Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

Installing the latest debian distribution

Ask for help with issues regarding the Installations of the Debian O/S.
DashFischer

Installing the latest debian distribution

#1 Post by DashFischer »

Hi all,

linux newbie here.

I have a squeeze distrib.(1) installed on an old vaio(2) and I'd like to upgrade
it to the latest debian distrib, if that makes sense.

I've followed some online guidelines but without success.

Is there someone available to guide me through the steps?

If you need more info let me know.

(1) squeeze 6.0.10, kernel 2.6.32-5-686
(2) pentium m730 1.6GHz, 512 MB and 60 GB

Thanks

--Dash

Bloom
df -h | grep > 90TiB
df -h | grep > 90TiB

Re: Installing the latest debian distribution

#2 Post by Bloom »

1. Backup your home directory.
2. Using a live usb stick, repartition your hard drive to use a separate /home partition.
3. Restore your home directory backup into that /home partition
4. Now you can do a fresh install of the latest Debian (using the aforementioned live usb stick) while retaining your current desktop configuration. You will need to install packages again if they're not part of the standard installation.

Location of current Debian Stable with non-free firmware and closed-source packages (usually needed for laptops): http://cdimage.debian.org/mirror/cdimag ... rent-live/
and pick the iso of the desktop environment you would like to have.