OSTree in Debian, dumb question...

Here you can discuss every aspect of Debian. Note: not for support requests!

OSTree in Debian, dumb question...

Postby Danielsan » 2020-12-08 21:25

Hi guys,

I am wondering if you can use OStree to for running testing or sid application on top of a stable version like "somehow" Endless OS or Fedora Silveblue, exactly as you can do with NIX and GUIX repository.

Sorry for the dumb question... :oops:
User avatar
Danielsan
 
Posts: 610
Joined: 2010-10-10 22:36

Re: OSTree in Debian, dumb question...

Postby sgosnell » 2020-12-09 00:36

I never heard of OSTree, but you can use ventoy to put multiple .iso files on a USB drive, and boot any of them on almost any computer. You just need the .iso for what you want to run.
Take my advice, I'm not using it.
sgosnell
 
Posts: 974
Joined: 2011-03-14 01:49

Re: OSTree in Debian, dumb question...

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2020-12-09 05:34

Black Lives Matter

Debian buster-backports ISO image: for new hardware support
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 13062
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: OSTree in Debian, dumb question...

Postby Danielsan » 2020-12-09 14:23

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:https://packages.debian.org/buster/ostree


Is it really so easy as the it is described? If I have the OStree on my system I wouldn't need to pinning toward SID or EXPERIMENTAL, I may have my stable release with only "unattended upgrades" available by default, and messing up with SID for example, and I would not have a FrankenDebian for instace...

It looks very smart, why is it not enable by default?
User avatar
Danielsan
 
Posts: 610
Joined: 2010-10-10 22:36


Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests

fashionable