Debian ram usage

Here you can discuss every aspect of Debian. Note: not for support requests!

Debian ram usage

Postby silvaf6 » 2017-06-26 13:01

Heloo everyone.

I just saw this post: https://www.reddit.com/r/linux/comments/5l39tz/linux_distros_ram_consumption_comparison_updated/. The user says his debian 9 xfce has a memory consumption of 345.43mb on day to day use, however on a clean install I got around 600-800mb minimum usage.

So, I was wandering how much memory is your Debian is consuming :)
silvaf6
 
Posts: 70
Joined: 2017-06-12 16:45

Re: Debian ram usage

Postby wizard10000 » 2017-06-26 13:07

silvaf6 wrote:So, I was wandering how much memory is your Debian is consuming :)


I run Sid and a pretty lean KDE installation. My laptop uses about 375MB of RAM at idle with conky and yakuake running at startup.
we see things not as they are, but as we are.
-- anais nin
User avatar
wizard10000
 
Posts: 1197
Joined: 2011-05-09 20:02
Location: everywhere i go, there i am!

Re: Debian ram usage

Postby silvaf6 » 2017-06-26 13:17

wizard10000 wrote:
silvaf6 wrote:So, I was wandering how much memory is your Debian is consuming :)


I run Sid and a pretty lean KDE installation. My laptop uses about 375MB of RAM at idle with conky and yakuake running at startup.


jesus. That makes me think that I might have a memory leak or some bloatware installed that I didn't notice.
silvaf6
 
Posts: 70
Joined: 2017-06-12 16:45

Re: Debian ram usage

Postby Nili » 2017-06-26 13:30

The whole strategy is how we use the RAM space. We bloat it or keept it simple?

Debian NETINST (base=80 packages NO Apps, NO DE, NO WM, NO Gui Login) boots X to only 20MB RAM.
I can show any time with image or text code.

NETINST is just awesome to build yourself or tweak Debian differently!
Last edited by Nili on 2017-06-26 14:43, edited 1 time in total.
Roots heritage #! / If ain't it broke, make some tweaks then
Heart Gata Virus
WM: herbstluftwm / tint2 / conky
User avatar
Nili
 
Posts: 276
Joined: 2014-04-30 14:04
Location: $HOME/music

Re: Debian ram usage

Postby wizard10000 » 2017-06-26 13:43

silvaf6 wrote:jesus. That makes me think that I might have a memory leak or some bloatware installed that I didn't notice.


I'm just really good at optimizing KDE :mrgreen:

edit: The reddit thread you linked? I only believe about half of the data he posted.

To match other distros settings, I've disabled KOrganizer autostart on Netrunner, as it started Akonadi (+200 MB RAM usage).

On Debian 9 KDE and Solus VirtualBox guest additions were not installed, as these systems didn't function properly with it. This shouldn't noticeably affect memory usage (a few MB, not tens).

For the same reason, on Netrunner was used an older version of guest additions package from its default repos.
Last edited by wizard10000 on 2017-06-26 13:55, edited 1 time in total.
we see things not as they are, but as we are.
-- anais nin
User avatar
wizard10000
 
Posts: 1197
Joined: 2011-05-09 20:02
Location: everywhere i go, there i am!

Re: Debian ram usage

Postby silvaf6 » 2017-06-26 13:54

Shouldn't Xfce unoptimized use 300mb idle? xD
silvaf6
 
Posts: 70
Joined: 2017-06-12 16:45

Re: Debian ram usage

Postby wizard10000 » 2017-06-26 13:57

silvaf6 wrote:Shouldn't Xfce unoptimized use 300mb idle? xD


That sounds about right; my 64-bit openbox installation with compton and conky running uses a bit less than 200mb. I had a 32-bit fluxbox installation on my old retired netbook that used < 100MB at idle with compositing and conky enabled.
we see things not as they are, but as we are.
-- anais nin
User avatar
wizard10000
 
Posts: 1197
Joined: 2011-05-09 20:02
Location: everywhere i go, there i am!

Re: Debian ram usage

Postby silvaf6 » 2017-06-26 14:12

I'm gonna look into my process`s when I get home
EDIT: Just installed a VM with xfce , cinnamon and gnome. All desktop environments run at around 300mb+-.
silvaf6
 
Posts: 70
Joined: 2017-06-12 16:45

Re: Debian ram usage

Postby ticojohn » 2017-06-26 15:42

I am running Jessie i386, XFCE, gdm3, Intel i5 processor. At idle I am using about 231MB. I suppose amd64 might use more memory.
I'm not irrational, I'm just quantum probabilistic.
User avatar
ticojohn
 
Posts: 673
Joined: 2009-08-29 18:10
Location: Costa Rica

Re: Debian ram usage

Postby Hallvor » 2017-06-26 15:43

Image

:lol:
Intel Core i5 3320-M CPU @ 2.60 GHz, 6 GB RAM, Intel HD 4000 graphics, 300 GB HDD, Debian Stretch (KDE)
User avatar
Hallvor
 
Posts: 739
Joined: 2009-04-16 18:35
Location: Norway

Re: Debian ram usage

Postby Bulkley » 2017-06-26 15:59

I have to confess that I don't understand the point of this thread, or the numbers for that matter. As I look at my Conky readout RAM is showing as 951MiB which is not the same as mega bytes. Since memory is faster than mechanical hard drives I tuned my system to prefer memory. (Sorry, but I did this so long ago I have forgotten how but anyone interested can look it up.) I apologize for derailing this thread but it seems to me that memory use at idle is not important to worry about. Maybe I just don't understand.
Bulkley
 
Posts: 5288
Joined: 2006-02-11 18:35

Re: Debian ram usage

Postby silvaf6 » 2017-06-26 16:09

Bulkley wrote:I apologize for derailing this thread but it seems to me that memory use at idle is not important to worry about. Maybe I just don't understand.


That is why I posted this as a "Discussion" and not as a "Question/Help" :D
silvaf6
 
Posts: 70
Joined: 2017-06-12 16:45

Re: Debian ram usage

Postby wizard10000 » 2017-06-26 16:58

Bulkley wrote:I have to confess that I don't understand the point of this thread, or the numbers for that matter.


I agree that unused resources are wasted resources; I get a little personal satisfaction slimming down KDE :)
we see things not as they are, but as we are.
-- anais nin
User avatar
wizard10000
 
Posts: 1197
Joined: 2011-05-09 20:02
Location: everywhere i go, there i am!

Re: Debian ram usage

Postby silvaf6 » 2017-06-26 17:43

731mb xfce idle only with gnome-system-monitor :O

https://www.dropbox.com/s/1s362uhamxmsrpg/Screenshot_2017-06-26_19-24-33.png?dl=0
EDIT: oops, forgot to turn off transmission.

Removed some unecessary crap and turned off transmission. 600 mb now. still, 200mb away from a clean installation.
silvaf6
 
Posts: 70
Joined: 2017-06-12 16:45

Re: Debian ram usage

Postby sjukfan » 2017-06-28 01:22

329MB with openbox. (250MB on another computer with less stuff in the background.)

2GB when I start firefox and "some" tabs :P
Buster amd64, Core 2 Quad Q9550
Stretch amd64, Core 2 Quad Q9400
Sid ppc, PowerPC 7447a
Sid ppc64, PowerPC 970FX
User avatar
sjukfan
 
Posts: 367
Joined: 2010-03-01 19:39

Next

Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

fashionable