

Re: Debian won't boot because of ACPI errors

Postby Bloom » 2020-04-23 12:24

That error means the system can't read your usb stick properly. What software and/or what command did you use to copy the iso file to an usb stick?
User avatar
Bloom
 
Posts: 304
Joined: 2017-11-11 12:23

Re: Debian won't boot because of ACPI errors

Postby Dfahwuehhwhe » 2020-04-23 12:27

Bloom wrote:That error means the system can't read your usb stick properly. What software and/or what command did you use to copy the iso file to an usb stick?


Rufus 3.9
Dfahwuehhwhe
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2020-04-16 17:29


Return to Installation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests

fashionable