upgrade to Buster the moment its launched?

Here you can discuss every aspect of Debian. Note: not for support requests!

upgrade to Buster the moment its launched?

yes yes yes right away because i can
15
41%
yes yes yes right away because i have sns(shiny new software) syndrome
2
5%
yes because the upgrade would solve, unsolvable issue with current stretch installation
4
11%
naah i wouldn't until LTS for stretch is over
2
5%
other - specified in comments
12
32%
naah i wouldn't vote but crap post commenting how this post or poll could be better
2
5%
naah i wouldn't until regular support for stretch is over
0
No votes
 
Total votes : 37

Re: upgrade to Buster the moment its launched?

Postby Bloom » 2019-06-08 09:03

Code: Select all
       _,met$$$$$gg.          bloom@zilversteen
    ,g$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$P.       -----------------
  ,g$$P"     """Y$$.".        OS: Debian GNU/Linux 10 (sid) x86_64
 ,$$P'              `$$$.     Model: MS-7B86 1.0
',$$P       ,ggs.     `$$b:   Kernel: 4.19.0-5-amd64
`d$$'     ,$P"'   .    $$$    Uptime: 19 days, 17 hours, 39 minutes
 $$P      d$'     ,    $$P    Packages: 2365 (dpkg)
 $$:      $$.   -    ,d$$'    Shell: bash 5.0.3
 $$;      Y$b._   _,d$P'      Resolution: 1920x1080
 Y$$.    `.`"Y$$$$P"'         DE: Xfce
 `$$b      "-.__              WM: Xfwm4
  `Y$$                        WM Theme: pcc_kazloru
   `Y$$.                      Theme: CleanIce-Marble [GTK2], Adwaita [GTK3]
     `$$b.                    Icons: oxygen [GTK2], Adwaita [GTK3]
       `Y$$b.                 Terminal: xfce4-terminal
          `"Y$b._             Terminal Font: Monospace 11
              `"""            CPU: AMD Ryzen 5 2600X (12) @ 3.600GHz
                              GPU: AMD ATI Radeon HD 6450/7450/8450 / R5 230 OEM
                              Memory: 9983MiB / 32184MiB

I'm running Sid on my desktop. Have been for several years. No problems whatsoever. So I don't need to upgrade to Buster, I already have it.
User avatar
Bloom
 
Posts: 194
Joined: 2017-11-11 12:23

Re: upgrade to Buster the moment its launched?

Postby 4D696B65 » 2019-06-08 14:51

Bloom wrote:
Code: Select all
       _,met$$$$$gg.          bloom@zilversteen
    ,g$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$P.       -----------------
  ,g$$P"     """Y$$.".        OS: Debian GNU/Linux 10 (sid) x86_64


I'm running Sid on my desktop. Have been for several years. No problems whatsoever. So I don't need to upgrade to Buster, I already have it.

Strange, all my sid boxes say Buster and yours is sid?
Code: Select all
       _,met$$$$$gg.          mike@G752
    ,g$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$P.       ---------
  ,g$$P"     """Y$$.".        OS: Debian GNU/Linux 10 (buster) x86_64
 ,$$P'              `$$$.     Host: G752VL 1.0
',$$P       ,ggs.     `$$b:   Kernel: 4.19.0-5-amd64
User avatar
4D696B65
 
Posts: 2439
Joined: 2009-06-28 06:09

Re: upgrade to Buster the moment its launched?

Postby Bloom » 2019-06-08 16:21

I didn't like that for Sid, so I edited /etc/os-release to look like this:
Code: Select all
bloom@zilversteen:~$ cat /etc/os-release
PRETTY_NAME="Debian GNU/Linux 10 (sid)"
NAME="Debian GNU/Linux"
VERSION_ID="10"
VERSION="10 (sid)"
VERSION_CODENAME=sid
ID=debian
HOME_URL="https://www.debian.org/"
SUPPORT_URL="https://www.debian.org/support"
BUG_REPORT_URL="https://bugs.debian.org/"
User avatar
Bloom
 
Posts: 194
Joined: 2017-11-11 12:23

Re: upgrade to Buster the moment its launched?

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2019-06-08 17:47

4D696B65 wrote:Strange, all my sid boxes say Buster

The *fetch programs draw that information from /etc/os-release:
Code: Select all
E485:~$ dpkg -S /etc/os-release                                                           
base-files: /etc/os-release
E485:~$

The base-files package has just been updated in preparation for the Debian 10.0 release, your sid boxen will regain their identity when bullseye is created and a new base-files version is released for testing/unstable.
Don't break DebianHow to report bugs

SharpBang GNU/Linux — a pre-configured Openbox/Tint2 desktop running on Debian stable
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 10688
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: upgrade to Buster the moment its launched?

Postby sickpig » 2019-06-12 01:46

User avatar
sickpig
 
Posts: 320
Joined: 2019-01-23 10:34

Re: upgrade to Buster the moment its launched?

Postby Wheelerof4te » 2019-06-12 07:32

Wheelerof4te
 
Posts: 1423
Joined: 2015-08-30 20:14

Re: upgrade to Buster the moment its launched?

Postby debian-2019 » 2019-06-13 17:30

There should be a choice in the poll where it says: "I already upgraded to Buster, no need to wait for the launch date"
debian-2019
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 2019-03-20 18:25

Re: upgrade to Buster the moment its launched?

Postby Soul Singin' » 2019-06-13 17:40

debian-2019 wrote:There should be a choice in the poll where it says: "I already upgraded to Buster, no need to wait for the launch date"

I believe that option falls into the "crap post commenting how this poll could be better" category.
User avatar
Soul Singin'
 
Posts: 1583
Joined: 2008-12-21 07:02

Re: upgrade to Buster the moment its launched?

