Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

General comment: user experiance

Here you can discuss every aspect of Debian. Note: not for support requests!
cds60601
df -h | participant
df -h | participant

General comment: user experiance

#1 Post by cds60601 »

Hey folks -

Not going to complain - just wanted to comment on how solid Testing is. I have been running Testing for about 6 months now and while I risk the chance of now getting an issue, to date I never had one. I can't believe how rock solid Testing is.

Back Story:
I started out on Debian a number of years ago but wondered over to CentOS/Fedora (due to a need at work to support Cent) then over to Ubuntu for my home system. While I still love Ubuntu, there was just something that just bugged me about Ubuntu - then one day Ubuntu opted to add Unity. Argh I thought, this is a huge mistake and I did what most others did. Complained, complained and complained.

Of course, nobody listened so I was stuck with it and begrudgingly, excepted it but never fully embraced it. Sure, I would try from time to time to install Debian on my lappy but it failed due to wireless drivers. I know what you're thinking ... Why didn't I just try the Non-Free ISO. To be honest, I didn't look into that much since I already had a working Linux system and tuned the way I wanted it. Perfectly happy except.... Unity.

When I heard the news that 17.10 was going back to Gnome, I was thrilled however, I was already researching on how to install Debian by that time and was already on my way to getting that done. I tried 17.10 on a spare system I had and actually liked it, A LOT. But, I was already way into getting back into Debian.

Current Day: