Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

[Solved] Debian Squeeze installation freezes at partitioning

Ask for help with issues regarding the Installations of the Debian O/S.
Masapena

[Solved] Debian Squeeze installation freezes at partitioning

#1 Post by Masapena »

Hi! I'm new to the Debian, but not to Linux. I've previously used Ubuntu for a few years, so I know something about how a successful intallation should look like. I'm currently using Windows 7.

I downloaded the debian-6.0.3-amd64-gnome-netinst.iso from http://cdimage.debian.org/debian-cd/6.0.3/amd64/iso-cd/, and then made a USB pendrive using the Windows version of Unetbootin. The MD5 sum for the .iso-file was the correct one, b663727d7f5b572c329cea8e2ff5e29c.

I used the usual non-graphical setup, without any special options. The installation process went without hiccups until the "Starting up the partitioner" -screen freezes at "Scanning disks...". The bar stops at 50%. It never progresses any farther, even after an hour. It doesn't give any errors either. After I pressed Alt+F4, the last lines were:

Code: Select all

partman:	No matching physical volumes found
partman:	No volume groups found
partman:	Reading all physical volumes. This may take a while...
partman-lvm:	No volumegroups found
Exactly the same happens with firmware-6.0.3-amd64-netinst.iso too, or any of the live versions I tried. The result of graphical installation was also nothing. The USB pendrive created by LinuxLive USB Creator was nonoperative in exactly the same way.

The computer is brand new, without any previous OS installations. My desktop computer has the following parts:
  • CPU: AMD Phenom II X6 1055T, AM3, 2.8 GHz (HDT55TFBGRBOX)