Don't see Ethernet cards [SOLVED]

Help with issues regarding installation of Debian

Don't see Ethernet cards [SOLVED]

Postby Raymond Day » 2020-12-26 12:29

I have Ubuntu server install in this Toshiba Magnia SG30 has a 32 bit CPU. So wanted to install Debian server on it. I can with a USB to CD ROM drive and put a video card in its slot with a wide ribbon cable. So I can put the top board back on that has the hard drives and 8 Ethernet ports.

Debian I read still supports 32 bit so wanted to use it. But it can't find the 2 built in Ethernet drivers. When running on Ubuntu server 18.04.4 the last 32 bit one it auto seen both Ethernet on it. But Debian don't.

They are:

Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation 8255xER/82551IT Fast Ethernet Controller

Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8100/8101L/8139 PCI Fast Ethernet Adapter

Looked on Google over a hours trying to find what commands to install them. I put a USB to Ethernet on it so I could do that.

But nothing worked. So I put the Ubuntu drives back in it.

I still have the drive installed Debian server on any way to install the Ethernet drivers on it?

Seen if adding non free to the sources.list would add the Ethernet drives but still says no new upgrades. I just changed the sources.list back how it was.

-Raymond Day
Last edited by Raymond Day on 2020-12-29 19:47, edited 1 time in total.
Raymond Day
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 2020-12-25 15:23

Re: Don't see Ethernet cards

Postby p.H » 2020-12-26 13:13

What do the following commands show on Debian and Ubuntu ?
Code: Select all
lspci -nnk
dmesg | egrep "e100|8139"

The Intel controller should be managed by the "e100" module and may need firmwares from firmware-misc-nonfree.
The Realtek controller should be managed by the "8139too" module and needs no firmware.
Both are included in the Debian installer.
p.H
 
Posts: 1609
Joined: 2017-09-17 07:12

Re: Don't see Ethernet cards

Postby Raymond Day » 2020-12-26 13:39

Was looking down on this forum and seen some commands I did some and it seemed to at least see the Ethernets with "ifconfig -a".

Mostly did this:

Code: Select all
root@sg30:~# ip link
1: lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 65536 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN mode DEFAULT group default qlen 1000
    link/loopback 00:00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00
2: enp0s8: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc pfifo_fast state UNKNOWN mode DEFAULT group default qlen 1000
    link/ether 00:10:c6:1f:5a:b3 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
3: enp0s9: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST> mtu 1500 qdisc noop state DOWN mode DEFAULT group default qlen 1000
    link/ether 00:10:c6:1f:5a:b2 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
4: enx48f8b32b2ad8: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc pfifo_fast state UP mode DEFAULT group default qlen 1000
    link/ether 48:f8:b3:2b:2a:d8 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
root@sg30:~#


Code: Select all
ip link set dev enp0s8 up
ip link set dev enp0s9 up


Did your commands and this is what I got back.

