Install Debian with .iso file

Help with issues regarding installation of Debian

Install Debian with .iso file

Postby reGative » 2011-08-12 09:45

Hello!

I want to install Debian and make dualboot (Windows 7 and Debian), but I not have any CD, USB, or Floppy. I has EasyBCD, where I added to my boot manager option to run .iso image. I boot from iso image, but installation need to CD. Any idea?
User avatar
reGative
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2011-08-12 09:39

Re: Install Debian with .iso file

Postby eric1959 » 2011-08-12 10:31

Debian Bits And Snips
Squeeze, Gnome, amd64, Intel Core i3-530, Geforce GT330
eric1959
 
Posts: 1299
Joined: 2008-12-15 13:17
Location: Amsterdam

Re: Install Debian with .iso file

Postby reGative » 2011-08-12 11:14

I launched the installation, but it asks for CD to detect the hardware. But i haven't inserted any disc to the drive.
User avatar
reGative
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2011-08-12 09:39

Re: Install Debian with .iso file

Postby reGative » 2011-08-12 14:52

Any idea?
User avatar
reGative
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2011-08-12 09:39

Re: Install Debian with .iso file

Postby eric1959 » 2011-08-12 15:11

Which iso do you use ?
Debian Bits And Snips
Squeeze, Gnome, amd64, Intel Core i3-530, Geforce GT330
eric1959
 
Posts: 1299
Joined: 2008-12-15 13:17
Location: Amsterdam

Re: Install Debian with .iso file

Postby reGative » 2011-08-12 15:21

User avatar
reGative
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2011-08-12 09:39

Re: Install Debian with .iso file

Postby eric1959 » 2011-08-12 15:25

So the installation starts and at which stage does it ask for a cd ?
Debian Bits And Snips
Squeeze, Gnome, amd64, Intel Core i3-530, Geforce GT330
eric1959
 
Posts: 1299
Joined: 2008-12-15 13:17
Location: Amsterdam

Re: Install Debian with .iso file

Postby reGative » 2011-08-12 15:28

Instalation starts with language, region and keyboard options then installation requires CD to detect CD drive.
User avatar
reGative
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2011-08-12 09:39

Re: Install Debian with .iso file

Postby eric1959 » 2011-08-12 15:35

Can't you just hit cancel and proceed ?
Debian Bits And Snips
Squeeze, Gnome, amd64, Intel Core i3-530, Geforce GT330
eric1959
 
Posts: 1299
Joined: 2008-12-15 13:17
Location: Amsterdam

Re: Install Debian with .iso file

Postby reGative » 2011-08-12 15:58

Image
User avatar
reGative
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2011-08-12 09:39

Re: Install Debian with .iso file

Postby eric1959 » 2011-08-12 16:13

Press Continue ....What happens then ?
How come mine looks like :
Image
Debian Bits And Snips
Squeeze, Gnome, amd64, Intel Core i3-530, Geforce GT330
eric1959
 
Posts: 1299
Joined: 2008-12-15 13:17
Location: Amsterdam

Re: Install Debian with .iso file

Postby kiyop » 2011-08-13 10:57

Excuse my bothering, but if you can use network (wired LAN or so), I suggest you to use linux and initrd.gz and start linux and initrd.gz with grub4dos.

You can download linux and initrd.gz, for example,
http://ftp.jaist.ac.jp/pub/Linux/Debian ... /initrd.gz
http://ftp.jaist.ac.jp/pub/Linux/Debian ... i386/linux

MD5sum is shown in:
http://ftp.jaist.ac.jp/pub/Linux/Debian ... es/MD5SUMS
as
./netboot/debian-installer/i386/initrd.gz
and
./netboot/debian-installer/i386/linux

You can check the md5sum value by "md5sum linux initrd.gz" in Linux, for example debian.

In Windows7, You can check the md5sum value by md5sum.exe offered at:
http://www.pc-tools.net/win32/md5sums/
But I have never used md5sum.exe and I am not sure if the downloaded file has any viruse or not.

You can download grub4dos-0.4.4 at
http://sourceforge.net/projects/grub4dos/

You can start grub4dos (grldr.mbr -> grldr) with Windows7 boot manager (bootmgr) with the method shown the following URL:
http://diddy.boot-land.net/grub4dos/fil ... m#windows3

You can start linux and initrd.gz copied in the directory hogehoge in Windows7's boot partition (C drive); c:\hogehoge with the menu.lst containing following lines:
Code: Select all
title debian squeeze installer
find --set-root /hogehoge/linux
kernel /hogehoge/linux
initrd /hogehoge/initrd.gz

You had better place menu.lst and grldr in the root directory of some partition, for example in C:\.

Good luck!
Last edited by kiyop on 2011-08-13 11:14, edited 2 times in total.
Openbox, JWM: Jessie, Sid, Arch / Win XP (on VirtualBox), 10
http://kiyoandkei.bbs.fc2.com/
User avatar
kiyop
 
Posts: 3984
Joined: 2011-05-05 15:16
Location: Where persons without desire to improve themselves fear to tread, in Japan

Re: Install Debian with .iso file

Postby eric1959 » 2011-08-13 11:01

Excuse my bothering..

Thanks for joining !
Debian Bits And Snips
Squeeze, Gnome, amd64, Intel Core i3-530, Geforce GT330
eric1959
 
Posts: 1299
Joined: 2008-12-15 13:17
Location: Amsterdam

Re: Install Debian with .iso file

Postby kiyop » 2011-08-13 11:10

eric1959 wrote:
Excuse my bothering..

Thanks for joining !

Thank you, eric1959.

To reGative,

Judging from the difference in eric1959's posted graphics (installer window) and yours,
you had downloaded different iso file from that eric1959 downloaded, had not you?
Openbox, JWM: Jessie, Sid, Arch / Win XP (on VirtualBox), 10
http://kiyoandkei.bbs.fc2.com/
User avatar
kiyop
 
Posts: 3984
Joined: 2011-05-05 15:16
Location: Where persons without desire to improve themselves fear to tread, in Japan


Return to Installation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: eclectic-coding and 9 guests

fashionable