Postby None1975 » 2019-06-14 12:09

I will wait a few months and then i will upgrade all of my machines. There is nothing in a hurry. In addition, Debian Stretch works great.
OS: Debian 10.1 Buster / WM: fvwm
Debian Wiki | DontBreakDebian, My config files in github
User avatar
None1975
 
Posts: 955
Joined: 2015-11-29 18:23
Location: Lithuania, Vilnius

Re: upgrade to Buster the moment its launched?

Postby theblueplll » 2019-07-06 19:22

debian-2019 wrote:There should be a choice in the poll where it says: "I already upgraded to Buster, no need to wait for the launch date"

Did this about a month ago LoL

Actually was a fresh install not an upgrade but whatever.

Have had no problems with anything that I use daily.
theblueplll
 
Posts: 154
Joined: 2019-04-29 01:17

Re: upgrade to Buster the moment its launched?

Postby Deb-fan » 2019-07-06 22:03

Voted new shiny software syndrome. Which is tongue in cheek, latest Debian stable isn't that. If that were truly the goal would still be tracking unstable/Sid, in my experience was anything but unstable always ran great. From a personal user perspective, why not at least current official stable? People with actual production applications could easily feel differently. Just cause it's not the latest stable release doesn't mean it quits being a great rock solid OS.
Deb-fan
 
Posts: 445
Joined: 2012-08-14 12:27

Re: upgrade to Buster the moment its launched?

Postby sickpig » 2019-07-06 23:27

I am now daunted with learning differences between stretch and buster. I believe changes were made to auto untenanted upgrades amongst other changes. Will have to read through the 'read this before upgrade' document :)
User avatar
sickpig
 
Posts: 320
Joined: 2019-01-23 10:34

Re: upgrade to Buster the moment its launched?

Postby sunrat » 2019-07-07 00:21

The moment it's launched has passed.

viewtopic.php?f=20&t=142569
“ computer users can be divided into 2 categories:
Those who have lost data
...and those who have not lost data YET ”
Remember to BACKUP!
User avatar
sunrat
 
Posts: 2920
Joined: 2006-08-29 09:12
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: upgrade to Buster the moment its launched?

Postby cds60601 » 2019-07-07 00:32

Code: Select all
$ neofetch
  `.::///+:/-.        --///+//-:``    chris@raspberrypi
 `+oooooooooooo:   `+oooooooooooo:    -----------------
  /oooo++//ooooo:  ooooo+//+ooooo.    OS: Raspbian GNU/Linux 10 (buster) armv7l
  `+ooooooo:-:oo-  +o+::/ooooooo:     Host: Raspberry Pi 3 Model B Rev 1.2
   `:oooooooo+``    `.oooooooo+-      Kernel: 4.19.42-v7+
     `:++ooo/.        :+ooo+/.`       Uptime: 58 mins
        ...`  `.----.` ``..           Packages: 1881 (dpkg)
     .::::-``:::::::::.`-:::-`        Shell: sh
    -:::-`   .:::::::-`  `-:::-       Terminal: /dev/pts/0
   `::.  `.--.`  `` `.---.``.::`      CPU: BCM2835 (4) @ 1.200GHz
       .::::::::`  -::::::::` `       Memory: 104MiB / 926MiB
 .::` .:::::::::- `::::::::::``::.
-:::` ::::::::::.  ::::::::::.`:::-                           
::::  -::::::::.   `-::::::::  ::::
-::-   .-:::-.``....``.-::-.   -::-
 .. ``       .::::::::.     `..`..
   -:::-`   -::::::::::`  .:::::`
   :::::::` -::::::::::` :::::::.
   .:::::::  -::::::::. ::::::::
    `-:::::`   ..--.`   ::::::.
      `...`  `...--..`  `...`
            .::::::::::
             `.-::::-`

$
Server: Debian 10, Workstation: Arch
Laptop: Debian Sid, Pi: Raspbian (Pi-Hole)
User avatar
cds60601
 
Posts: 177
Joined: 2017-11-25 05:58
Location: Tampa, Florida

Re: upgrade to Buster the moment its launched?

Postby Bloom » 2019-07-07 20:02

Code: Select all
$ neofetch
       _,met$$$$$gg.         
    ,g$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$P.       -----------------
  ,g$$P"     """Y$$.".        OS: Debian GNU/Linux 11 (sid) x86_64
 ,$$P'              `$$$.     Model: MS-7B86 1.0
',$$P       ,ggs.     `$$b:   Kernel: 4.19.0-5-amd64
`d$$'     ,$P"'   .    $$$    Uptime: 21 days, 5 hours, 43 minutes
 $$P      d$'     ,    $$P    Packages: 2374 (dpkg)
 $$:      $$.   -    ,d$$'    Shell: bash 5.0.3
 $$;      Y$b._   _,d$P'      Resolution: 1920x1080
 Y$$.    `.`"Y$$$$P"'         DE: Xfce
 `$$b      "-.__              WM: Xfwm4
  `Y$$                        WM Theme: pcc_kazloru
   `Y$$.                      Theme: CleanIce-Marble [GTK2], Adwaita [GTK3]
     `$$b.                    Icons: oxygen [GTK2], Adwaita [GTK3]
       `Y$$b.                 Terminal: xfce4-terminal
          `"Y$b._             Terminal Font: Monospace 11
              `"""            CPU: AMD Ryzen 5 2600X (12) @ 3.600GHz
                              GPU: AMD ATI Radeon HD 6450/7450/8450 / R5 230 OEM
                              Memory: 11091MiB / 32184MiB
User avatar
Bloom
 
Posts: 194
Joined: 2017-11-11 12:23

PreviousNext

Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests

fashionable