about installing packages

Here you can discuss every aspect of Debian. Note: not for support requests!

about installing packages

Postby rupeshforu3 » 2013-03-20 08:40

Sir I am the user of debian from debian 4.0 etch. I have some bad experience while operating debian pastly. Installing packages in debian is very difficult than rpm based distros like opensuse,fedora. I am requesting to make the process of installing packages easy in your further release ie., debian wheezy. I am also requesting to make use of master password I mean same username and password for all softwares like databases(MySql,SqLite) etc.,. Again I am greedy I mean I want to install all the packages available from your repositories atleast desktops,multimedia apps and so provide better support for installing packages easily with minimum intervention from me.
rupeshforu3

Re: about installing packages

Postby Randicus » 2013-03-20 09:01

Here we go again. :roll:
Randicus

Postby confuseling » 2013-03-20 09:11

This still doesn't make any sense whatsoever.

It's a bit like wanting to borrow every book from the library at the same time. It's an abuse of a common resource so they won't let you, and even if they did, you couldn't make use of them all.

Just install the software you want to use. The rest of it will still be available when you get around to wanting to use it.
The Forum's search box is terrible. Use site specific search, e.g.
https://www.google.com/search?q=site%3A ... terms+here
confuseling

Postby llivv » 2013-03-20 09:24

installing all debian packages breaks the system
Don't do it!
In memory of Ian Ashley Murdock (1973 - 2015) founder of the Debian project.
llivv

Postby rupeshforu3 » 2013-03-20 10:09