Code: Select all
root@sg30:~# lspci -nnk
00:00.0 Host bridge [0600]: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82C693A/694x [Apollo PRO133x] [1106:0691] (rev c4)
        Subsystem: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82C693A/694x [Apollo PRO133x] [1106:0000]
        Kernel driver in use: agpgart-via
00:01.0 PCI bridge [0604]: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82C598/694x [Apollo MVP3/Pro133x AGP] [1106:8598]
00:07.0 ISA bridge [0601]: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82C686 [Apollo Super South] [1106:0686] (rev 40)
        Subsystem: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82C686/A PCI to ISA Bridge [1106:0000]
        Kernel driver in use: parport_pc
        Kernel modules: parport_pc
00:07.1 IDE interface [0101]: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82C586A/B/VT82C686/A/B/VT823x/A/C PIPC Bus Master IDE [1106:0571] (rev 06)
        Subsystem: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82C586/B/VT82C686/A/B/VT8233/A/C/VT8235 PIPC Bus Master IDE [1106:0571]
        Kernel driver in use: pata_via
        Kernel modules: pata_via, ata_generic
00:07.2 USB controller [0c03]: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xx/62xx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller [1106:3038] (rev 1a)
        Subsystem: VIA Technologies, Inc. (Wrong ID) onboard UHCI USB 1.1 Controller [0925:1234]
        Kernel driver in use: uhci_hcd
        Kernel modules: uhci_hcd
00:07.3 USB controller [0c03]: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xx/62xx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller [1106:3038] (rev 1a)
        Subsystem: VIA Technologies, Inc. (Wrong ID) onboard UHCI USB 1.1 Controller [0925:1234]
        Kernel driver in use: uhci_hcd
        Kernel modules: uhci_hcd
00:07.4 Bridge [0680]: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82C686 [Apollo Super ACPI] [1106:3057] (rev 40)
        Subsystem: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82C686 [Apollo Super ACPI] [1106:3057]
        Kernel modules: i2c_viapro, via686a
00:08.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8100/8101L/8139 PCI Fast Ethernet Adapter [10ec:8139] (rev 10)
        Subsystem: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8100/8101L/8139 PCI Fast Ethernet Adapter [10ec:8139]
        Kernel driver in use: 8139too
        Kernel modules: 8139cp, 8139too
00:09.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: Intel Corporation 8255xER/82551IT Fast Ethernet Controller [8086:1209] (rev 10)
        Subsystem: Intel Corporation 8255xER/82551IT Fast Ethernet Controller [8086:0070]
        Kernel driver in use: e100
        Kernel modules: e100
00:0a.0 CardBus bridge [0607]: O2 Micro, Inc. OZ6933/711E1 CardBus/SmartCardBus Controller [1217:6933] (rev 01)
        Subsystem: Universal Scientific Ind. OZ6933/711E1 CardBus/SmartCardBus Controller [14cd:21d1]
        Kernel driver in use: yenta_cardbus
        Kernel modules: yenta_socket
00:0a.1 CardBus bridge [0607]: O2 Micro, Inc. OZ6933/711E1 CardBus/SmartCardBus Controller [1217:6933] (rev 01)
        Subsystem: Universal Scientific Ind. OZ6933/711E1 CardBus/SmartCardBus Controller [14cd:21d1]
        Kernel driver in use: yenta_cardbus
        Kernel modules: yenta_socket
00:0b.0 CardBus bridge [0607]: O2 Micro, Inc. OZ601/6912/711E0 CardBus/SmartCardBus Controller [1217:6972]
        Kernel driver in use: yenta_cardbus
        Kernel modules: yenta_socket
00:0c.0 USB controller [0c03]: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xx/62xx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller [1106:3038] (rev 50)
        Subsystem: VIA Technologies, Inc. (Wrong ID) onboard UHCI USB 1.1 Controller [0925:1234]
        Kernel driver in use: uhci_hcd
        Kernel modules: uhci_hcd
00:0c.1 USB controller [0c03]: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xx/62xx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller [1106:3038] (rev 50)
        Subsystem: VIA Technologies, Inc. (Wrong ID) onboard UHCI USB 1.1 Controller [0925:1234]
        Kernel driver in use: uhci_hcd
        Kernel modules: uhci_hcd
00:0c.2 USB controller [0c03]: VIA Technologies, Inc. USB 2.0 [1106:3104] (rev 51)
        Subsystem: VIA Technologies, Inc. (Wrong ID) onboard EHCI USB 2.0 Controller [0925:1234]
        Kernel driver in use: ehci-pci
        Kernel modules: ehci_pci
root@sg30:~#root@sg30:~# dmesg | egrep "e100|8139"
                 cpu_entry : 0xff400000 - 0xff8e1000   (4996 kB)
[    1.036686] pci 0000:00:08.0: [10ec:8139] type 00 class 0x020000
[    1.151887] pci 0000:00:09.0: Firmware left e100 interrupts enabled; disabling
[    6.477936] 8139cp: 8139cp: 10/100 PCI Ethernet driver v1.3 (Mar 22, 2004)
[    6.477952] 8139cp 0000:00:08.0: This (id 10ec:8139 rev 10) is not an 8139C+ compatible chip, use 8139too
[    6.485613] e100: Intel(R) PRO/100 Network Driver, 3.5.24-k2-NAPI
[    6.485620] e100: Copyright(c) 1999-2006 Intel Corporation
[    6.607935] 8139too: 8139too Fast Ethernet driver 0.9.28
[    6.609368] 8139too 0000:00:08.0 eth0: RealTek RTL8139 at 0x(ptrval), 00:10:c6:1f:5a:b3, IRQ 7
[    6.760728] e100 0000:00:09.0 eth1: addr 0xdfffe000, irq 15, MAC addr 00:10:c6:1f:5a:b2
[    6.962448] 8139too 0000:00:08.0 enp0s8: renamed from eth0
[    6.995307] e100 0000:00:09.0 enp0s9: renamed from eth1
[ 3633.905831] 8139too 0000:00:08.0 enp0s8: link up, 100Mbps, full-duplex, lpa 0x45E1
[ 3659.633506] e100 0000:00:09.0: firmware: failed to load e100/d102e_ucode.bin (-2)
[ 3659.633558] e100 0000:00:09.0: Direct firmware load for e100/d102e_ucode.bin failed with error -2
[ 4213.527801] e100 0000:00:09.0: firmware: failed to load e100/d102e_ucode.bin (-2)
[ 4213.527833] e100 0000:00:09.0: Direct firmware load for e100/d102e_ucode.bin failed with error -2
[ 4716.111008] e100 0000:00:09.0: firmware: failed to load e100/d102e_ucode.bin (-2)
[ 4716.111047] e100 0000:00:09.0: Direct firmware load for e100/d102e_ucode.bin failed with error -2
[ 4737.562481] e100 0000:00:09.0: firmware: failed to load e100/d102e_ucode.bin (-2)
[ 4737.562521] e100 0000:00:09.0: Direct firmware load for e100/d102e_ucode.bin failed with error -2
root@sg30:~#


