Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

Build a lab to improve my junior skill

Here you can discuss every aspect of Debian. Note: not for support requests!
coppolino97

Build a lab to improve my junior skill

#1 Post by coppolino97 »

Hi guys,
I would build my home lab about networking and server.
I am a junior network engineer, I am 21 years old, and I want improve my skill so I think that build a home lab it will be a good way to grow up.
At the moment I have passed CCNA certification.

About the network I have seen that online there are Cisco Kits of switch and router for the CCNA Certification (for example on Ebay), so I suppose that this is the right choice.
Do you suggest me other option about cheap switch. It could be fine a layer 2 switch at the moment becouse I have a Mikrotik routerboard for the Layer 3.

About firewall I would use a Linux Distro as IPFire,ZeroShell or pfsense (based on freebsd sorry!), probably using a fanless PC, I have seen that on Aliexpress there are some interesting mini PC to do this task.
Or do you suggest build in firewall? Are not they more expensive?

Finally about "server".
I would a PC quite powerful to execute VMware or Proxmox to create a simple virtual lab to manage Linux machine and Windows Server Machine (sorry but at work we use Windows Server a lot ).
Otherwise I have seen on ebay used old HP server too.
Can you suggest my something about it?

The firewall could be virtualized too.

What do you think about it?
Thanks for your help
:D
Lenovo T460 | 8Gbyte of RAM | Intel core i5 | SSD 250GB | Debian 12

Head_on_a_Stick

Re: Build a lab to improve my junior skill

#2 Post by Head_on_a_Stick »

coppolino97 wrote:pfsense
Why bother with that?