PicoPix 3614tv and Debian 8

Here you can discuss every aspect of Debian. Note: not for support requests!

PicoPix 3614tv and Debian 8

Postby donline » 2016-06-01 15:44

Hi there,

I'm a Windows user but because of several reasons I decided to change my OS to Debian.

For start, I can say that my laptop is much faster now, sometimes I'm afraid that it can fly :D :D :D.

So I'm really happy for the potential of my laptop now. Problems come when I try to connect my PicoPix 3614 Projector from Philips. Neither with HDMI or USB I can't get connected. I was searching on Internet and I found that a similar problem has been solved with installation of libam7xxx-dev - so I did installed it too, but still not getting signal from my projector.

My plan is to use the projector as primary laptop display when is connected.

Can somebody help? Thank you very much!
donline
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2016-06-01 15:18

Re: PicoPix 3614tv and Debian 8

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2016-06-01 18:33

Try a newer kernel version.

This guide is for BunsenLabs GNU/Linux but it applies to pure Debian systems as well:
https://forums.bunsenlabs.org/viewtopic.php?id=1257

EDIT: Perhaps I'm getting ahead of myself a bit here.

Please plug in the device and post the full output of:
Code: Select all
xrandr
Black Lives Matter

Debian buster-backports ISO image: for new hardware support
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 12497
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: PicoPix 3614tv and Debian 8

Postby donline » 2016-06-02 09:49

Hi Head on a stick,

In the first time I want to thank you for answering.

My system is:
Linux debian 3.16.0-4-amd64 #1 SMP Debian 3.16.7-ckt25-2 (2016-04-08) x86_64 GNU/Linux

And is look like it is not recognize correctly even the laptop display, the output to xrandr is:
xrandr: Failed to get size of gamma for output default
Screen 0: minimum 1366 x 768, current 1368 x 768, maximum 1368 x 768
default connected 1368x768+0+0 0mm x 0mm
1366x768 0.00
1368x768 0.00*

The laptop model is: HP Pavilion dv6

I was trying to connect the laptop to the TV by HDMI cable and there is the same result as in the project case. Then I was thinking that the system does not recognize the HDMI port and I search on google how to check that. There I found a command to check the playback hardware devices (aplay -l). The output of this command is:

**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: MID [HDA Intel MID], device 0: 92HD81B1X5 Analog [92HD81B1X5 Analog]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: HDMI [HDA ATI HDMI], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

From the output my conclusion is that the HDMI is working well. So I'm really stuck now...
donline
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2016-06-01 15:18

Re: PicoPix 3614tv and Debian 8

Postby donline » 2016-06-02 12:41

After still searching on google I finally get solved my problem. I had to install this https://wiki.debian.org/ATIProprietary.
donline
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2016-06-01 15:18

Re: PicoPix 3614tv and Debian 8

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2016-06-02 16:12

donline wrote:I had to install this https://wiki.debian.org/ATIProprietary.

Just to note that I think you could have kept the non-proprietary drivers and simply installed firmware-linux-nonfree, as per the Debian wiki.

https://wiki.debian.org/AtiHowTo#Installation

Of course, if you already had that package installed please ignore my deranged ramblings :D
Black Lives Matter

Debian buster-backports ISO image: for new hardware support
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 12497
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: PicoPix 3614tv and Debian 8

Postby donline » 2016-06-03 11:47

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:
donline wrote:I had to install this https://wiki.debian.org/ATIProprietary.

Just to note that I think you could have kept the non-proprietary drivers and simply installed firmware-linux-nonfree, as per the Debian wiki.

https://wiki.debian.org/AtiHowTo#Installation

Of course, if you already had that package installed please ignore my deranged ramblings :D


Yes, I already installed the package, now is working well the display, but the sound stops working.
Is happen because I installed the non-proprietary drivers over ?
Can you help me get the things in the right place ?
donline
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2016-06-01 15:18

Re: PicoPix 3614tv and Debian 8

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2016-06-04 00:33

donline wrote:the sound stops working

Is the HDMI connection set as the default sound output?

Are all the outputs un-muted and set to a non-zero volume level?

Which desktop environment are you using?
Black Lives Matter

Debian buster-backports ISO image: for new hardware support
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 12497
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: PicoPix 3614tv and Debian 8

Postby donline » 2016-06-15 17:08

Hi Head on a Stick, sorry for my late reply.
Head_on_a_Stick wrote:Are all the outputs un-muted and set to a non-zero volume level?


Well the ATIProprietary package didn't affect my sound card functionality, only just put it on muted, LOL
So I get solved this problem after a lot of google searching.

But if you still want to help me, please tell me how can I change the ATIProprietary package with non-proprietary drivers?

Thanks
donline
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2016-06-01 15:18

Re: PicoPix 3614tv and Debian 8

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2016-06-15 20:55

donline wrote:how can I change the ATIProprietary package with non-proprietary drivers?

