Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

Make My OS Based On Debian?

Here you can discuss every aspect of Debian. Note: not for support requests!
RT77

Make My OS Based On Debian?

#1 Post by RT77 »

Hello I am looking into making my own OS based on Debian, I am not a programmer but do have a bunch of my own ideas about what I would like to do with this project. Hoping to start here and see if I can get some help and advice on starting out with this project. I am looking to use the smallest debian package possible and try to cut down/uninstall things that I will not need/use as one of the first goals, then to modify the look of the menus and desktop environment, basically I will want to develop my own desktop environment, this will probably be difficult as I am not a programmer so I will be making my own development website for all of this and trying to get interested programmers involved. Also I will want to change the way it does certain things, like how it will install software packages. The goal is to make my own OS that will be able to do regular stuff like internet browsing, text editing, audio recording, video editing, etc.. but also be able to have it kind of act like Kodi in that it can be used as an entertainment center.

This post is very general right now I realize.. but just hoping to get some advice on how I could or should start this process..

Thanks

n_hologram

Re: Make My OS Based On Debian?

#2 Post by n_hologram »

Describe your ideal operating system.
bester69 wrote:There is nothing to install in linux, from time to time i go to google searching for something fresh to install in linux, but, there is nothing
the crunkbong project: scripts, operating system, the list goes on...

n_hologram