Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

[Solved] Enters in Emergency Mode if (non /) part. mnt fail

User discussion about Debian Development, Debian Project News and Announcements. Not for support questions.
jcbastosportela

[Solved] Enters in Emergency Mode if (non /) part. mnt fail

#1 Post by jcbastosportela »

I've been using Debian for a couple of years now and it was its stability that fixed me to its usage and makes me to recommend it to whoever is think on trying some distro. This is my first post.

THE ISSUE: Recently I've "updated" the Win7 that came in my machine to Win10 and yesterday I came across a pretty annoying situation: I powered up my PC, selected Debian, the kernel started loading the modules, all OK, and suddenly I'm prompted with "Welcome to Emergency Mode"! Welcome?!? Hahahahah! :lol: I even laughed of being welcomed to such a situation. Anyway, I'll cut short the story: I've got the hunch it would be something about fstab (guessing from the logs). I've commented out the lines related with my NTFS partition and rebooted. Everything worked fine. The real reason is that Win10 uses FastBoot by default, and by shutdown it flags the partition as "locked". I've decided to disable fastboot because I mostly don't use windows, but that's not even my issue.

The reason why I'm posting is because I think we should get the system to enter in emergency mode just because it couldn't mount some partition that is listed in fstab. Maybe it should be considered to future releases, or is there any strong reason to enter in emergency in such situation?

Regards,
JCBastos Portela
Last edited by jcbastosportela on 2016-01-08 11:54, edited 1 time in total.

Head_on_a_Stick