Maybe the kernel option have a bug.

News and discussion about development of the Debian OS itself

Maybe the kernel option have a bug.

Postby LaoLiulaoliu » 2008-11-02 09:00

When I compiling the new 2.6.27.4 kernel myself.I found a option which I have not seen before--"CONFIG_MODULE_LOAD_FORCE".So I searched.
http://kerneltrap.org/mailarchive/linux ... /5/1722334

"People can still set CONFIG_MODULE_LOAD_FORCE, but quite frankly, I
suspect that anybody who does that is just insane and/or works with
proprietary and broken modules. So it's off by default, and hopefully no
distro will ever set it."



But I found this option "CONFIG_MODULE_FORCE_LOAD=y" in the testing kernel by the file "config-2.6.26-1-68".

What shall we do now?
LaoLiulaoliu
 
Posts: 49
Joined: 2007-11-18 23:06

Postby roseway » 2008-11-02 09:18

That option isn't mentioned in any of the kernel config files which I have, including config-2.6.26-1-686 (which I presume is what you meant).

[Edit] I'm an idiot. The option IS there and is enabled. Sorry.
Last edited by roseway on 2008-11-03 07:26, edited 1 time in total.
Eric
User avatar
roseway
 
Posts: 1510
Joined: 2007-12-31 22:50
Location: Kent, UK

Postby BioTube » 2008-11-02 15:23

It only provides the option to force a module to load with the wrong kernel version. Unless you tell modprobe to force it, nothing changes.
Image
Ludwig von Mises wrote:The elite should be supreme by virtue of persuasion, not by the assistance of firing squads.
User avatar
BioTube
 
Posts: 7551
Joined: 2007-06-01 04:34

Postby LaoLiulaoliu » 2008-11-03 01:56

Thanks.I understand that.
LaoLiulaoliu
 
Posts: 49
Joined: 2007-11-18 23:06

Postby infinitycircuit » 2008-11-03 02:01

roseway wrote:That option isn't mentioned in any of the kernel config files which I have, including config-2.6.26-1-686 (which I presume is what you meant).


It's in the bigmem config at least:

dmr@kronos:/boot$ grep FORCE_LOAD config-2.6.26-1-686-bigmem
CONFIG_MODULE_FORCE_LOAD=y

As it says, "unless you have to deal with proprietary modules"...which is a necessary consequence of Debian in many production environments.
I am currently a Debian Maintainer. I am also in the New Maintainers' Queue.
infinitycircuit
 
Posts: 1137
Joined: 2007-07-24 03:31
Location: California


Return to Debian Development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

fashionable