Did a apt install network-manager and then nmtui command.

Picked "Activate a connection" I have a USB to Ethernet on it. and one built in Ethernet plug in to a Ethernet cable. The nmtui shows 2 Ethernets. I am not sure what one I have to Ethernet plug in to and if one of them it shows the USB to Ethernet.

If I pick the "Intel Ethernet Wired Connection 2" and pick "Activate" it will say "Could not activate connection: Connection 'Wired connection 2' is not available on device enp0s9 because device is not available" Guess because no Ethernet cable plug in it.

But the other one it did "Activate" it the "Realtek Ethernet Wired Connection 1"

If I do "dhclient enp0s8" it takes a while and comes back and I do a ifconfig -a and it gets no IP from there. Like this:

Code: Select all
root@sg30:~# ifconfig -a
enp0s8: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        ether 00:10:c6:1f:5a:b3  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 414  bytes 70283 (68.6 KiB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

enp0s9: flags=4098<BROADCAST,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        ether 00:10:c6:1f:5a:b2  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

enx48f8b32b2ad8: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        inet 192.168.86.104  netmask 255.255.255.0  broadcast 192.168.86.255
        inet6 fe80::4af8:b3ff:fe2b:2ad8  prefixlen 64  scopeid 0x20<link>
        ether 48:f8:b3:2b:2a:d8  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 201275  bytes 27693382 (26.4 MiB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 11873  bytes 1518187 (1.4 MiB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

lo: flags=73<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING>  mtu 65536
        inet 127.0.0.1  netmask 255.0.0.0
        inet6 ::1  prefixlen 128  scopeid 0x10<host>
        loop  txqueuelen 1000  (Local Loopback)
        RX packets 4  bytes 156 (156.0 B)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 4  bytes 156 (156.0 B)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

root@sg30:~#


Not sure how I get it to get a DHCP address like the USB to Ethernet is getting.

-Raymond Day
Raymond Day
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 2020-12-25 15:23

Re: Don't see Ethernet cards

Postby Raymond Day » 2020-12-26 13:50

I plug another Ethernet to the one that has 7 ports and got it to get a IP.

Code: Select all
root@sg30:~# dhclient enp0s8


Code: Select all
root@sg30:~# ifconfig -a
enp0s8: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        inet 192.168.86.105  netmask 255.255.255.0  broadcast 192.168.86.255
        inet6 fe80::3725:444d:e429:954a  prefixlen 64  scopeid 0x20<link>
        ether 00:10:c6:1f:5a:b3  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 3947  bytes 499553 (487.8 KiB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 560  bytes 96121 (93.8 KiB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

enp0s9: flags=4098<BROADCAST,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        ether 00:10:c6:1f:5a:b2  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

enx48f8b32b2ad8: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        inet 192.168.86.104  netmask 255.255.255.0  broadcast 192.168.86.255
        inet6 fe80::4af8:b3ff:fe2b:2ad8  prefixlen 64  scopeid 0x20<link>
        ether 48:f8:b3:2b:2a:d8  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 213640  bytes 28932540 (27.5 MiB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 12244  bytes 1635924 (1.5 MiB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

lo: flags=73<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING>  mtu 65536
        inet 127.0.0.1  netmask 255.0.0.0
        inet6 ::1  prefixlen 128  scopeid 0x10<host>
        loop  txqueuelen 1000  (Local Loopback)
        RX packets 8  bytes 312 (312.0 B)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 8  bytes 312 (312.0 B)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

root@sg30:~#


Now just have to save it on a reboot. I think have to add lines in /etc/network/interfaces file. Just looked and I think when I picked save on the nmtui Menu it save it there. The file looks like this:

Code: Select all
# This file describes the network interfaces available on your system
# and how to activate them. For more information, see interfaces(5).

source /etc/network/interfaces.d/*

# The loopback network interface
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

# The primary network interface
allow-hotplug enx48f8b32b2ad8
iface enx48f8b32b2ad8 inet dhcp


Going to reboot unplug the USB to Ethernet and see if it gets a IP now. This is be good if works.

