Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

Linux Firmware again

User discussion about Debian Development, Debian Project News and Announcements. Not for support questions.

What binary firmware belongs in Debian Main for etch?

Poll ended at 2006-09-02 20:19

Free Software with source code
56%
above, plus 45 files that were also shipped as part of sarge
22%
above, plus 6 more files that are legally BSD licensed
11%
anything at all, including 7 new GPL'd files for which we can't satisfy license paragraph 3
11%

Total votes: 9

ldoolitt

Linux Firmware again

#1 Post by ldoolitt »

I think the options in the last two polls are misleading, so here's my slant.

This is my first try at a poll, I hope it works. If not, it's supposed to go like this:
What binary firmware belongs in Debian Main for etch?
Free Software with source code
above, plus 45 files that were also shipped as part of sarge
above, plus 6 more files that are legally BSD licensed
anything at all, including 7 new GPL'd files for which we can't satisfy license paragraph 3

rickh

#2 Post by rickh »

This issue just gets deeper. I haven't voted here yet, because I feel like there may still be more surprises upcoming.

I think your Option 3 should actually be option 2 ... Then I'd like to know what Popularity Contest suggests that the overall userbase effect would be of simply moving those other 45+7 drivers to non-free.

I read your link at the end of the other thread ... Seems to me to be good work.

ldoolitt

#3 Post by ldoolitt »

rickh wrote: I think your Option 3 should actually be option 2 ... Then I'd like to know what Popularity Contest suggests that the overall userbase effect would be of simply moving those other 45+7 drivers to non-free.