upgrade to Buster the moment its launched?

Here you can discuss every aspect of Debian. Note: not for support requests!

upgrade to Buster the moment its launched?

yes yes yes right away because i can
11
38%
yes yes yes right away because i have sns(shiny new software) syndrome
1
3%
yes because the upgrade would solve, unsolvable issue with current stretch installation
4
14%
naah i wouldn't until LTS for stretch is over
1
3%
other - specified in comments
10
34%
naah i wouldn't vote but crap post commenting how this post or poll could be better
2
7%
naah i wouldn't until regular support for stretch is over
0
No votes
 
Total votes : 29

Re: upgrade to Buster the moment its launched?

Postby Bloom » 2019-06-08 09:03

Code: Select all
       _,met$$$$$gg.          bloom@zilversteen
    ,g$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$P.       -----------------
  ,g$$P"     """Y$$.".        OS: Debian GNU/Linux 10 (sid) x86_64
 ,$$P'              `$$$.     Model: MS-7B86 1.0
',$$P       ,ggs.     `$$b:   Kernel: 4.19.0-5-amd64
`d$$'     ,$P"'   .    $$$    Uptime: 19 days, 17 hours, 39 minutes
 $$P      d$'     ,    $$P    Packages: 2365 (dpkg)
 $$:      $$.   -    ,d$$'    Shell: bash 5.0.3
 $$;      Y$b._   _,d$P'      Resolution: 1920x1080
 Y$$.    `.`"Y$$$$P"'         DE: Xfce
 `$$b      "-.__              WM: Xfwm4
  `Y$$                        WM Theme: pcc_kazloru
   `Y$$.                      Theme: CleanIce-Marble [GTK2], Adwaita [GTK3]
     `$$b.                    Icons: oxygen [GTK2], Adwaita [GTK3]
       `Y$$b.                 Terminal: xfce4-terminal
          `"Y$b._             Terminal Font: Monospace 11
              `"""            CPU: AMD Ryzen 5 2600X (12) @ 3.600GHz
                              GPU: AMD ATI Radeon HD 6450/7450/8450 / R5 230 OEM
                              Memory: 9983MiB / 32184MiB

I'm running Sid on my desktop. Have been for several years. No problems whatsoever. So I don't need to upgrade to Buster, I already have it.
User avatar
Bloom
 
Posts: 95
Joined: 2017-11-11 12:23

Re: upgrade to Buster the moment its launched?

Postby 4D696B65 » 2019-06-08 14:51

Bloom wrote:
Code: Select all
       _,met$$$$$gg.          bloom@zilversteen
    ,g$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$P.       -----------------
  ,g$$P"     """Y$$.".        OS: Debian GNU/Linux 10 (sid) x86_64


I'm running Sid on my desktop. Have been for several years. No problems whatsoever. So I don't need to upgrade to Buster, I already have it.

Strange, all my sid boxes say Buster and yours is sid?
Code: Select all
       _,met$$$$$gg.          mike@G752
    ,g$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$P.       ---------
  ,g$$P"     """Y$$.".        OS: Debian GNU/Linux 10 (buster) x86_64
 ,$$P'              `$$$.     Host: G752VL 1.0
',$$P       ,ggs.     `$$b:   Kernel: 4.19.0-5-amd64
User avatar
4D696B65
 
Posts: 2358
Joined: 2009-06-28 06:09

Re: upgrade to Buster the moment its launched?

Postby Bloom » 2019-06-08 16:21

I didn't like that for Sid, so I edited /etc/os-release to look like this:
Code: Select all
bloom@zilversteen:~$ cat /etc/os-release
PRETTY_NAME="Debian GNU/Linux 10 (sid)"
NAME="Debian GNU/Linux"
VERSION_ID="10"
VERSION="10 (sid)"
VERSION_CODENAME=sid
ID=debian
HOME_URL="https://www.debian.org/"
SUPPORT_URL="https://www.debian.org/support"
BUG_REPORT_URL="https://bugs.debian.org/"
User avatar
Bloom
 
Posts: 95
Joined: 2017-11-11 12:23

Re: upgrade to Buster the moment its launched?

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2019-06-08 17:47

4D696B65 wrote:Strange, all my sid boxes say Buster

The *fetch programs draw that information from /etc/os-release:
Code: Select all
E485:~$ dpkg -S /etc/os-release                                                           
base-files: /etc/os-release
E485:~$

The base-files package has just been updated in preparation for the Debian 10.0 release, your sid boxen will regain their identity when bullseye is created and a new base-files version is released for testing/unstable.
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 9878
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: upgrade to Buster the moment its launched?

Postby sickpig » 2019-06-12 01:46

haven = Sir P.G. Wodehouse's books. U havent lived unless u have read one :)
User avatar
sickpig
 
Posts: 212
Joined: 2019-01-23 10:34


Re: upgrade to Buster the moment its launched?

Postby debian-2019 » 2019-06-13 17:30

There should be a choice in the poll where it says: "I already upgraded to Buster, no need to wait for the launch date"
debian-2019
 
Posts: 16
Joined: 2019-03-20 18:25

Re: upgrade to Buster the moment its launched?

Postby Soul Singin' » 2019-06-13 17:40

debian-2019 wrote:There should be a choice in the poll where it says: "I already upgraded to Buster, no need to wait for the launch date"

I believe that option falls into the "crap post commenting how this poll could be better" category.
User avatar
Soul Singin'
 
Posts: 1535
Joined: 2008-12-21 07:02

Re: upgrade to Buster the moment its launched?

Postby None1975 » 2019-06-14 12:09

I will wait a few months and then i will upgrade all of my machines. There is nothing in a hurry. In addition, Debian Stretch works great.
OS: Debian Stretch / WM: Spectrwm
Debian Wiki | DontBreakDebian, My config files in github
User avatar
None1975
 
Posts: 876
Joined: 2015-11-29 18:23
Location: Lithuania, Vilnius

Previous

Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests

fashionable