-Raymond Day
Raymond Day
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 2020-12-25 15:23

Re: Don't see Ethernet cards

Postby Raymond Day » 2020-12-26 14:08

Did reboot it and unplug the USB to Ethernet and it worked.

So it is working on the 7 ports to get a IP. It has a 8th port that must be the enp0s9 I do have a Ethernet cable in it and when I do a dhclient enp0s9 it will show this and not get a IP from it:

Code: Select all
root@sg30:~# dhclient enp0s9
RTNETLINK answers: No such file or directory
root@sg30:~# ifconfig -a
enp0s8: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        inet 192.168.86.105  netmask 255.255.255.0  broadcast 192.168.86.255
        inet6 fe80::3725:444d:e429:954a  prefixlen 64  scopeid 0x20<link>
        ether 00:10:c6:1f:5a:b3  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 13526  bytes 1488304 (1.4 MiB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 339  bytes 53633 (52.3 KiB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

enp0s9: flags=4098<BROADCAST,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        ether 00:10:c6:1f:5a:b2  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

lo: flags=73<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING>  mtu 65536
        inet 127.0.0.1  netmask 255.0.0.0
        inet6 ::1  prefixlen 128  scopeid 0x10<host>
        loop  txqueuelen 1000  (Local Loopback)
        RX packets 8  bytes 312 (312.0 B)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 8  bytes 312 (312.0 B)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

root@sg30:~#


Not sure why it is working on one and not the other. I like it to work on the enp0s9 that is the one Ethernet port and the enp0s8 is a 7 Ethernet ports that it is working on now.

At least do have it working now on one of the Ethernet units in it.

-Raymond Day
Raymond Day
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 2020-12-25 15:23

Re: Don't see Ethernet cards

Postby p.H » 2020-12-26 14:11

enp0s9 is down. It won't do anything until you bring it up.
Maybe you also need to install firmware-misc-nonfree to provide missing firmwares.
p.H
 
Posts: 1609
Joined: 2017-09-17 07:12

Re: Don't see Ethernet cards

Postby Raymond Day » 2020-12-26 14:15

Here is a screen shot of the nmtui menu. This is only a headless server not video out on it. So have to SSH to it.

https://photos.app.goo.gl/X9g9VoUPjoUDSWkB9 this is on my Google drive.

Not sure why it can't be activated. I did on the other one. Maybe it don't have a good driver for it not sure.

-Raymond Day
Raymond Day
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 2020-12-25 15:23

Re: Don't see Ethernet cards

Postby p.H » 2020-12-26 14:18

Use low-level software for debugging.
Code: Select all
ifconfig enp0s9 up

or
Code: Select all
ip link set enp0s0 up

Did you install the firmware ?
p.H
 
Posts: 1609
Joined: 2017-09-17 07:12

Re: Don't see Ethernet cards

Postby Raymond Day » 2020-12-26 14:29

Did you install the firmware ?


No I don't know how to do that. I guess some file but how do I know what file?

I just edit the /etc/network/interfaces file to this:

Code: Select all
# This file describes the network interfaces available on your system
# and how to activate them. For more information, see interfaces(5).

source /etc/network/interfaces.d/*

# The loopback network interface
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

# The primary network interface Linksys USB to Ethernet
#allow-hotplug enx48f8b32b2ad8
#iface enx48f8b32b2ad8 inet dhcp

allow-hotplug enp0s8
iface enp0s8 inet dhcp

allow-hotplug enp0s9
iface enp0s9 inet dhcp


Rebooting it as I type this now.

It still did not get a IP from the enp0s9 interface.

