[solved] connman won't start on new stretch laptop

Here you can discuss every aspect of Debian. Note: not for support requests!

[solved] connman won't start on new stretch laptop

Postby dieselnutjob » 2016-12-06 22:20

Hi
connman won't start, or restart
I am getting this over and over
Code: Select all
Dec  6 21:58:00 R9PPWPZ systemd[1]: Stopped Connection service.
Dec  6 21:58:00 R9PPWPZ systemd[1]: Starting Connection service...
Dec  6 21:58:00 R9PPWPZ systemd[1]: Started Connection service.
Dec  6 21:58:00 R9PPWPZ connmand[1980]: Connection Manager version 1.33
Dec  6 21:58:00 R9PPWPZ systemd[1]: connman.service: Main process exited, code=exited, status=2/INVALIDARGUMENT
Dec  6 21:58:00 R9PPWPZ systemd[1]: connman.service: Unit entered failed state.
Dec  6 21:58:00 R9PPWPZ systemd[1]: connman.service: Failed with result 'exit-code'.
Dec  6 21:58:00 R9PPWPZ systemd[1]: connman.service: Service hold-off time over, scheduling restart.


I built the laptop from firmware-8.6.0-amd64-netinst.iso
I selected normal packages, or whatever it's called but no desktop manager
Then I upgraded to stretch
Then I installed (from memory) xorg, lxqt, sddm, pulseaudio, chromium
I attempted to install wicd but this failed on dependances
Then I noticed "Connman UI setup" in the start menu (package called cmst) and in the process of trying to make that work discovered that connman is not running.

Can anyone suggest what to try to make connman work?
Last edited by dieselnutjob on 2016-12-07 11:31, edited 1 time in total.
dieselnutjob
 
Posts: 69
Joined: 2011-04-12 10:25

Re: connman won't start on new stretch laptop

Postby stevepusser » 2016-12-06 23:41

Wicd failing on dependencies smells like something's wrong with your software sources--what are they?
The MX Linux repositories: Backports galore! If we don't have something, just ask and we'll try--we like challenges. New packages: AzPainter 2.0.6, Pale Moon 27.4.1, Liquorix kernel 4.11-9, mpv 0.26.0, Kodi 17.3, 0ad 0.0.22, Mesa 13.0.6
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 8530
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53

Re: connman won't start on new stretch laptop

Postby Bulkley » 2016-12-06 23:51

dieselnutjob wrote:I built the laptop from firmware-8.6.0-amd64-netinst.iso

You mean debian-8.6.0-amd64-netinst.iso?

I selected normal packages, or whatever it's called but no desktop manager
Then I upgraded to stretch

It would be better to install enough of Stable to make sure that it all works, including Wifi, before moving to Stretch. (I won't say upgrade because Stretch is not an upgrade; it is Testing and well named as that.

I attempted to install wicd but this failed on dependances

How? apt-get install wicd should install Wicd and any required dependencies.

Can anyone suggest what to try to make connman work?


Why do you want Connman? It is not necessary for Wifi. I never heard of it before reading your post.

I'm left wondering how you go about installing packages.
Bulkley
 
Posts: 5240
Joined: 2006-02-11 18:35

Re: connman won't start on new stretch laptop

Postby Dai_trying » 2016-12-07 00:45

What I did to get my stretch + lxqt working was installed base system (from stretch installer iso) without desktop and then update + upgrade, then install lxqt. It has been a little while now but I'm sure it pulled in all the required bits and pieces and I have a fully working LxQt set-up on my laptop. I did find a bug with Connman but I reported it and it has been fixed now.
I would guess your method of installing jessie then upgrading to stretch then installing lxqt might be the cause of your issues, just install Stretch from the start and I'm sure you will have more success.
Dai_trying
 
Posts: 297
Joined: 2016-01-07 12:25

Re: connman won't start on new stretch laptop

Postby dieselnutjob » 2016-12-07 09:17

My sources

Code: Select all
cat /etc/apt/sources.list
deb http://ftp.uk.debian.org/debian/ stretch main non-free contrib
deb http://security.debian.org/ stretch/updates main contrib non-free


what happens when I install wicd

Code: Select all
apt-get install wicd
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
Some packages could not be installed. This may mean that you have
requested an impossible situation or if you are using the unstable
distribution that some required packages have not yet been created
or been moved out of Incoming.
The following information may help to resolve the situation:

The following packages have unmet dependencies:
 wicd : Depends: wicd-daemon (= 1.7.4+tb2-2) but it is not going to be installed
        Depends: wicd-gtk (= 1.7.4+tb2-2) but it is not going to be installed or
                 wicd-curses (= 1.7.4+tb2-2) but it is not going to be installed or
                 wicd-cli (= 1.7.4+tb2-2) but it is not going to be installed or
                 wicd-client
E: Unable to correct problems, you have held broken packages.


I think that I will try again with a stretch installer as suggested.
dieselnutjob
 
Posts: 69
Joined: 2011-04-12 10:25

Re: [solved] connman won't start on new stretch laptop

Postby dieselnutjob » 2016-12-07 11:33

I did a clean install using this
https://cdimage.debian.org/cdimage/unofficial/non-free/cd-including-firmware/stretch_di_alpha8/amd64/iso-cd/firmware-stretch-DI-alpha8-amd64-netinst.iso

This gave me the option of LXQT right from the installer, which I chose and it is all working.
The only problem was that audio didn't work out of the box (even though the volume control was installed by default). Just installing pulseaudio fixed that.

thanks
dieselnutjob
 
Posts: 69
Joined: 2011-04-12 10:25

Re: [solved] connman won't start on new stretch laptop

Postby Swansen » 2017-01-07 07:38

dieselnutjob wrote:I did a clean install using this
https://cdimage.debian.org/cdimage/unofficial/non-free/cd-including-firmware/stretch_di_alpha8/amd64/iso-cd/firmware-stretch-DI-alpha8-amd64-netinst.iso

This gave me the option of LXQT right from the installer, which I chose and it is all working.
The only problem was that audio didn't work out of the box (even though the volume control was installed by default). Just installing pulseaudio fixed that.

thanks


i think you installed LXDE, i just downloaded that same iso, and LXQT is not an option, also used a weekly build of a dvd image, also no LXQT option.

i was having the same issue, but, i'm thinking that installing LXDE and then LXQT after the initial install will still work. i figured wrong with installing KDE5 as a base then LXQT. KDE5 seems to be a mess mostly(at least for me). also, installing LXQT after kde5 seemed to increase instabilities...(and without connman/internet connect the situation became impossible..).

--edit
so, solution was to install WICD(which came with LXDE), and uninstall connman and its QT GUI cmst(which was actually broken). After uninstalling and a reboot, everything was working perfectly.
Swansen
 
Posts: 32
Joined: 2011-12-21 09:55


Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

fashionable