Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

Is full Disk Encryption Really Enough?

Here you can discuss every aspect of Debian. Note: not for support requests!
Htop919

Is full Disk Encryption Really Enough?

#1 Post by Htop919 »

As a beginner I'm trying to see what else i can do in my knowledge to secure my installation better.

Mother Board Settings > Admin and Startup Passwords are Enabled, LAN DVD USB Boots etc. Disabled. DDR Memory Data Scrambling ON, IPMI Password Tightened.

Installed Debian 8.2 on my Drive which is on AHCI SATA Port with Legacy Boot. / Full Disk Encryption Including SWAP / Strong Password on Startup.

Seems good enough? My Mother Board Supports TPM, Secure Boot and all those security Bells and whistles.

Is there something else I can do?

dasein

Re: Is full Disk Encryption Really Enough?

#2 Post by dasein »

Htop919 wrote:Is there something else I can do?
Not only can, but must. If you're all that worried about it, then you need to design, engineer, and fabricate all your own hardware (including USB devices, NICs, hard drives, etc.).

Bulkley

#3 Post by Bulkley »

There is never enough but if you put up too many bars you will wind up living in a prison of your own making. The most important part of security is to not put on the Internet anything that you would be unwilling to put up in a bus station washroom. Do not store bank passwords in your browser. Etc.

GarryRicketson

#4 Post by GarryRicketson »

Yep, that is what it boils down to. If you do some searches you will find , for example, the "mother board", and all the other "chips" in your computer, could have backdoors, and
"code" built into them by the manufactures, they probably are watching you right now.