Code: Select all
root@sg30:~# ifconfig -a
enp0s8: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        inet 192.168.86.105  netmask 255.255.255.0  broadcast 192.168.86.255
        inet6 fe80::210:c6ff:fe1f:5ab3  prefixlen 64  scopeid 0x20<link>
        ether 00:10:c6:1f:5a:b3  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 6291  bytes 579503 (565.9 KiB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 228  bytes 31837 (31.0 KiB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

enp0s9: flags=4098<BROADCAST,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        ether 00:10:c6:1f:5a:b2  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

lo: flags=73<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING>  mtu 65536
        inet 127.0.0.1  netmask 255.0.0.0
        inet6 ::1  prefixlen 128  scopeid 0x10<host>
        loop  txqueuelen 1000  (Local Loopback)
        RX packets 4  bytes 156 (156.0 B)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 4  bytes 156 (156.0 B)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

root@sg30:~#


Have a Ethernet plug in it too. Not sure why it don't get a IP.

-Raymond Day
Raymond Day
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 2020-12-25 15:23

Re: Don't see Ethernet cards

Postby p.H » 2020-12-26 14:33

Raymond Day wrote:No I don't know how to do that. I guess some file but how do I know what file?

Just as I already wrote twice :
p.H wrote:firmwares from firmware-misc-nonfree

p.H wrote:you also need to install firmware-misc-nonfree

You know how to install a Debian package, don't you ?

Raymond Day wrote:Have a Ethernet plug in it too. Not sure why it don't get a IP.

I already explained : because it is not UP and RUNNING.
p.H
 
Posts: 1609
Joined: 2017-09-17 07:12

Re: Don't see Ethernet cards

Postby Raymond Day » 2020-12-26 14:46

I can't get it to be up when I do this command it says this:

Code: Select all
root@sg30:~# ip link set dev enp0s9 up
RTNETLINK answers: No such file or directory
root@sg30:~#


Yes I know how to install packages dpkg -i But what would be the package?

-Raymond Day
Raymond Day
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 2020-12-25 15:23

Re: Don't see Ethernet cards

Postby Raymond Day » 2020-12-26 15:02

Thank you it works now.

Had to edit the /etc/apt/sources.list at the end added 6 lines like this:

Code: Select all
deb http://deb.debian.org/debian buster main contrib non-free
deb-src http://deb.debian.org/debian buster main contrib non-free

deb http://deb.debian.org/debian-security/ buster/updates main contrib non-free
deb-src http://deb.debian.org/debian-security/ buster/updates main contrib non-free

deb http://deb.debian.org/debian buster-updates main contrib non-free
deb-src http://deb.debian.org/debian buster-updates main contrib non-free


saved it and did 2 more commands:

Code: Select all
apt update
apt install firmware-misc-nonfree


Looks like it was installing things and I rebooted. Now it gets a IP form both.

Code: Select all
root@sg30:~# ifconfig -a
enp0s8: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        inet 192.168.86.105  netmask 255.255.255.0  broadcast 192.168.86.255
        inet6 fe80::210:c6ff:fe1f:5ab3  prefixlen 64  scopeid 0x20<link>
        ether 00:10:c6:1f:5a:b3  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 6291  bytes 630014 (615.2 KiB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 115  bytes 15286 (14.9 KiB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

enp0s9: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        inet 192.168.86.100  netmask 255.255.255.0  broadcast 192.168.86.255
        inet6 fe80::210:c6ff:fe1f:5ab2  prefixlen 64  scopeid 0x20<link>
        ether 00:10:c6:1f:5a:b2  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 6361  bytes 638159 (623.2 KiB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 85  bytes 13302 (12.9 KiB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

lo: flags=73<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING>  mtu 65536
        inet 127.0.0.1  netmask 255.0.0.0
        inet6 ::1  prefixlen 128  scopeid 0x10<host>
        loop  txqueuelen 1000  (Local Loopback)
        RX packets 2  bytes 78 (78.0 B)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 2  bytes 78 (78.0 B)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

root@sg30:~#


Thanks for all your help. It was a while to get this fixed. But now is is.

Thank you.

-Raymond Day
Raymond Day
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 2020-12-25 15:23

Re: Don't see Ethernet cards

Postby RU55EL » 2020-12-26 19:20

For the benefit of others that may read this later, the original poster was missing non-free firmware.

Debian does not include proprietary software (including firmware) by default. The /etc/apt/sources.list file must be correctly configured to enable installing non-free software, and the appropriate package must be installed to provide the operating system with the proprietary firmware needed for the operating system to use some hardware.

This is not uncommon with wifi cards, and happens with other hardware such as ethernet adapters, or video diplay adapters (video cards), as well as other hardware.

Raymond, if you would be so kind as to edit the subject line of your original post and add [SOLVED] so that others looking for a solution to their firmware issue might benefit from your posts.
User avatar
RU55EL
 
Posts: 521
Joined: 2014-04-07 03:42
Location: /home/russel


Return to Installation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests

fashionable