Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

mint user wait for debian 9 or just install 8?!

Here you can discuss every aspect of Debian. Note: not for support requests!
kdo

mint user wait for debian 9 or just install 8?!

#1 Post by kdo »

Hello everyone

I currently am a mint 18.1 user i used many many distros and versions over years but this is my first time that i want to install debian
My mint 18.1 has many problems and i am tired of fixing them all the time and i know that debian stretch is under full freeze for 2 month now
should i wait for 9 or just install 8 and when it released upgrade to it?
when you estimate the release date of debian 9?

Thank you for your answer

Ardouos

Re: mint user wait for debian 9 or just install 8?!

#2 Post by Ardouos »

kdo wrote: should i wait for 9
If you are patient enough, yes.
kdo wrote: or just install 8 and when it released upgrade to it?
If time is of the essence to install Debian, this is probably the best option. Debian mainly supports upgrades with only "main" software though. I would recommend reading the release documentation before upgrading. I would recommend waiting though if your intention is to use Stretch to prevent any upgrade issues and having to reinstall anyway (if you may have any).
kdo wrote: when you estimate the release date of debian 9?
Not sure, maybe in a months time, maybe in 3. It will be released "when it is ready". Debian normally notify the public the date when the release nigh.
There is only one Debian | Do not break Debian | Stability and Debian | Backports

⢀⣴⠾⠻⢶⣦⠀
⣾⠁⢠⠒⠀⣿⡁ Debian - The universal operating system
⢿⡄⠘⠷⠚⠋⠀ https://www.debian.org
⠈⠳⣄⠀

FreewheelinFrank
Global Moderator
Global Moderator

#3 Post by FreewheelinFrank »