Page 1 of 1

Why does apt say

PostPosted: 2007-08-26 03:46
by BioTube
Selecting previously deselected package
Is it a typo that's supposed to be a reference to dselect? As it stands, it makes no sense.

PostPosted: 2007-08-26 04:26
by rickh
It only says that if you are adding a new package to your system.

Aptitude knows about all available packages, but the ones you haven't previously installed are "deselected."

PostPosted: 2007-08-26 04:30
by BioTube
That logic seems shaky, but it makes sense if that line's there just for the sake of saying something.

PostPosted: 2007-08-26 23:33
by llivv
'

PostPosted: 2007-08-27 09:56
by kink
That sentence really doesn't add information for me. Not sure why it's there.

PostPosted: 2007-08-27 19:27
by mzilikazi
Although I do understand what aptitude is saying I think it's a bit confusing too. Technically speaking 'deselect' is a verb not a noun so unless you changed a package from selected to deselected aptitude is wrong. It should say 'unselected' then it would make sense and be proper.