Remove the xorg configuration file and the radeon blacklist that were created when the proprietary drivers were installed.

The configuration file may be at /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/20-fglrx.conf

Find the blacklist with:
Code: Select all
grep -R radeon /etc/modprobe.d
Black Lives Matter

Debian buster-backports ISO image: for new hardware support
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 12497
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: PicoPix 3614tv and Debian 8

Postby donline » 2016-06-16 09:26

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:The configuration file may be at /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/20-fglrx.conf

Code: Select all
ls -la /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/
ls: cannot access /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/: No such file or directory


Code: Select all
ls -la /etc/X11/
total 104
drwxr-xr-x  10 root root  4096 Jun  3 14:02 .
drwxr-xr-x 136 root root 12288 Jun 15 22:44 ..
drwxr-xr-x   2 root root  4096 May 30 00:10 app-defaults
-rw-r--r--   1 root root    18 Apr  2 22:32 default-display-manager
drwxr-xr-x   6 root root  4096 May 29 23:51 fonts
-rw-r--r--   1 root root 17394 Sep 26  2013 rgb.txt
lrwxrwxrwx   1 root root    13 May 29 23:51 X -> /usr/bin/Xorg
drwxr-xr-x   2 root root  4096 May 29 23:51 xinit
drwxr-xr-x   2 root root  4096 Jun  6  2014 xkb
-rw-r--r--   1 root root   684 Jun  3 14:36 xorg.conf
-rw-r--r--   1 root root    87 Jun  2 14:09 xorg.conf.original-0
-rw-r--r--   1 root root   679 Jun  3 14:02 xorg.conf.save
-rwxr-xr-x   1 root root   709 Sep 26  2013 Xreset
drwxr-xr-x   2 root root  4096 May 29 23:51 Xreset.d
drwxr-xr-x   2 root root  4096 May 29 23:51 Xresources
-rwxr-xr-x   1 root root  3517 Sep 26  2013 Xsession
drwxr-xr-x   2 root root  4096 May 29 23:51 Xsession.d
-rw-r--r--   1 root root   265 Sep 26  2013 Xsession.options
drwxr-xr-x   2 root root  4096 May 29 23:51 xsm
-rw-r--r--   1 root root    13 Nov  8  2014 XvMCConfig
-rw-r--r--   1 root root   601 Apr  2 22:28 Xwrapper.config


So xorg.conf.d directory does not exist.
I also did search for the file
Code: Select all
$ locate 20-fglrx.conf
and there is no results. Maybe was been installed under other name?

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:Find the blacklist with:
Code: Select all
grep -R radeon /etc/modprobe.d

Code: Select all
grep -R radeon /etc/modprobe.d
/etc/modprobe.d/fglrx-blacklists-radeon.conf:# fglrx conflicts with the free radeon module.
/etc/modprobe.d/fglrx-blacklists-radeon.conf:blacklist radeon
/etc/modprobe.d/fbdev-blacklist.conf:blacklist radeonfb


Head_on_a_Stick wrote:Remove the xorg configuration file and the radeon blacklist that were created when the proprietary drivers were installed.

So I have to remove these files?
Code: Select all
sudo rm -rf /etc/X11/xorg.conf
sudo rm -rf /etc/modprobe.d/fglrx-blacklists-radeon.conf
donline
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2016-06-01 15:18

Re: PicoPix 3614tv and Debian 8

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2016-06-16 19:25

donline wrote:So I have to remove these files?
Code: Select all
sudo rm -rf /etc/X11/xorg.conf
sudo rm -rf /etc/modprobe.d/fglrx-blacklists-radeon.conf

*Never* use `rm -rf` unless you absolutely have to -- what would happen if your hand slipped and you pressed <Return> accidently just after entering "/"?

They are both files rather than folders (directories?) so `-rf` is not needed at all.

In the case of configuration files and suchlike, it is always better to move them instead so you can restore them easily if needed.

I'm messy so I just dump stuff in $HOME:
Code: Select all
# mv /etc/X11/xorg.conf /etc/modprobe.d/fglrx-blacklists-radeon.conf .
Black Lives Matter

Debian buster-backports ISO image: for new hardware support
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 12497
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: PicoPix 3614tv and Debian 8

Postby GarryRicketson » 2016-06-16 19:41

*Never* use `rm -rf` unless you absolutely have to -- what would happen if your hand slipped and you pressed <Return> accidently just after entering "/"?

Hmm, I am not sure, let me try that and see what happens.
:mrgreen:

------ edited -----------
Oh no ! I tried it on the VM, and now it says "No operating system" when I boot.
Everything disappeared :mrgreen: .
User avatar
GarryRicketson
 
Posts: 5872
Joined: 2015-01-20 22:16
Location: Durango, Mexico


Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests

fashionable