Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

efi file format not available on install

Ask for help with issues regarding the Installations of the Debian O/S.
sodcore

efi file format not available on install

#1 Post by sodcore »

I am a experienced Debian operator, however new to efi. just starting to work with it.
I am currently trying to install my system with efi boot.
When I downloaded the Debian 10.ISO file and used for install, it initially let me select efi file format from the list when manually partitioning disks.
However, all of a sudden it is not available.
I can not figure out why.
I am changing to efi boot because I may want a drive that is larger then 2 terabytes and also I am trying the run oracle VM and having a lot of trouble About EFI BOOT, when I try to run my virtual machine.
At any rate does anybody know why efi is not available?
I have been working on this for days and have done a lot of searching on google about efi and installing it.
Thanks,
Donald

cuckooflew

Re: efi file format not available on install

#2 Post by cuckooflew »

Did you see this when you did your searches ?
From: https://wiki.debian.org/GrubEFIReinstallProblem2: EFI boot entries disappear after reboot

The uefi firmware did not create a proper boot entry in NVRAM. This has been seen in a Lenovo Thinkcenter M92Z. The symptom for this will be a missing HD path after the debian entry in the efibootmgr --verbose output. --- read the entire page---
I suggest at least trying this, but I am no expert at all, and since yours is a VM, I can see how it may need a different approach,..
I am trying the run oracle VM and having a lot of trouble About EFI BOOT, when I try to run my virtual machine.