Page 3 of 3

Re: GNOME default for Stretch?

PostPosted: 2018-05-30 22:40
by n_hologram
10/10 necrosage

Re: GNOME default for Stretch?

PostPosted: 2018-05-30 23:01
by bw123
Chiefahol2 wrote:
sunrat wrote:It seems to be a common opinion among regular users here that GNOME is the worst of the popular desktop environments. I believe it is still default for Stretch. Why?


Because i've been playing with KDE 5.12.4 and it is the buggiest crashiest desktop i have ever experienced, i can't move files, i can't update, segmentation faults everywhere, root fs is constantly being corrupted.

KDE is pretty bad to be honest, GNOME is boring but at least it works.


Playing with kde 5.12.4 from where? on what? Why would you bump a two yr old thread about gnome as default desktop for this?

SQUASH ALL TROLLS LIKE BUGS!

https://packages.debian.org/search?keyw ... ma-desktop

Re: GNOME default for Stretch?

PostPosted: 2018-05-30 23:22
by sunrat
That Chiefahol2 is definitely a troll, or just hasn't installed the latest KDE properly. It's not officially available for Stretch so is still beta software in Debian.
My own experience with Plasma 5.12.5 both on siduction, and on Stretch using NeptuneOS KDE repos, gives me the most stable and featureful system I have ever had.

Re: GNOME default for Stretch?

PostPosted: 2018-05-30 23:46
by bw123
sunrat wrote:That Chiefahol2 is definitely a troll, or just hasn't installed the latest KDE properly. It's not officially available for Stretch so is still beta software in Debian.
My own experience with Plasma 5.12.5 both on siduction, and on Stretch using NeptuneOS KDE repos, gives me the most stable and featureful system I have ever had.


I haven't tried anything KDE except on stretch, i think it's 5.8 it's like an early LTS or something. I've had it running for a year and a half, just doing basic stuff. I like Skrooge personal finance, and I use it to run my big TV and watch videos and dvds, also crank up the music with Juk. I did have to tweak it a LOT at first, but it is pretty darn good.

I never use gnome, so not trying to add anything to the topic. Just saying, kde on stretch is pretty good for me.

Re: GNOME default for Stretch?

PostPosted: 2018-05-31 23:42
by Chiefahol2
bw123 wrote:
Chiefahol2 wrote:
sunrat wrote:It seems to be a common opinion among regular users here that GNOME is the worst of the popular desktop environments. I believe it is still default for Stretch. Why?


Because i've been playing with KDE 5.12.4 and it is the buggiest crashiest desktop i have ever experienced, i can't move files, i can't update, segmentation faults everywhere, root fs is constantly being corrupted.

KDE is pretty bad to be honest, GNOME is boring but at least it works.


Playing with kde 5.12.4 from where? on what? Why would you bump a two yr old thread about gnome as default desktop for this?


Debian 10. Because i had an opinion on GNOME/Stretch? Here's a tissue if you want one.

Re: GNOME default for Stretch?

PostPosted: 2018-05-31 23:49
by Chiefahol2
sunrat wrote:That Chiefahol2 is definitely a troll, or just hasn't installed the latest KDE properly. It's not officially available for Stretch so is still beta software in Debian.


I'm not a troll, I'm a real person you are more then welcome to call on Signal (I live in WA) and coach me through the installation. I've installed Debian about 50 times successfully, it's just the last few installs that are giving me constant grief.

Re: GNOME default for Stretch?

PostPosted: 2018-06-01 00:23
by tbqhmhsfamilam
Chiefahol2 wrote:
sunrat wrote:That Chiefahol2 is definitely a troll, or just hasn't installed the latest KDE properly. It's not officially available for Stretch so is still beta software in Debian.


I'm not a troll, I'm a real person you are more then welcome to call on Signal (I live in WA) and coach me through the installation. I've installed Debian about 50 times successfully, it's just the last few installs that are giving me constant grief.


Why would someone want to call you and coach you through the installation? :lol:

Re: GNOME default for Stretch?

PostPosted: 2018-06-01 08:30
by Chiefahol2
tbqhmhsfamilam wrote:
Chiefahol2 wrote:
sunrat wrote:That Chiefahol2 is definitely a troll, or just hasn't installed the latest KDE properly. It's not officially available for Stretch so is still beta software in Debian.


I'm not a troll, I'm a real person you are more then welcome to call on Signal (I live in WA) and coach me through the installation. I've installed Debian about 50 times successfully, it's just the last few installs that are giving me constant grief.


Why would someone want to call you and coach you through the installation? :lol:


No need it was my RAM stick playing up. Thank you memtest86x. :oops: