Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

Frustrated with Debian Installation & More

Ask for help with issues regarding the Installations of the Debian O/S.
SuperAdventureHunter

Frustrated with Debian Installation & More

#1 Post by SuperAdventureHunter »

Hello Debian Forums! This is my first forums post and expedition into the Linux Community. In fact, I’m pretty new to the Linux scene with not even a week under my belt in experience. I feel this is an important thing to know before reading as I will sound extremely ignorant, though I have done as much research as possible to be up to par in knowledge about Linux, especially the installation of Debian.

While it may not be entirely necessary to inform you of this, I would like to let you know that I am interested in creating a Debian based distro through editing the built version and using programs [Linux Respin] to build a functional image from it. I thought this important to disclose as the many smart members of this community could perhaps give me constructive criticism on my outlook on certain things and other pointers.

Without further ado I will now try to explain my issue in as much detail as possible. I in really want to get this working.

1. First I downloaded the .ISO file from the Debian Homepage (10.8 “Buster”). This is the netinstall version (more on that later) I have checked the other versions to see what would be the most stable. I don’t want to continuously have to keep installing versions of Debian to edit ever so often when I can start off with a stable release and jump to the next stable one after a period of time. In short, if you have any recommendations on a stable version of Debian, it’d be much appreciated.