Debian buster: are you testing?

News and discussion about development of the Debian OS itself

Re: Debian buster: are you testing?

Postby RichardWurth » 2018-11-20 01:48

I'm testing on the alpha 3 iso, default desktop, some config is messed up somehow - my root account isn't set up right. I didn't do anything. I go in a terminal and do 'su' to switch to root, and it doesn't update my path to include sbin directory. I get output like this when trying apt upgrade:

After this operation, 262 MB of additional disk space will be used.
Do you want to continue? [Y/n] y
Reading changelogs... Done
Preconfiguring packages ...
dpkg: warning: 'ldconfig' not found in PATH or not executable
dpkg: warning: 'start-stop-daemon' not found in PATH or not executable
dpkg: error: 2 expected programs not found in PATH or not executable
Note: root's PATH should usually contain /usr/local/sbin, /usr/sbin and /sbin
E: Sub-process /usr/bin/dpkg returned an error code (2)

Works ok if I do 'su -l' instead. I wonder if anyone else encounters this
RichardWurth
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2018-11-20 01:15

Re: Debian buster: are you testing?

Postby 4D696B65 » 2018-11-20 02:07

RichardWurth wrote:Works ok if I do 'su -l' instead. I wonder if anyone else encounters this

This has been talked about for weeks.
User avatar
4D696B65
 
Posts: 2219
Joined: 2009-06-28 06:09

Re: Debian buster: are you testing?

Postby GarryRicketson » 2018-11-20 02:09

Works ok if I do 'su -l' instead. I wonder if anyone else encounters this

Yes, it is kind of old news, all though it had been submitted as a bug, it is not a bug, it is a feature :
Tue, 31 Jul 2018 09:18:06 +0200
https://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugreport.cgi?bug=904988
I thought I (or something) had hosed my system, but it turns out this
change is by design. After reading more closely the changelog I read

https://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugreport.cgi?bug=90483

and

https://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugrepo ... bug=833256

> To me this mostly seems like a(nother) case of "always use 'su -',
> never su".


Feel free to close this bug, sorry for the noise.

=====

I think you need to use
Code: Select all
su -
now, have you tried that ?
Last edited by GarryRicketson on 2018-11-20 02:24, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
GarryRicketson
 
Posts: 5192
Joined: 2015-01-20 22:16
Location: Durango, Mexico

Re: Debian buster: are you testing?

Postby RichardWurth » 2018-11-20 02:24

4D696B65 wrote:
RichardWurth wrote:Works ok if I do 'su -l' instead. I wonder if anyone else encounters this

This has been talked about for weeks.


first post on this forum. tx admin

@Garry - Interesting, thanks
RichardWurth
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2018-11-20 01:15

Re: Debian buster: are you testing?

Postby jnhollow » 2018-12-02 19:23

Had the same problem with "su -". Took awhile to figure that out.
I've been running Buster for more than a year and everything has been very smooth for me, except when I personally killed it and had to restore. That's when that "su -" caused problems. I did a minimal installation with only the system utilities and then proceeded to install only what I needed. Using the Mate desktop, LibreOffice, 2 network printers (32 bit) etc. I am now using it for my everyday system.
It's fast and clean.
jnhollow
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2018-12-02 17:55

Previous

Return to Debian Development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

fashionable