Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

 

 

 

Buster - losetup bug?

User discussion about Debian Development, Debian Project News and Announcements. Not for support questions.
Post Reply
Message
Author
rsi
Posts: 21
Joined: 2014-10-20 00:52

Buster - losetup bug?

#1 Post by rsi »

Hello,

can this someone confirm as bug on latest buster?

Code: Select all

root@vmm:~# /sbin/losetup —P $(/sbin/losetup -f) /dev/vg0/lv0
losetup: /dev/—P: failed to set up loop device: No such file or directory
root@vmm:~# /sbin/losetup —-partscan $(/sbin/losetup -f) /dev/vg0/lv0
losetup: /dev/—-partscan: failed to set up loop device: No such file or directory
root@vmm:~# /sbin/losetup -f
/dev/loop0
root@vmm:~# /sbin/losetup —P /dev/loop0 /dev/vg0/lv0
losetup: /dev/—P: failed to set up loop device: No such file or directory
root@vmm:~# losetup -V
losetup from util-linux 2.32.1
root@vmm:~# losetup --help

Usage:
 losetup [options] [<loopdev>]
 losetup [options] -f | <loopdev> <file>

Set up and control loop devices.

Options:
 -a, --all                     list all used devices
 -d, --detach <loopdev>...     detach one or more devices
 -D, --detach-all              detach all used devices
 -f, --find                    find first unused device
 -c, --set-capacity <loopdev>  resize the device
 -j, --associated <file>       list all devices associated with <file>
 -L, --nooverlap               avoid possible conflict between devices

 -o, --offset <num>            start at offset <num> into file
     --sizelimit <num>         device is limited to <num> bytes of the file
 -b  --sector-size <num>       set the logical sector size to <num>
 -P, --partscan                create a partitioned loop device
 -r, --read-only               set up a read-only loop device
     --direct-io[=<on|off>]    open backing file with O_DIRECT
     --show                    print device name after setup (with -f)
 -v, --verbose                 verbose mode

 -J, --json                    use JSON --list output format
 -l, --list                    list info about all or specified (default)
 -n, --noheadings              don't print headings for --list output
 -O, --output <cols>           specify columns to output for --list
     --raw                     use raw --list output format

 -h, --help                    display this help
 -V, --version                 display version

Available output columns:
         NAME  loop device name
    AUTOCLEAR  autoclear flag set
    BACK-FILE  device backing file
     BACK-INO  backing file inode number
 BACK-MAJ:MIN  backing file major:minor device number
      MAJ:MIN  loop device major:minor number
       OFFSET  offset from the beginning
     PARTSCAN  partscan flag set
           RO  read-only device
    SIZELIMIT  size limit of the file in bytes
          DIO  access backing file with direct-io
      LOG-SEC  logical sector size in bytes

For more details see losetup(8).
Options and parameters for '-P' or '--partscan' are interpreted incorrectly!

User avatar
llivv
Posts: 5340
Joined: 2007-02-14 18:10
Location: cold storage

Re: Buster - losetup bug?

#2 Post by llivv »

show

Code: Select all

ls -la /dev/loop*
not really wise to use force
before understanding the basics.
In memory of Ian Ashley Murdock (1973 - 2015) founder of the Debian project.

p.H
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 3049
Joined: 2017-09-17 07:12
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 132 times

Re: Buster - losetup bug?

#3 Post by p.H »

Are you really using these non-ASCII "—" hyphens in your command lines or is it a weird effect of copy&paste or editor/browser auto-correction ?

Edit: Oops, didn't notice the original post was a bit old... guess that the poster eventually figured out the issue.

User avatar
llivv
Posts: 5340
Joined: 2007-02-14 18:10
Location: cold storage

Re: Buster - losetup bug?

#4 Post by llivv »

p.H wrote:Edit: Oops, didn't notice the original post was a bit old... guess that the poster eventually figured out the issue.
I knew it was old, I didn't realize it was that old ! Although not as old as the last time I used a /dev/loop - hummm now I can find out what this loop-conrol is about,,,,,

Code: Select all

crw-rw---- 1 root disk 10, 237 Dec 17 08:51 /dev/loop-control
In memory of Ian Ashley Murdock (1973 - 2015) founder of the Debian project.

Post Reply